We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”
Review of Bistro Moulin

Bistro Moulin
Ranked #20 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Carmel Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Based on all the great reviews, I took my better half their for our anniversary. Should have gone to Fifi's (better atmosphere, food and service, for less).
Specifically, the terrine lacked texture and taste, the fish was overcooked the, perfectly cooked, plumpest mussels I have ever seen were tasteless, and the service poor (and no self-respecting French restaurant would serve "frites" with their skins on or use oilcloth tablecloths). Oh, and the wine list is grossly overpriced at close to 4x retail.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    99
    26
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best restaurant near the Aquarium”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We were looking for dinner following a recent midweek visit to the Monterey Aquarium and were lucky to find Bistro Moulin. The staff was friendly and professional. My wife enjoyed the wine she ordered and the two smaller samples of French wines the manager provided. The bread came quickly and was fresh and hot. We both started with some very good traditional French onion soup. My wife definitely enjoyed her duck entree, while my risotto with peas and shrimp was excellent. We finished with a very nice creme brulee. Overall, Bistro Moulin provided an excellent adult dining experience. We'll be back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ARA49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a very nice surprise”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

we went to a restaurant that was closed mondays and had to find another place. after driving up and down lighthouse, we went down to the water and spied this place driving by. it was a very nice surprise. a small, informal place with good food and reasonable prices and without the snooty atmosphere. i had the vol au vent which my partner described as chicken ala king. it was light and good. we had the terrine which was excellent - country style. the wine was good if a little on the expensive side. the seafood chowder was very good. i would recommend this place to all of my friends.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank artsmith147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had a great dinner at this unique looking restaurant.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Excellent service, excellent food.”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

It was our first dinner on our recent trip to Monterey and no where else could top it. Charming and cozy, very friendly, delicious meal. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Moulin also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Bistro Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing