We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This place is a dump” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Oceanside Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monterey Oceanside Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is a dump”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Dirt smudged on inside of door. Mold along baseboards. Turned on heater and air reeks of hot mold. Bath towels old and worn. Rejects from thrift store? Bedspread and curtains don't even come close to matching in cplot or style. No coffee maker, no alarm clock? Who ever heard of a motel without an alarm clock? Only benefit- it's cheap. I'd advice owners to spend more time caring for their business or sell it to someone who does care.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cpaw19ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    22
    10
    20
See reviews for
13
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
603 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We booked our stay on hotels.com for about USD 70, they asked for nearly the double when we called first. The guy at the counter was not very friendly with us. The Rooms were okay, big TV screen, WIFI was weak.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsorso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

we spent 140.00 on this room, it was close to Monterey Bay area just a scouple minute drive and it was a short drive across the street to the beach, We of course paid for the area, but the hotel it self was unmemorable, just a plain average place, had a flat screen though, which is all my husband remembers about it. all I remembered is that it was too expensive.and the reason we stayed here was to go see the beach, it was very cold didn't even stay long.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dawninphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Well, there isn't much I can say that is positive except for the nice flowers on the outside. The room was absolutely disgusting. The bedspread was dirty and completely shredded on the interior. The bathroom smelled of mold and urine and the shower curtain and walls were both moldy and actually had pink slime in the grout. The remodel helped a bit visually but the place was just dirty. Trash under the bed from the previous occupant, sheets and towels were thin and some were actually shredded. The lamp shade was falling apart and no alarm clocks in the rooms. I didn't sleep a wink due to the noise from the outside and next room. There is absolutely no pride in ownership at this Motel. The host was nice enought to change the comforter out to a less dirty comforter but I will never stay here again and I recommend you don't either it was a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

i would not ever stay at this inn again. the service was terrible but overall the cleaniness and smell of the room was disgusting. i felt as if i was in a foreign place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were making our way from San Fran to Los Angeles via highway 1 and decided to stay in Monterey as a first stop. We ended up at this hotel as there was a music convention on and rooms were hard to find. The room was ok, clean and with an adequate bathroom. Bed not all that comfortable, thin towels, awful breakfast, bad coffee. We were assured there was wifi. It was accessible from the carpark but not in the room. We had intended to stay in Monterey for 2 days but left ASAP and headed to Carmel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.6 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Oceanside Inn

Property: Monterey Oceanside Inn
Address: 2030 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3710
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Oceanside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey Oceanside Inn offers spacious and newly renovated rooms, featuring granite or marble bathrooms with tubs and air condition in every room. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood where the beach is only 3 blocks away, the motel also lies right across the street from a recreational trail that stretches 7 miles along the coast. The Monterey Oceanside Inn is near Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey Fairgrounds, and Fisherman's Wharf. Monterey Oceanside Inn provides complimentary breakfast, a 24-hour front desk, complimentary parking, and express check-out. All guestrooms have cable television, free local calls, and air conditioning; bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Monterey Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Oceanside Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing