We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST hotel I've ever stayed in...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Oceanside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monterey Oceanside Inn
Ranked #7 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WORST hotel I've ever stayed in...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Well, there isn't much I can say that is positive except for the nice flowers on the outside. The room was absolutely disgusting. The bedspread was dirty and completely shredded on the interior. The bathroom smelled of mold and urine and the shower curtain and walls were both moldy and actually had pink slime in the grout. The remodel helped a bit visually but the place was just dirty. Trash under the bed from the previous occupant, sheets and towels were thin and some were actually shredded. The lamp shade was falling apart and no alarm clocks in the rooms. I didn't sleep a wink due to the noise from the outside and next room. There is absolutely no pride in ownership at this Motel. The host was nice enought to change the comforter out to a less dirty comforter but I will never stay here again and I recommend you don't either it was a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    7
    23
    11
    21
See reviews for
13
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

i would not ever stay at this inn again. the service was terrible but overall the cleaniness and smell of the room was disgusting. i felt as if i was in a foreign place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We were making our way from San Fran to Los Angeles via highway 1 and decided to stay in Monterey as a first stop. We ended up at this hotel as there was a music convention on and rooms were hard to find. The room was ok, clean and with an adequate bathroom. Bed not all that comfortable, thin towels, awful breakfast, bad coffee. We were assured there was wifi. It was accessible from the carpark but not in the room. We had intended to stay in Monterey for 2 days but left ASAP and headed to Carmel.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
592 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

It's strange when your almost 63 year old husband (a California native) remembers staying some place when he was in highschool. Even I recall this motel, with its roses outside, from my early Monterey days in 1974. The good news? It was easily $20 less than either of the other two we'd inquired about staying. The owners were pleasant (believe me, there were a couple this trip that were downright surly!), the rooms were updated and clean enough, and the breakfast was adaqate. The noise from the street wasn't anywhere near a problem, but then we were in about 6:30 p.m. and out again around 8 a.m. I honestly don't remember the rooms being dirty or the linens being tatty (i remember the hotel where they WERE, and this wasn not it). Bottom line: you could do a lot worse, even for $98, but several hotels we stayed in (this trip) in this price range were nicer or had better breakfasts.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room just to the left of the office (as you face the motel) and had no undue traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We spend last week in Monterey at this facility. The towels are small and paper thin, the bed is terrible, The fan in the bathroom is so loud you can not hear anything else espcet the fan in the next room which is just as loud as yours. The fornt door was very dirty on the inside and there is not safety lock on the door.
You are very close to the street and you hear cars all night long.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank WatchfulFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

The ivy and roses outside were lovely. The first room we saw was moldy, the second was better. Only some rooms had two keys. Towels were thin and small, sheets had holes. Walls were thin. The weekend price was exorbitant, breakfast was boring, Costco muffins and cornflakes, but the worst was the night I was sick and noticed the toilet hadn't been properly cleaned under the rim, in years. I requested that hey clean it, but they only cleaned the seat.
Outside our door was a bowl of cigarette butts, on top of the air con. was a bar of pink soap. It was conveniently located, that's the best I can say.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

I was disappointed with what the motel offered for how much I paid to stay there. It is right on Del Monte Ave (a main, busy street) and we could hear the cars zipping by all night long. The beds were cheap and the walls were paper thin - we listened to our neighbor snoring away in between the speeding cars. The breakfast included with the room consisted of poor coffee, muffins cut into slices and dry cereal - not exactly what I was expecting. The only perk was that the place was clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinthecalisun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.8 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
1.5 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.5 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Oceanside Inn

Property: Monterey Oceanside Inn
Address: 2030 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-3710
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Monterey Oceanside Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monterey Oceanside Inn offers spacious and newly renovated rooms, featuring granite or marble bathrooms with tubs and air condition in every room. Nestled in a quiet neighborhood where the beach is only 3 blocks away, the motel also lies right across the street from a recreational trail that stretches 7 miles along the coast. The Monterey Oceanside Inn is near Naval Postgraduate School, Monterey Fairgrounds, and Fisherman's Wharf. Monterey Oceanside Inn provides complimentary breakfast, a 24-hour front desk, complimentary parking, and express check-out. All guestrooms have cable television, free local calls, and air conditioning; bathrooms include shower/tub combinations and hair dryers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Oceanside Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing