We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 1110
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveler rating
152
106
48
28
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
106
48
28
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barheated floorsplenty of street parkingtiny parking lotrooms are smalljacuzzi bathwarm hospitalityparking is limiteddel montepopoversgreat boutiquebreakfast was amazinggreat showercannery roweach eveningincluded breakfastmonterey bay
Filter
Updating list...
314 - 319 of 386 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

You coudl drive right past this hotel without realising that it is a hotel (which we did), but once inside teh hotel is very clean and tidy and teh room we had was a good size.

The hotel owners are wonderful people though and are always helpful and available. Also the breakfast we had we fantastic.

Hotel is within easy walk of the beach and all central locations, although it is the opposite side of teh peninsula from Pebble beach and other location attractions.

Woudl highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilftrunks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We just got back from a trip where we spent two nights at this hotel. We thought it would be a "luxury boutique" hotel but we feel it fell quite short of this title. It is an older building that used to be a hostel (with four bathrooms!) and just opened after 2 years of renovations. You can see where they tried to make sure they used marble in the bathrooms, high end shower faucets etc. But the rooms were quite small- no room for your suitcase really. And barely room for the bed. We faced the very busy road spoken about by others and since there is no fan or airconditioning we tried on the first night to leave the windows open- mistake! Lots of street noise and that really buzzy power line. The next night we closed them- less noise but even with a very chilly night it was warm for sleeping. Not ideal. The owners seem to be trying to make this work and know that they are in an area of town that is (as they call it) in a "revitalization phase"- at least they hope so. But you can't help but feel a little unsafe when you look around. As was pointed out to us, their main "market" is local people. One night when we were there they were holding an "event" on their rooftop patio for local people. We were allowed to attend- basically the only way we could buy a drink at the hotel. Lets just say we didn't feel exactly "welcome" however, we think the locals enjoyed it.

It is a LONG walk to the Fisherman's wharf area and you need a car to get to the aquarium or cannery row. However, the price was less than many of the hotels closer to the action. In the end we would say that it might have been worth spending more and being closer to the attractions. However, in hindsight not sure Monterey was worth a two day stop anyway.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We booked this inn for a short romantic weekend for rest and relaxation. It was the only Inn or B&B in the monterey / carmel area that allowed us to book for only one night. The inn was a little difficult to find at first but it wasn't that big of a deal. The Inn was completely remodeled in the last year and they did a great job! It reminds me of our hotels in Paris, beautiful classic decore, but petite in size.

After we parked in the back small parking lot we entered the front doors of the inn where we were greeted by the Inn keeper named Nick. He was very kind and sweet to us. He showed us our room (we booked a standard room via expedia) which was on the first floor and offered if we like we can get an upgrade to a room on the 3rd fl for $25 more (b/c we asked for the best rooms when we got there). The standard room was nice but a little small. We decided to upgrade b/c it was obviously worth it! The room had a lot of light, a little more space, a pseudo mini fireplace, bathtub with jets, toilet with bidet, heated bathroom floors, great shower head, and marble bathroom walls! At night we didn't have trouble with street noise.

The icing on the cake.... the BREAKFAST! It's not continental breakfast! When we came down for breakfast (served 8-10am) we were seated in their cute dining area, imagine a quaint european cafe. The staff brought us orange juice and coffee, a starting dish (a crisp with cinnamon, with fresh berries, whipped cream, on an apricot puree; YUM), and a main dish of hot poached eggs with bacon and spinach.

The Inn is next to a large park where you can rent paddle boats and across the street from Del Monte Beach (less crowded). If you walked along the beach you'll pass a kayak rental facility, the pier, fisherman's wharf, and downtown monterey with in <1.5 miles. We thought the location was very convenient.

I felt like this Inn was a hidden gem in Monterey. I would definitely recommend it to a friend or family member that would like to escape from the typical accommodations and enjoy some charm and character. (sorry, no pictures yet bc it's in my boyfriend's camera... wanted to put up this review before I forgot about it)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phish444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I had high expectations for this inn. The rooms on the website looked great, the by-line read 'small luxury hotel' and there were pretty good reviews on TripAdvisor.
Unfortunately we were very disappointed and our one-night stay was probably our worst on our trip around northern California.
I feel bad writing this review as I'm sure the owners are trying really hard, but it just didn't work for us.
Firstly, the location wasn't great. The inn is located in a quiet residential / business area on a very busy road - next door to a couple of pet salons, a Mcdonalds headquarters, and a car bodyshop. You would almost miss it walking down the street. There are a couple of carparks around the back (very narrow alley to get through) but there is enough street parking although some of the residences looked a bit run down.
We did arrive earlier than check-in time (1pm) but the reception and lobby, although seemingly nicely decorated, were dark and dingy and smelled of food (I suspect the family lunch was just being cleared). I didn't at all feel like i was in the same place as on the website. Front desk lady was very polite and friendly and checked us in and gave us a couple of cokes while she sorted out a key.
The room was our biggest disappointment. I had booked a standard room for $116, and requested a quiet room. The room was on the 1st floor and was tiny - just wide enough to fit a double-bed and a couple of tiny side-tables. There was a small tv up on the wall (no cable channels) and a wardrobe. There were no photos on the website that looked like this room so I took my own. Bathroom large and clean but not well-laid out, with the toilet right up against the wall and only a tiny glass shelf to put toiletries.
There was also no fan or air con, so with the small sized room and in early May, it didn't take long for the room to get very hot so we had to open the window. But even with the window shut, the biggest problem was the noise. At night (with window closed), we could hear the trucks thundering down the busy road, the people in the apartment across the alley conversing late into the night, buzzing power lines, and lots of bumps and thumps coming from the floor above. Was my worst night's sleep ever - and this was supposed to be the quietest room. I ended up sleeping with ear plugs, which I've never had to do before.

The other worry was security - aside from the location, the back door allowed anyone to enter without passing the front reception - it didn't close properly so I only hope it was locked at night.
We didn't stay long enough to have breakfast the next morning so can't comment on that.
We also didn't stay for the complimentary drinks at 4pm - when we came back at 6pm it looked like the rooftop area was being used to entertain non-hotel guests anyway.

So - this hotel wasn't bad (it was clean and the service was friendly, the owners are trying) - I just feel that the website is misleading in terms of photos and descriptions (so be warned - there's no picture of the 'standard' rooms, see my photo), and not recommended if you're wanting a quiet secure place. Luckily we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welly_China_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2010

The owners of the Inn greeted us with a smile and showed us personally around the Inn. Breakfast was homemade granola, fresh, hot coffee, homemade french toast with blueberries and raspberries and canadian bacon. The rooms were quaint with a fireplace, comfortable bed, and a spa tub with a multi-jet shower head and column! Luxury at a inexpensive price! Would definitley stay again! They also have a free wine tasting from 4-6!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmaemmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews