We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 1110

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel 1110
Ranked #6 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Ipswich
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ugh!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Bed was too big for room, you couldn't walk around it! Room very dark, no air conditioning couldn't open windows as at front of hotel which was on the main road. Couldn't access the parking as it was blocked by garage pickup trucks. Too far from centre of town, No choice of breakfast. One night more than enough

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank History_Girl_ipswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    101
    43
    26
    50
See reviews for
23
232
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Don't judge a book by it's cover!
This phrase came to mind when my wife and I arrived outside the hotel. Stuck between a tattoo parlour and a McDonald's regional management office, you'd be forgiven for thinking you'd got the address wrong on the busy thoroughfare that is Del Monte Avenue. Just go with it and you'll be pleasantly surprised.
Once through the big doors you forget about the traffic on the street outside and are immediately calmed with the ambience of the lobby and bar area. Nashua greeted us at the desk for check-in and obligingly showed us two rooms as we were concerned about the noise of traffic at the front! It turned out the windows were double, maybe even triple glazed, so we decided to stay with the front room which was bigger with a king-size bed! With no air-con we requested a fan to keep us cool while the windows were closed at night. For the sensitive sleepers among you, bring ear-plugs!
We fell in love with this little boutique B & B. The complimentary drink during happy hour is certainly a great start and you get the opportunity to chat with Lance, the bartender, who is a fountain of local knowledge. He's only too willing to help you out and recommend some great places in and around town.
With it being Labor Day weekend most restaurants were booked out, but he suggested the Sandbar & Grill where we could rock up and wait for a table or eat at the bar. Turned out to be a great shout. We managed to get a spot at the bar and the food was delicious!
Lance also suggested a hike for us down past Carmel at Point Lobos State Reserve which was a great day out. So listen to the guy, he knows his stuff!
The breakfast at the hotel was just what the doctor ordered! Although it alternates each day we devoured the Greek yoghurt with honey and walnuts followed by waffles with syrup and berries, the next day enjoying scrambled eggs, sausage and potato wedges... All served with infinite coffee and tea of your choice. Not too much on the plate but enough to satisfy... Just right! Nashua keeps you topped up and always ensures you're happy so make sure to say "shukran" to her!
The rooftop is a special place overlooking the bay where you can relax, soak up the sun, enjoy a glass of wine or read a book. We even used their BBQ to cook some salmon we got from the organic market store on the seafront. Was rather romantic as we sat and watched the sunset over the hills... A great way to finish off our day. OK there's a buzzing power line right by the hotel but hey, it won't ruin the romance... What are iPods and speakers for?
Just a short 10-15min walk from the centre of town and the main areas of the seafront, Hotel 1110 is in a great location. Yes it's on a busy Del Monte Avenue, but like I said, once you're through those iron-wrung doors, the road is but a memory. The spa-jacuzzi in the bathroom should also melt any stresses away... Go easy on the bubbles, I lost my wife in there!
Don't overlook this little gem, it would be criminal!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Daflares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1110, Manager at Hotel 1110, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello, and thank you so much for your review. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the reception area. It is our hope to welcome in our guest with a warm friendly environment. We do our best to accommodate however we can. In fact the windows are double pane double windows, so four layers of glass to eliminate any outside noise. Its great that you that you took the opportunity to talk to our staff. We love to give advise on where to eat and play.
Breakfast is one of our favorite times of the day here. Its our chance to send you off for the day nice and happy and hopefully the joy continues.
Isn't the roof deck great? We love it up there too and we are constantly adding fun little extras up there so next time you come it will be a bit different.
Thank you both for the pleasure of serving you and please come again and stay and say hi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and found it to be funky and fun in the interior. The service was very good as was the breakfasts and happy hour with free appetizers. The roof deck was furnished very nicely and they were in the process of installing heaters and firepits -a great place to wind down the day and you can see the ocean and views around. The hotel is situated within walking distance to Fishermans Wharf. Canery Row is further away but we walked there too. The rooms however are small and do not have air conditioning however we were provided with a fan when we asked for one. (Some rooms don't have windows, so don't be afraid to ask for one that does!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window and one at the back of the hotel as the road is a busy one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia1346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1110, Manager at Hotel 1110, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. The hotel does provide many services that are included in the stay, like wine tasting and breakfast. Its great that you took advantage of the rooftop deck. It really is a gem up there. We are only half a mile from the wharf and just above one mile to cannery row. The rooms are European style with no need for air conditioning due to sea climate of Monterey and the free use of fans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My husband picked Monterey for our 1 year wedding anniversary trip. He loves to surprise me, so he conspired with the hotel to make sure I was surprised. When we arrived, the front desk saw that he was 6'7" and decided to change the room from a Queen to a King to accommodate his size. We were grateful. So, after a bit of sightseeing, we returned to the hotel and when we walked into the room, there were roses, champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. Very nice. AND, he had a portrait painted of our first kiss at the wedding and had it shipped to Hotel 1110. The portrait greeted me when I walked into the room. So, sweet! Naturally, tears ensued (and they had to move everything from the Queen room in quick order!) The hotel was very accommodating to make sure that all of his ideas were incorporated in our trip and they were wonderful. The room was super cute (albeit small) with great touches, like the mirrored dresser, fireplace and chandelier. Loved the bathroom, with Jacuzzi, super shower and electric toilet (ha!). Breakfast was great and evening cocktails (wine, cheese, nuts) was really nice. It felt very European and we loved it. My anniversary was wonderful and if we were to return to Monterey, we will absolutely book at Hotel 1110.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0uthernGirlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALTIMORE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Such a quite homey place. The room itself feels like you are at home. The bed is a little low to the ground but comfortable. The shower, though low water pressure, is georgous! I loved the fire place in the room and the proximity to the beach. You are also very close to main street with alot of resturants and bars. You must check out the rooftop deck, my only regreat is not taking more time to enoy a glass of wine on the deck. We did not take advantage of happy hour but the owner was very welcoming and did inform us that there is a happy hour and your frist drink is on the house. Breatfast was delicious and included. If I was to return to Monterey I would not think twice about booking Hotel 1110 again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erika l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were greeted by the owners and a nice young man by the name of Lance that took us on a roof top tour after welcoming us with a glass of wine. Breakfast and coffee were wonderful. Will definitely remember this hotel and the experience. I will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Everything about our trip to Monterey Bay was enjoyable. I had read all the reviews of the hotel before booking so knew about the parking and small rooms. I decided to go ahead because of the location. Close to the beach and around 15 mins to walk to the wharf. It is close to the main road and I would imagine the front rooms to be more noisy. We had a back room which while not having a view, was quiet and clean. As others have said, the owner is very helpful and the free drink and tapa is a nice touch. Wonderful breakfast which varies each day. Pancakes and fruit, yummy.
Parking can be hit and miss and you may have to park away from the hotel but if you are fit and prepared, no hassle.

Room Tip: I would imagine, side and back are quieter but the front has the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tejonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Property: Hotel 1110
Address: 1110 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2426 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1110 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing