We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique Hotel in Monterey”
Review of Hotel 1110

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 1110
Ranked #5 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. It is definitely different and a unique experience. First of all, the name of the Hotel is no longer Del Monte Beach it is Hotel 1110. When you arrive it is very difficult to figure out where to park and once you do the space is very limited. The owners and workers are very nice once you check in though. The rooms are very small and there is no air conditioning so it can get hot and stufffy at night. In the morning the owners make a very nice complimentary breakfast and it has a very european feel. The price is very good compared to other hotels in the area with made the stay acceptable. Like I said, it is definitely a unique hotel and if you are looking for a different place with a reasonabale rate give it a shot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darrin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1110
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 365 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was a little skeptical when I first arrived because of the lack of parking and the location (next to a car repair and tattoo parlor, in front of a dog groomer and belly dance studio), but it turned out to be a wonderful place to stay. The proprietors are friendly and I felt as if I were in my own home. The breakfasts were outstanding. My room was European-small, but having just returned from a week in London, that was normal for me and didn't bother me The bathroom was unusually large and had a spa tub and the shower had body jets. I opened the bathroom window for ventilation so that wasn't a problem. I had a fireplace in the room, which I didn't try to use. The traffic noise bothered me the first night and then I slept right through it the other nights. I will definitely stay here again. Highly recommended, especially if you're a single woman traveling alone. I felt safe here. Did I mention how great the breakfasts were?

Room Tip: I was on the second floor and, because of the wood floors, could hear the people above me walking ar...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The greeting upon arrival was friendly and welcoming. We checked into our first floor room (103). Immediately we noticed the room was quite stuffy. The window was screwed shut and there was no AC or ventilation. I had to sit in the room with the door open to get air in. I mentioned this at the front desk and asked for a fan which was immediately provided. It helped move the air around, but the room remained stagnant and stuffy.

The shower leaked water across the floor and there was little room for toiletries.

The overal aesthetic of the hotel was fine and breakfast (included) tasty and filling. The roof deck, was beautiful with ample seating and lounge chairs. The hotel is across the street from a lovely beach promenade and large stretch of the Monterey coast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiemHoang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for five nights. While quite unassuming from the outside, once you open the door, the lobby is very welcoming. We were a little worried from other reviews about the size of the rooms; however, our room on the second floor was a nice size and the bathroom was large. It is definitely reminiscent of hotels in Europe. We can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the owner, Nick, and his staff. They recommended some fabulous restaurants to us. The breakfasts at the hotel were awesome! The complimentary hors d'ouvres and wine/beer for Happy Hour were a special treat allowing us to get to know the staff. The roof top deck was a bonus. We took several of our friends to the hotel for Happy Hour up on the roof. The hotel's location was perfect for us; we could walk to several restaurants in 10 minutes. We had no trouble parking and while yes, we could hear the traffic slightly, it was not a problem for us. Not sure why some people think the parking was "a nightmare"....we never had a problem regardless of the time of day or night we got back to the hotel. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 202; queen bed, fireplace in room, very large bathroom.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here over the Moto Gp weekend and I must say I was blown away with the value and service provided by this hotel. Very convenient to Laguna Seca and Cannery Row. On a main road but wasnt noisy at all. Neat and tidy rooms with a remote control gas fire, jacuzzi and fancy multi head shower. Home cooked breakfast that varies each morning and happy hour in the evening with a friendly convivial atmosphere. Definitely going to stay here next year!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chantycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

This inn has so much going for it in regards to location to sites of interest. The owners were very nice, the rooftop terrace and the breakfast was great, but the traffic noise and very tight parking made our stay a "Do Not Recommend" experience. Our room faced one of the busiest stretches of road along Del Monte Beach and the windows did not block out any of the noise. We hardly slept. The parking was another challenge, with limited spaces and some on the street parking required made for a less than safe access to the building. I would stay further down the peninsula away from all the traffic noise next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good location for easy access (you can walk in a few minutes) to the Navel Postgraduate School. (I was told this hotel, back in the day, was used for "female recreation" by men stationed at the base) The walk is just a few minutes. A 15 minute walk along the beach sidewalk takes you to downtown and to the free bus to the Canary Row, etc., which we walked several times! Rooms are small, so it is not a "resort" hotel where you spend time hanging at the hotel. Room had one small chair for sitting, no desk, etc. and very limited TV stations but good internet connection. Very nice breakfast to fuel one up for the day in very decorated dining area. Top deck has a nice view of the bay, but just needs a little attention to keep it looking cared for. A little bleach in the shower and grout cleaning of the bathroom floor would be a nice touch...though I do know beach climate presents its own set of cleaning issues. Bedroom window would not open, so no fresh ocean air! Bathroom window opened, but had no screen. Opening the bath window was the only way to clear the steam after a shower. Some of the towels were thread bare, and others lovely. We stayed for 2 days, and "might" stay again because of the location. Parking is limited. We did park in the small lot behind and walked everywhere for the next 2 days. Good bed! This little hotel reminded me of small European hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 416Waltonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 56 in Monterey
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1110? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1110

Address: 1110 Del Monte Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-2426 (Formerly The Inn at Del Monte Beach)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: $122 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1110 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly designed European-style Inn is an easy walk to Monterey's beaches, City Center restaurants, shopping, nightlife, cultural activities and Old Fisherman’s Wharf. Nearby outdoor adventures include kayaking, biking, hiking, golf, whale watching, horseback riding and much more. Enjoy a panoramic view of Monterey Bay, Del Monte Beach, Monterey's city center and marina from our Rooftop Observation Deck, while sampling complimentary afternoon refreshments during our afternoon tea time and wine tasting, or while just lounging about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 1110 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Del Monte Beach Hotel Monterey
Del Monte Beach Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing