We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for Money Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money Stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Stayed here for one night as part of a tour of california. The hotel is in a great location, and was a pleasant suprise. The room was only around £60 a night, but it was a decent size and was clean and tidy.

The hotel staff were friendly, and it was a great place for a night.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    226
    86
    29
    19
See reviews for
116
194
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed at the Monterey Bay Lodge for 2 nights stay. The room was very large and clean, we had a balcony view of the pool area, with the front door looking out onto the sea. Facilities included iron/ironing board, hairdryer, free wifi, safe, tea coffee facilities & a pool. The staff were very friendly and helpful, we had a couple of problems (tv wouldn't work and room key stopped working) but they sorted these out straight away and these problems wouldn't make me mark my review down at all.

The location couldn't have been any better, 3 minutes walk to the sea and approx 15 minutes walk to Fishermans Wharf (one of the local attractions where you can go on whale watching trips, also a must do!!).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno NV
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

This was a weekend at the beach for us, and that was what we found just across the street. The sea was not warm enough for immersion above the knees, but there was a pool at the hotel which was maybe 2 or 3 degrees warmer, just bearable to keep the kids happy. The spa was my retreat to soak away 400 miles of "are we there yet?"
Santa Cruz is less than hour away, and is great entertainment for everyone, but it's nice to get back to a more peaceful Monterey.
We got the family suite, as it was comparable in price to 2 queen rooms at other locations; I believe the best way to maintain sanity on a trip with 2 small kids is to have a door between them and you at the end of the day.
Within easy walking distance is Denace the Menace Playground, definitely worth an hour or two of your kids' time, especially if you want to get them tired for the return trip.
We did not venture beyond the attached diner for breakfast; it serves a good menu at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baddersfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2010

I booked our trip back in May for a stay in November. When you have children you have to plan for everything. I checked several times through staff and emails back and forth with Michelle and Cindy. I was always assured our plans for the aquarium were set. Room was set, pool was heated. We arrived a bit late in the evening. No aquarium tickets! Room was small with two full size beds. we were supposed to have a suite with a seperate room.The guy at the late desk I could hardly understand, was not concerned at all that my son had to sleep on the floor. They offered to move us to the two room suite the next day. Hey when you travel with kids you bring everything in- side, we did not want to move and re pack. The pool was not heated at all it was unbarable. the beds were lumpy and dirty windows. Burn holes in the carpet and filthy carpets.The next day I asked to speak with Michelle or Cindy I was then told that neither managers were available. How can you run a hotel with no manager on site. While I was waiting for a manager I found out that the woman I made the reservation with was no longer employed. Not comforting at all. when we checked out we were ignored for about 12 minutes before someone even asked us if we needed help. There are better places to stay for the price

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank madcowMadera_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sur Brit
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We booked the night before by phone from Atascedero, and chose the upgrade for $5 to a room with fire and fireplace (great move). We arrived after the trip from hell, blow out on rental car on Pacific Coast Highway, no cell coverage, and no safe place to change tyre, and the spare being a 2 inch space saver, which didn't enhance the looks or handling of the Mustang, given the driving conditions that day. We booked in very helpful, efficient, but also human and caring. After a trip to the Airport to change the car, we returned to the Hotel, and asked at the Front Desk about where to eat. Vince (Vincent) was fantastic, he enquired what we wanted to eat, knew the area and and gave us his recomendation and directions, and we enjoyed the best Mussels and Scallops I have ever tasted at ""The Sandbar, washed down with a delightful Chardonnay. The next day we visited The Aquarium, booking our tickets through the front desk, Michelle was very helpful, even though she was balancing two phonecalls at the time. That evening we eat at the Monterey Fish House, again great food, Vince again was very helpful, booking the table, and wanted our feedback, so that he could help future visitors. The room was relaxing, very comfortable, and very reasonablly priced given its location. Wish we could have stayed longer, in this Hotel and this City, as both were a delight to stay in. We cant wait until 2012 to go back and hopefully stay longer.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mustanglover55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frannysf
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Pluses: Location is nice. Long walk to the aquarium, shorter walk to the wharf. Beach across the street, with the mini-mart/gas station in between. Yes, you can hear the seals at night, which is nice. Affordable.

Minuses: Beds were completely broken down. Mattresses slanted on one side. Carpet filthy and room very musty. Smokers on walkway outside the door allowed smoke to drift into the room. No view. Dark rooms. Overpriced coffee shop on premises.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frannysf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grabs, Switzerland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

I had a really mixed experience in the this hotel.
Location is perfect as you can walk to all the attractions from here and its so close to the beach you can hear the Sea lions barking at night.
The staff are really friendly and extremely helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble.
The room was a let down though. Firstly I should point out that I could see the little touches, the effort to make it homely, but it was only veneer deep with dirt in the corners and a carpet that positively should have been thrown away two seasons ago. I will be plain. It made the room smell bad. OK, I could have gone to the desk and asked for another one but I just could not be bothered. I mean they should know, they should operate a quality control audit from time to time, perhaps they do but may be the person doing it has a poor sense of smell. To be frank, I have stayed in 40 dollar hotel rooms that were better smelling than mine. Add on to this that there is no aircon and that for breakfast all they give you is a 2 dollar voucher for the cafe next door and I think the whole thing adds up to poor value overall. I wont be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buellrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
508 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing