We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
A TripAdvisor Member
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed December 31, 2004

In November my wife and I took a four day vacation and decided to drive up the coast from the LA area. We did not make reservations and decided to take our chances on accommodations. By chance we stopped at the Monterey Bay Lodge. There was a room available. To say we were pleasantly surprised at the accomodations is an understatement. The room and the grounds were VERY clean and attractive. The employess were very pleasant and helpful. If we are ever again in the area we will stay at the Monterey Bay Lodge and will wholeheartedly recommend it to others.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    230
    87
    29
    19
See reviews for
120
196
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 17, 2004

With two toddlers under the age of 4, proximity to Dennis the Menace Park was a big hit. Very convenient with the attached restaurant! And very nicely updated, although the bathrooms are in need of a small bit of attention. No deals ie: Aquarium passes, but free parking! In the summer, this must be a very pleasant and charming place to stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 17, 2004

We stayed here whilst driving from LA to San Francisco in November 2004.

The Lodge is near but not on the main motel strip but neither is it in the middle of the Cannery Row complex which means a car is needed.

We found the hotel to be spotless and our downstairs room with a fire did not correspond to the complaints in the previous postings. The whole hotel seemed to be well renovated and all ammenities were fuctioning and certainly not in any need of repair.

Unlike many motels, the decor was attractive and not garish.

It is an attractive, business-like motel with interested staff and in a good location away from the busy areas. Well recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2004

We travel to Monterey from San Francisco many times a year to visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium which we love and after much searching we have found our favorite place to stay. We have stayed at Monterey Bay Lodge many times over the last few years and most recently on November 26. We love their staff, accomodations, and the location next to Dennis the Menace Park, paddle boats, and the bike trail which takes you to Cannery Row where the Aquarium is located. We find their rooms to be well-maintained, nicely decorated, and very comfortable. The heated pool and hot tub enclosed behind locked glass is just right for us and our young daughter. The adjacent Ann Kelly's restaurant is also great -- portions are generous. Overall, our stays here have been wonderful, and we have recommended Monterey Bay Lodge many times to our Bay Area friends who have also loved their stays here.

Helpful?
6 Thank Margo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2004

Motel is getting ran down and they are not spending any money on improvements. Stayed there on Nov 5 and 6, 2004. When we arrived we had a King Room with Fireplace. Fireplace did not stay on and it was cool at night. Shower had very little Hot water, it was luke warm, no matter what time of day. Toilet ran at night after flushing.

Complained first night and was told that it was old plumbing. How that help's me? Fireplace, they indicated that it shut off after warming up. We had to have the heater on as well, so it never did much to warm the room. Shower, they indicated they would look at it, but never did. Discounted the room a whole $9 the first night and nothing the next night. The person at the front acted suprised with all these problems and asked if I had complained earlier? When he opened the log book, he said you were not the only one with problems. Was very disappointed and when I asked why the price was not discounted more and also why only one night. They guy told me I would have to phone the manager and ask for a discount.

Helpful?
7 Thank M0M0ney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Resident Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2004
While we sincerely regret any guest having a less than excellent experience at the Monterey Bay Lodge, we must defend ourselves here. Upon hearing of his first problem with this room, we offered this guest the opportunity to move to another room of the same type. He opted not to. Both the fireplace and the plumbing were checked by maintenance staff and found to be operating properly. We cannot explain the problems he had operating them.

As one can see by the vast majority of reviews on this site, we spend a great deal of time and money on maintenance and upgrades. We only wish that the guest from Calgary had afforded us the opportunity to make his stay more enjoyable.






Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
549 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing