We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay in Monterey!!!!!!”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #32 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed April 11, 2009

My husband and I were travelling to Sacramento area from San Diego--and decided to try to stay in Monterey for the night. Compared to other hotels that looked down on us for travelling by a Harley motorcycle--Monterey Bay Lodge embraced us! We were given an exceptional room that included a car port area to park our bike right outside the room. A restaurant recommendation for dinner that night capped off a perfect stay. Everyone is so friendly, professional and just GREAT!

We are coming through the area again sometime the week of April 20th--we are looking forward to staying there again...can't wait!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadGlideSacramento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2009

Thank you so much for the kind words. It was great to see you folks again.
Your Harley's are so beautiful!

Happy trails,
From all us Harley riders at heart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 553 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2009

We stayed at the Monterey Bay Lodge from 3/25/09 to 3/31/09. We had first noticed their advertisment in our AAA book and then found and read the reviews in the Trip Advisor. From the first phone call when we talked to "Vince" we made up our minds to stay there. Vince was such a pleasant person to talk to on the phone. They when we arrived both Vince and Larry were very helpful. My wife and I checked into a room with a fireplace and it was great. It was missing a big comfy chair and I have a really bad back. No problem. Here comes Vince and Larry carrying a big chair and installed it in our room right away. They helped with whale watching tickets, maps, the whole thing. The room was very clean and nice. We really enjoyed our weeks stay and would return and stay there again. I can't say enough kind words about the staff, including Cindy. The use of a computer in the lobby was great. We had some printing troubles at first but they got it going for us and all was well. So many thanks to all. And I must point out that Vince is a very valuable employee for this place and our first impression on the phone was a lasting one. Also the place is close to everything. Thanks from Joe & Nancy Garski of Michigan.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazz055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2009

It was so nice having you folks stay with us. Vince and Larry send their best and ask that you keep in touch. (They so enjoyed the chats)

Hope to see you back soon,

The MBL crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

After reading reviews on tripadvisor and considering all the options we called Monterey Bay Lodge - they were so nice and gave us a great rate on a room with a king bed and fireplace (and a spa the first night!!!). The staff were all really friendly, especially Vince, eager to give recommendations on things to do and places to eat. Everything was really clean, no stains or anything on the floor, bedding, etc. Nicely decorated compared to most hotels, especially the bathrooms. Location was good (could walk to Del Monte Beach and Fisherman's Wharf), although the places we went to were a bit too far to walk. The only negative thing about this place is that there is no breakfast included in the price. They give you a coupon for $2 off per person at their restaurant, which is decent, but I would have preferred less options with simple continental breakfast included. Other than that this place is great! Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RadioGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2009

The greatest and nicest thing about us, is the guests that stay with us.It is all about you.. Thank you for the kind words, but most of all, thank you for staying with us.
By the way...nice picture. Hope to see you back soon.

Cindy and the entire staff of the Monterey Bay Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

We stayed one night at the Monterey Bay Lodge and loved it. Very clean, great location and the staff was amazingly pleasant. The king room with fireplace was wonderful and we loved the patio overlooking the pool and spa. We loved being able to walk 1 block to the ocean and the beach and a 10 minute walk to the wharf. Nice having a restaurant, lake, park, and mini mart so close. The room was clean and had very nice touches....the bed was soooo comfortable and we liked having a microwave and refrigerator in addition to the coffee maker. We loved that the fridge was stocked with two bottles of "free" water. So many nice touches. Will stay there again and again in the future. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pstefani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2009

Thank you for your kind words. The truth of the matter is..... it is the wonderful guests like you that make it worth while for us.
Please hurry back!


Cindy, Larry, Michelle, Vince and Susan all wish you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2009

If you want to feel good without blowing your budget this is the place to go in Monterey. It's not fancy but the people are great, the rooms clean and quiet, and the bed's comfortable. It's convenient to the beach and a park is across the street. Fisherman's Warf is within walking distance and a cab ride to the Aquarium was under $10 (which is cheaper than parking.) It also has a decent sized pool and a hot tub. It was such a hit we made reservations for another getaway weekend in June.

Negatives are two busy streets and a just adequate restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank majoro7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2009

We are looking forward to visiting with you again in June. There is so much to do here in Monterey as summer months arrive. We would be delighted to get you any information on things to do for a family or just the two of you. You can call me anytime for information.
Thanks Cindy and the entire Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

I found this gem through Trip Advisor. Reasonable rates - great location - well taken care. My husband and I stayed there for two nights. We had planned on watching the 4th round of the Pebble Beach Pro Am, but due to the 40 mile winds, it was postponed. The location of the motel is great - across the street from the park, a short walk to the beach, and if the weather was good - you could walk to Fisherman's Warf. Easy access to the free way. We had a room with one queen size bed and were impressed how clean the room was. The grounds are very well maintained. I was also impressed with the service the staff gave - Vince was very helpful with any questions, made dinner reservations for us, and made our stay comfortable. We had breakfast in the restaurant on grounds and it was good. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JustKatePineGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2009

Hi again,
It was all my pleasure helping you with suggestions. I am glad to know you enjoyed yourselves. "That's what it's all about"
Take care and hope to see you soon.

Vince and the gang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We stayed at this facility at the end of May in 2008 and loved it. After reading different reviews from many websites, we made sure to request an upper back room and we were not dissapointed. These rooms are a short beach walk to the main of it all. Hubby and I really enjoyed the short walks along the beach. I really loved the pillows. I almost offered to buy one. Where do you get your pillows. It made for a great nights sleep. I am not sure I would have liked it as much if we had a room facing the street.

If your looking for a decent price and free parking, choose this place by far.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank columbusgal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montereybaylodge, General Manager. Cindy Anderson at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2009

I hope you and your hubby are both doing well.
You visited us last May; it's time to come back.
We have just added microwaves to all our rooms and 26' flat panel televisions as well.
I am looking forward to visitng with you again.
I know you have a lot to choose from here in Monterey and we appreciate the fact that you chose us.
Come back soon and enjoy!

See you soon,
Cindy,Larry,Michelle,Vince, Susan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $106 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing