We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monterey Bay Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
191
241
95
30
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
241
95
30
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadjoining restaurantdennis the menace parkcannery rowfisherman's wharfhot tubminute walkon site restaurantcoffee makernice place to staywithin easy walking distancemonterey baywhale watchingfridge and microwaveroom was clean and comfortableaquarium ticketsking bedroad trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 577 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A comfortable lodge that comes with necessary amenities. Clean, spacious & comes with fireplace. And you can opt to have rooms at ground floor where you can just park in front of your room. Good location, comfortable rooms & value for money!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JustEcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We tried this establishment after noting it while staying elsewhere. The Estero (Estuary) City Park is across the street from the Monterey Bay Lodge, an easy walk takes visitord to one of the nicest business neighborhoods in Town. The Old Fisherman's Wharf (the other one) is across the Highway from this hotel; as is the long and narrow white sand public beach.

Away from the clamor and congestion; all of that Acquarium and Sardine Factory area is 3 or 4 miles further down the coast.

The rooms vary in size and level, not heated pool, heated whirlpool (works) and plenty of onsite parking. The restaurant next door is desperation time - the majority of the clientele is take out/delivery. The rooms overlooking the hiway are quiet in the evenings - of course the area around the pool is best.

Room Tip: We recomment any room they have, the secret is to be close to the Hot Tub.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice place in Monteray in a quiet neighbourhood. The sea and some nice restaurants at the mole are nearby. Went there for one night with two kids and they also find it nice. The room was okay . nothing special - but good value for money.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank RasmusCph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife was so excited to arrive at a real motel. It had been her dream to stay in a real motel during our road trip and boy did we hit a winner here. From the friendly reception when we arrived, to the heated swimming pool and then to the wonderful and comfortable rooms our arrival set the tone for our two day visit. The rooms have obviously been recently decorated (perhaps they haven't finished them all yet) and are tastefully done with nice curtains and cushions. There is a coffee machine, fridge and a microwave in each room which makes up for the lack of a restaurant. But fear not you are only 15 minutes from the town centre and from the wharf.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panbrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Used to stay here monthly on business. Don't know what happened, but this room is filthy. I stayed in a 60 year old motel in the Ozarks that had towels you could see through and holes in the plaster...and it was cleaner than this. No excuse for stink and filth. Went to open window to air room out and found boogers and smear marks up and down. This is going to be a long night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hopeful1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desaimbl, Manager at Monterey Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Guest,
We appreciate you posting the review on our TripAdvisor page and we are really concerned about experience you had. It is totally unlike our management and cleanliness practices. We take pride in cleaning and maintaining ALL of our Guest Rooms and public areas and it reflects in reviews posted by other guests about the Monterey Bay Lodge. I would really appreciate if you could call the hotel and give us little more detail about your stay, so we can locate your reservation and investigate this matter further.

Sincerely,
Don Desai
Manager
Monterey Bay Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews