We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value, decent rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Value, decent rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Quiet and good value. Do not eat breakfast at the restaurant - very very understaffed and unless you have or don't mind small children you're in for a very loud wake up. The pool looks cute and probably a good place for kids to hang out. It's right by the ocean, but a some 10 minutes walk to the Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf.

Room Tip: get a room on the second level (to avoid noisy footsteps)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmnj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    226
    86
    29
    19
See reviews for
116
194
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This place is in a good location for getting around Monterey Bay. It is an easy walk to the wharf, beach (not much for beaches in Monterey) across the street, and Cannery Row is walkable unless you are not a "walker". A pond across the street and a kid friendly park, cafe in hotel. Freeway access very close to hit and run up and down 1 to go to Carmel, Big Sur, etc. Downside is although hotel is clean and presentable, rooms are small, beds are hard, pillows simply suck, and tv is grainy as heck. Good value for what you pay, but if you want more comfort for not too much cash, you may wanna hit some Munras Ave hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShannonLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in monterey with no booking to find out it was the superbike week end, prices shoot up and most places were fully booked. We drove into this motel, people at the reception were friendly and we stayed 2 nights. The first room on the ground floor was ok but not great; better the one on the first floor we got the second day. The rooms were ok, location real good for the beach but not walking distance from town. No breakfast included in the already over priced rate...which was standard and not to blame on this motel, we even got a small discount! Overall ok, just plan your trip in advance in these places.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank HolHolHol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Location is very good. Across the street from a little lake and park, and from the beach with the beach walk / bike route. We had our bikes so it was very convenient to ride into town. It was about a 10 to 15 min. ride to the Aquarium. We also walked to downtown for dinner, less than 1/2 hour walk. The rooms and bathroom are clean and tidy, but small. Not much room the hide the bikes away. And the queen bed seemed to be a double+. But the pool was very comfortable to swim in, and the spa was nice and hot!. There is a fountain in the wading pool for the small ones to play in. The grounds are full of flowers, some with delightful smells.

Room Tip: rooms around the pool have patios and the sound of the fountain in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtmote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This unassuming motel is all about value. There's nothing luxurious about it and little that distinguishes it from several others--except its great, on-site restaurant that has the best breakfast we've had in Monterey. We stayed for only one night (our second visit) and loved its proximity to the ocean--a five minute stroll--and to a biking/running trail that hugs the coast. We stayed in the highest end room, paid less than $200 per night, and found it clean, comfortable and a satisfactory jumping off point for the aquarium. Kids love the little pool, parents love the convenience of the car parked in front of your door, and everyone loves the short drive to city center and waterfront restaurants. Great for families and a brief stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiceNYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this room at the last minute and it was the nicest place we stayed the entire week we drove up the Pacific Coast Highway! Pretty white and blue updated decor in a convenient location across from a lake and one block from the ocean. Lovely grounds and an easy walk to Fisherman's Wharf. We did have a/c in our room, but some rooms do not have it. Friendly gentleman checked us in and answered all our questions about the area. Loved Monterey and loved this place!

Room Tip: Depending on the time of year you are visiting, you may want to ask ahead about which rooms have a/c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were on a fly/drive trip to USA and Monterey was a one night stop over for us. The Monterey Bay Lodge was a nice little motel with clean rooms. We had free wifi, coffee, safe, toiletries and towels included. I would stay here again.

A nice place to eat nearby is Loulous or Sands Bar and Grill - both can be found on the boardwalk nearby with parking. If you ask reception they will tell you. Loulous was great for breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyInez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing