We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff!”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very helpful staff...attentive to our needs....clean room...basic but good...fridge, microwave, TV! Nice pools and hot tubs....extremely clean all round the premises...good tips for dinner...had the best ever at the Sands Bar & Grill....good information about where to go the next day....and near the Fishermens Wharf....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandclane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    231
    87
    29
    19
See reviews for
120
197
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I’ve stayed a few times at this property. While it’s not a “centrally located” five star property it gets the job done. The staff is always friendly and the rooms are always very clean. The beach is a short walk across the street. Everything worthwhile in Monterey is within walking distance for those that are up to it. If the beach is too cold for you the property offers a great pool on the property. I’ll definitely come back to this property again thanks to the value it provides.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EinReisenderAusCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stopped in monterey during our drive from LA to San Fran. This motel was clean and comfortable for our purpose of a one night stop over. Most importantly it was well priced compared to the other places near by. If you are staying for a few days it is a good place just slightly out of the action of the town but with in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Rooms were clean, updated, great water pressure, flat screen TV, a little far from downtown if you don't have a vehicle, it is close to an airport, planes fly over hotel, ear plugs recommended. Staff were outgoing. Not within walking distance to restaurants if you get there late in the evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Love this place! It was my second stay and loved it as much this time as when I was here last year. Quiet, no a/c but there was a nice breeze when the windows were open and when closed, there was a fan in the room so I was very comfortable. Love the coffee they had in the room too and there was a fridge and microwave too. Not as fancy as the high cost hotels and B&B's in Monterey, but you don't pay the high prices like you would at those. I was extremely happy with my stay and am looking forward to my next visit to Monterey to stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSUE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very dated feel in the room but seemed clean. Just an odour of age in the room put me off. The pool and Jacuzzi were attractive and I did use it. Couldn't have the balcony door open for air because anyone could walk right in off the joint balcony provided for the other rooms on the second floor I also could hear slight noise through the door to the adjoining room.The hotel is very handy to the waterfront and we had a nice reduced price breakfast provided by the hotel at the next door facility. We got two dollars off a nice meal. Nice park and lagoon across the street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room was clean en had everything we needed for our one night stay. It is situated in a walkingdistance to the harbor and restaurants. There is no breakf ast included, but you get a discount when you get breakfast in the restaurant of the hotel. There is enough parkingspace.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bjorn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,302 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing