We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge the book by the cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Don't judge the book by the cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were a little skeptical when we drove up cuz it's looks a little bit like a shady motel at first. We chose it last minute based on the affordability and trip advisor pics and reviews. The lodge is right by the wharf, like a short 5 minute drive. The rooms are actually quite nice, very clean, large and well decorated. Bathroom was nice. There was a fireplace in the room and a restaurant attached to the lodge for breakfast in the morning. For the price it was very nice.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BrittanynYuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    207
    83
    26
    19
See reviews for
103
176
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was traveling alone with my kids and booked the suite with a king and sleeper sofa with kitchenette. That worked out great for us. We used the pool (warm enough for a night swim), the jacuzzi (a little heavy on chemicals), and ate at the restaurant on-site for breakfast (delicious & awesome service). We were pleased with it all! I felt very safe there and had easy access to my car which was packed for our long road trip. I only noticed that the hotel sits underneath the landing flight path to the airport the morning after we arrived but was only slightly aware of that noise for the remainder our stay.

The location was perfect to walk to the Dennis the Menace park, the paddle boats, the beach, the wharf, and the trolley stop that takes you to the aquarium and Cannery row. It's also a short drive to the shopping center/movie theater. I was not informed that I could have bought tickets in advance to the aquarium through the hotel - could have saved us some time standing in line (I ended up purchasing them from my phone while standing in the long line, so saved a little time there).

The only real annoyance was resolved right away - all of the rooms are non-smoking and shortly after arriving and opening windows to let fresh air in, my kids and I began to smell cigarette smoke. We peeked outside and saw it was one of the hotel employees - I politely asked for him to not smoke there as the smoke was blowing right into our room. He apologized profusely and I noticed future smoke breaks were taken out front. Thanks!

Room Tip: I called before I booked and spoke w/ the staff to assure I could book a room that could fit 3 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kinikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The motel is located within walking distance of all the major attractions in Monterey. The room is extremely basic but clean. There is a heated pool and small hot tub. Our room was on the first floor, had a small patio with chairs and right across from the pool.
The restaurant onsite had a very good breakfast and delightful staff and the staff at the front desk for the motel were very knowledgeable and friendly.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor. We heard EVERY step the family above us took!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The room was fine, it was clean and had everything you needed, it was just a little on the small side. It was very quiet though, so we got a great nights sleep. Location good, out of Monterey centre, but you could walk to the free trolley stop, just 10 minutes stroll. Wasn't very impressed with the breakfast at the diner which was part of the lodge. That said, the price for the room was very cheap for the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We used this hotel for a couple of days before heading north. I chose it because of the tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the main restaurants and attractions and right next to a lovely park. Great for jogging around in the morning. We had breakfast at the adjoining restaurant which was very good. You can get vouchers from reception to give you a couple of dollars reduction. Ate some fantastic seafood in Monterey, saw some whales out in the bay and drove along the coast which was stunning down to Carmel (charming but very pricey). The hotel was a great base for two to three days but a bit limited in facilities for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JEJ01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here just one night while passing through the area. The AAA rate was $30 higher than the Hotels.com rate but they matched it without forcing me to log into Hotels.com. The room was clean and had a fridge, coffee maker, LCD TV and ample lighting. The feel of the place is a bit dated but more than acceptable. I normally prefer more outlets for all my gadgets but this wasn't a business trip. The room had no AC. Monterey doesn't normally but this night it was a bit higher than I prefer. I kept the room window open with the little desk fan (supplied in room) running all night. That meant the window and curtains had to be left open all night. This is not the most secure situation. My only real complaints was a missing bath stopper, lumpy pillows and the copious amounts of spiderwebs surrounding the door of the room. They looked like they couldn't have been more than a few days old (this was no haunted house).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sawdust1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was just an unexpected stay on our road trip all over california. We chose this hotel due to it's proximity to the beach and other local areas like the cannery row, a beautiful lake and monterey aquarium. There might be other hotels that are closer to the beach, but this is okay since it's not a long drive from here to the cannery row (less than 10 minutes). Room is efficient for a short stay. If looking for a more romantic hotel, better find somewhere else. But as I said, we just picked this one while we were on the road and just wanted to have some rest before taking off again. Even so, the room is not bad. Complimentary business center to use for printing and faxing. Just the toilet flush sounds like a flush from an airplane lavatory.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing