We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place close to beach and lake”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice place close to beach and lake”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend after driving from San fransico,nice motel close to beach and pier but a drive from main town,nice clean room with parking outside,some nice touches such as a discount of breakfast in restaurant next door and bottles of water in fridge and coffee maker,comfy clean bed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ourlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    231
    87
    30
    19
See reviews for
121
198
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed over for 2 nights in Monterey and picked the Monterey Bay Lodge from trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. The rooms are a little old fashioned but in a quaint way, very clean and comfortable. The location of fthe hotel is great for both the beach and the less commercial end of the town.
The pool and spa were great and very relaxing. The staff were all very helpful.

We would stay again

Room Tip: All are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Recently stayed here in a queen fireplace unit for a one night stay. Our party of four adults had two different rooms. Our room was in a separate, one story section and had a small patio and assigned parking as part of the unit. Our traveling companions were on the second floor of the two story building. Both rooms were clean and nicely decorated. As others have mentioned, the location is good--easy to find from Highway 1, across the street from both the beach and a park with a lake and playground, and a short walk to the Wharf. It was nice, after a long day of touring and driving to have a short, enjoyable walk to the wharf, with its many choices for dinner. Although it is at a busy intersection, the rooms were quiet. Since all of us had been in Monterey before and this was just a one night stop, this location worked well for us.

Check in was easy and all the staff members we saw during our stay were friendly. Good maps of both Monterey and Carmel are available for free from the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxOffWeGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Location next to Lake El Estero, on the corner of Camino Agujito (direct from Hwy 1) and Del Monte, and across the street from the Bay, makes this hotel better than average. The hotel is a product of the popularity caused after Steinbeck wrote about Cannery Row. It fights hard to keep up with the decor and amenities, like a cozy pool and spa, a courtyard and adjoined coffee shop. Only demerits go for beds than need to be turned once in a while and that they have no elevator. The are pet friendly as is the fine coffee shop next door. Prices are reasonable at $132.00 per weekdays including tax. For Monterey, that is very good. Parking is in their on site lot and had just been refinished while we were there. Walking trails and proximity to the Aquarium and Cannery Row make this hotel a place we will want to come back to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cactus5225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed in Room 110, a downstairs unit by a parking lot. When we walked into the room, besides noticing the attractive cheerful colors the small room had been decorated with, I was assailed by a musty, unpleasant, sweet odor. I thought it would resolve with airing out, but it never did and I went on to have a most unfortunate asthma and allergy attack. I asked the next morning at the front desk if housekeeping sprays some scent in the air, and I was told "yes." I asked that it not happen again as we were staying two nights. I also left a note on our door to housekeeping. When we returned that evening, the scent was much less noticeable, but my allergies were so activated from the first night that I was still miserable. I think it's very old-fashioned that a hotel still thinks this is a helpful thing to do. I was satisfied with the way my complaint was handled, although there was no offer of a more hypoallergenic room. Someone also mentioned the comforter, that it seemed old and a good way to harbor allergens. I agree. I took it off and just used the blanket in the closet, although I was not warm enough. On the positive side, the front office staff was always pleasant, the location was good enough, the price was more affordable than other lodgings, an attempt was made to make the room look cheerful with nice colors, and the attached diner had good breakfast. We did not use the pool area. We liked walking one block to the beach. If we ever return to Monterey, I would not stay here again without assurance that no scented cleaning supplies and especially no scented sprays were used.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main road, and if you are allergic or asthmatic, ask for a room that h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had three people and decided to get the Family Room, which had a Queen bed when you walked in and a bunk bed in a separate room. This worked out perfectly for us. The room was clean, it had all the usual amenities (small fridge, microwave, hair dryer, clothes iron, etc.), and a TV in each room. The check-in went smoothly and the staff at the front desk was very nice. The two best things for us were the on-site restaurant, which served a fantastic breakfast, and the convenience of being able to walk to the wharf. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing