We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go again”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Not the cheapest room rate but no over the odds either. Ideal location, room to park your car, clean and comfortable room. Facilities included:- fridge and microwave, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and wi-fi. Swimming pool and hot tub. Short walk to the wharf. Clean towels each day and complimentary bottles of water. Pleasant boating lake and sea front nearby.

Deal between the Lodge and the restaurant next door you get money off you breakfast as a guest. Worth a look we had a really nice breakfast there would recommend this too.

We ate at Crabby Jims on the sea front really nice meal. As an alternative worth a drive to Carmel to Clint Eastwood's Mission Inn he sits in the piano bar in the evening nice option for tea!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room if you don't mind hiking you cases up the steps as you can here people...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlieCulsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
There are newer reviews for Monterey Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 553 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

After staying in San Francisco for 3 days, we drove along the coast road to Monterey. This motel was very easy to find, and is in a perfect location. Across the road is the beach, and a short walk to Old Fisherman's Wharf..and across the other road is a park and boating lake.

We had the patio room with fireplace. The bed was very comfortable, and the room had a microwave, and large fridge, with 2 bottles of water....we also received a coupon for $2.00 off breakfast at the Grill, located on the property.

There is also a small enclosed pool and hot tub that is open from 9.00am-10pm each day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank battlescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was easy to make a reservation online. The room was clean, nice smelling, and in a safe area. The only complaint we had was that the free wifi didn't work for us. I tried both my laptop and my tablet.

Room Tip: Since it's near the airport, the only thing I can say is that at least they have an airport curf...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QueenGlenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on multiple occasions for business but this was first time with family. This spot is a tremendous value. We parked our car upon arrival and walked everywhere the rest of our stay. The also increased in value with the new ownership in the restaurant, Lakeside Grill, next door. Wish we could stay longer...we will now be back sooner...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pcsiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row, beach is right across the street and a lovely park and lake across the other road. Nicely appointed rooms with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tv, makeup mirror and toiletries. Comfy bed with extra blankets and pillows, outside patio seating over looking the lovely pool area with fountain and jacuzzi. Quiet (even though it's near the road) and the staff was gracious and helpful. Restaurant on property and discount coupons given at check in. Mini-mart next door for any forgotten items. Value, comfort and convenience...cant beat it for a VERY reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebelFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I originally found this place on TripAdvisor which got high ratings. My husband and I have come to stay here 3 times for little mini-vacations. It's not as pricey as the other places closer to Cannery Row. We love it here... It's right across the street from the park (lots of Canadian geese) and walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Walking across the street will get you to the beach. The rooms are nicely decorated with complimentary bottles of water, small fridge, and coffee maker. Depending on which room you get, some of them have a tub and/or a small back patio area. If you go to the front desk, you can purchase tickets to the aquarium etc.

You're also not too far from Point Lobos. If you are up for some exercise, you can also walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium from there. Nice place to stay and I've always found the staff to be super friendly and rooms very clean.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January 2013. The hotel is more like a motel and perfect if you arrive by car. Monterey is a good place to have a sleepover if you are planning on driving the Highway 1 from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We parked our car just outside our room. The room was not extraordinary, but just as good as you would expect for that price. The hotel supplied us with a complimentary bottle of water and the beds were comfortable. The internet was though very weak, but will definitely recommend this hotel! I can add that hotel had pool facilities and the beach was just a hundred meters away

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $105 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing