We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start of a Vacation Trip”
Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Milpitas, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Start of a Vacation Trip”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

It was easy to make a reservation online. The room was clean, nice smelling, and in a safe area. The only complaint we had was that the free wifi didn't work for us. I tried both my laptop and my tablet.

Room Tip: Since it's near the airport, the only thing I can say is that at least they have an airport curf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QueenGlenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    231
    87
    30
    19
See reviews for
121
198
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here on multiple occasions for business but this was first time with family. This spot is a tremendous value. We parked our car upon arrival and walked everywhere the rest of our stay. The also increased in value with the new ownership in the restaurant, Lakeside Grill, next door. Wish we could stay longer...we will now be back sooner...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pcsiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Close to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row, beach is right across the street and a lovely park and lake across the other road. Nicely appointed rooms with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tv, makeup mirror and toiletries. Comfy bed with extra blankets and pillows, outside patio seating over looking the lovely pool area with fountain and jacuzzi. Quiet (even though it's near the road) and the staff was gracious and helpful. Restaurant on property and discount coupons given at check in. Mini-mart next door for any forgotten items. Value, comfort and convenience...cant beat it for a VERY reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebelFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I originally found this place on TripAdvisor which got high ratings. My husband and I have come to stay here 3 times for little mini-vacations. It's not as pricey as the other places closer to Cannery Row. We love it here... It's right across the street from the park (lots of Canadian geese) and walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Walking across the street will get you to the beach. The rooms are nicely decorated with complimentary bottles of water, small fridge, and coffee maker. Depending on which room you get, some of them have a tub and/or a small back patio area. If you go to the front desk, you can purchase tickets to the aquarium etc.

You're also not too far from Point Lobos. If you are up for some exercise, you can also walk to the Monterey Bay Aquarium from there. Nice place to stay and I've always found the staff to be super friendly and rooms very clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed here for one night in January 2013. The hotel is more like a motel and perfect if you arrive by car. Monterey is a good place to have a sleepover if you are planning on driving the Highway 1 from San Francisco to Los Angeles. We parked our car just outside our room. The room was not extraordinary, but just as good as you would expect for that price. The hotel supplied us with a complimentary bottle of water and the beds were comfortable. The internet was though very weak, but will definitely recommend this hotel! I can add that hotel had pool facilities and the beach was just a hundred meters away

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Terrace, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've stayed here a few times and always find this a solid, serviceable motel at a great location. The property itself is pretty average, but the location and good price bring it up a notch into the "very good" category. Right across the street from a large lake perfect for strolling around. Also within walking distance of the beach and the "Commercial Wharf" where we found a good dinner restaurant. Management gave us a $2.00 coupon to use for breakfast at the adjoining restaurant. A decent alternative to providing a "continental" breakfast in the hotel office. Missed having a bathtub and the room was small, but clean. This is a perfect place to stay for a night or two in Monterey, maybe a little less perfect for a longer visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Very quaint. Loved the flowers, walking distance from everything we wanted to see. Nice little touches through out such as fridge, coffee maker, safe, wifi.Especiallt appreciate the details in the room. Nice sitting chair by the window, tiled bathroom, marble vanity, and soft sheets. I would recommend if you find a discount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soph129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
573 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing