We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Monterey Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Monterey Bay Lodge
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, value and service”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We popped up for a quick two day visit with our 2 and 4 yr old on way to SF. Grabbed a last minute reservation at an incredible price with Larry's help. Fridge, flat screen, free internet and parking, comfortable beds, tix to aquarium (good for two days) and a great balcony over the pool made this place ideal.

Also, just across street is the world's greatest play park for kids.

Room Tip: Upstairs with balcony over pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    226
    86
    29
    19
See reviews for
116
194
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed in a family room for 2 nights at the end of December. It was clean and comfortable and the children liked the bunk beds. There was a good size fridge and microwave in our room along with a TV in both our room and the children's room. The heated pool and spa looked good but we didn't use them. The only negative is that it is near a small airport and so we were woken up one night by the plane noise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pap1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We got a great rate staying here for 2 nights in June. Couldn't be beat. The location was a few blocks from the main hotel scene, I would say, but still a great location right across the street from the waterfront and about a 10 min walk to Fisherman's Wharf. The room was definitely rustic, definitely on the older side and very small, although there were 3 of us and we did like the separate bedroom with bunk beds (family suite). I would stay there again because of the value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rh-chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautifully maintained, comfortable, cable TV and complimentary WiFi, easy cab/car drive to Cannery Row and 10-15 minute walk to Fisherman's Wharves and their restaurants. Pet friendly. Very good pricing. Adjacent to good restaurant, discounted breakfasts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Not fancy but clean, efficient and updated. The location beside the lake and accross the road from the ocean was ideally placed, enabling us to take an easy seaside walk. The location was very convenient to highway 1 (Pacific Highway); and only a ten minute drive to Carmel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toots0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A nicely located lodge, slightly on the edge of town but still only 10 minutes walk from the action. The room was clean and comfortable, just a few steps short of charming. the bathroom had nice grey marble wall tiles and grey floor tiles but was painted a not very nice dirty yellow, painted sympathetically it could have been rather trendy. Same for the room itself a few tweaks and it would have looked Scandinavian chic. The room cleaners were excellent and replaced anything necessary. We are often disappointed in this detail but not here. We had a good room rate and despite some guests not getting that allowing the children to make lots of noise outside our door at 7.00 am is an act of horrible selfishness we had a great stay and found 2 restaurants (most definitely NOT) on fishermans wharf that were fabulous. So get a cheapest room here and splash out at 1833 and Montrio.

Room Tip: Pools overlooking the pool would be a good choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyChevrefeuille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A group of members from our Corvette Club stayed here over a long weekend and found it to be just what we needed. An affordable, clean, updated hotel, with adequate parking, and a great location. Don their manager was very accomadating in getting us set up with a group rate and providing us with plenty of information on the area. So if you are looking for a quite location that's a block from the Ocean and by a pretty lake in a park, then this is a great place to stay.
P.S. They serve a good breakfast in the ajoining restaurant

Room Tip: Upgrade to a King room with a fireplace and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vettman860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 55 in Monterey
508 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Bay Lodge

Property: Monterey Bay Lodge
Address: 55 Camino Aguajito, Monterey, CA 93940-3396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monterey Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The meticulously maintained Monterey Bay Lodge is located in a quiet, residential area across from Lake El Estero, only 150 steps from Monterey State Beach and within a 10 minute walk of Fisherman's Wharf and Downtown. We are constantly working to maintain our property and our level of service at a standard not typically found in today's lodging industry. Our focus is in giving our guests a consistently pleasurable lodging experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monterey Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Bay Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing