We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed September 4, 2006

I was a little sceptical at first after reading some of the reviews on this site. We had a room with a balcony, facing the golf course. It was very peaceful and quiet. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was great. The only drawback was the parking at night. If there were any functions going on, parking near your room was a problem. One night, even the overflow lot was full but the bellman agreed to park the car for us. The location was nice because it was right off the freeway and accessable to everything. The hotel is going to start renovations shortly but overall it was a nice hotel.

  • Liked — It was not a huge hi-rise hotel.
  • Disliked — The parking at night.
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room with a balcony facing the golf course.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Love2TravelFreqently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    1,154
    735
    315
    193
See reviews for
927
1,061
98
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mid-Peninsula, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2006

I have stayed here years ago and recently returned for one night using my Hyatt points. The room is just as bad as before if not worse (this is after I have confirmed with Hyatt reservation that the hotel was indeed "REMODELED"). WHAT A BIG JOKE THAT WAS! I agreed with the previous reviewer about the "Motel 6". The main lobby area and the golf course may be nice but the rooms are so bad that I didn't even feel clean after I showered. We were told that we were given the nicer and newer side of the room. Can you imagine the bad side? Turning my Hyatt points for this property was truly a BIG WASTE and MISTAKE. I would rather use the points overseas where Hyatt truly live up to its standarad.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank TReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We recently returned from a two night stay at the Hyatt. Our room was in a building about 2 minutes walk to the front desk/restaurant, facing the golf course.

Although they were busy, we were checked in quickly. There was a mistake with our reservation, which they corrected immediately and with no hassels. The service at all times was wonderful, the staff really want to help and this made the stay wonderful for us. We felt valued as guests.

The bed was wonderful. The rooms are a bit dated, but very comfortable.

Breakfast was delicious in the buffet. We actually loved the location, only a few minutes drive to the downtown, but it felt like we were in a wilderness retreat after our busy days of touring around.

  • Liked — Wonderful Customer Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room facing the golf course
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank VCRtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

I wouldn't have chosen this hotel, but my boyfriend did unknowingly - and paid the price. I was a little wary given the reviews, and I have to say I got what I expected. Upon checking into our room, I walked into the bathroom only to find it essentially, under construction. There were tools all over, and the bathtub consisted of concrete rubble. Somewhat comical. The front desk was rude when we kindly asked to switch rooms. Facilities are very old, the bed was comfy though. Other than that, nothing too impressive. For the price, I would stay somewhere else in Monterey, the location isn't that fun either.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mfb222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine Country
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2006

Husband and I stayed four nights - during Vintage Auto Historics - August 2006.
The Good:
1. Beds like heaven. Like home. The best.
2. Restaurant breakfast very good [only ate breakfast at hotel] $11.25 for 2 eggs, sausage, potatoes, toast. $3.95 pot of good coffee.
3. Staff very very friendly.

The Not So Good:
1. First night informed desk: room's sliding door lock broken. Shower doesn't drain. Bathroom basin doesn't drain. Door and bathroom never repaired. Shower fixed 3rd day.
2. Charged $10 daily for wi-fi internet use via tMobile - free at every other hotel we stayed.

BEWARE:
Road noise from Hwy 1 is very loud. Choose a room as close to the tennis/ dog walk/ golf course as possible. We were in the 1700 block and room was quiet.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sharonae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Overall not bad, but as has been said before the rooms need updating. The female concierge was also very unpersonable. Daily paper was not delivered as requested. Food in Knuckles was OK but the service was slow and the place was a mess. No one cleaning tables or sweeping the floor between diners. Definitely will stay at a different hotel on next visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank ta4181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIami.FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2006

This hotel is really a Motel 6 masquerading as a Hyatt Regency. The main building and grounds are lovely, but they are essentailly window dressing. The room we stayed in was uncharacteristically shoddy by Hyatt standards. It was uncomfortable and stuffy (no a.c.), and the sliding glass door (no windows) opened onto a busy parking lot. The walls were paper thin--we heard every conversation and footstep and shared joke and farewell of our neighbors and other hotel guests throughout the night and into the wee morning hours. If you are not a very heavy sleeper and if you value peace and quiet, this is definitely not the place for you. We stayed here for free on Hyatt's points program, but even then it was not worth it. Hyatt should be embarassed by this property.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — The room
  • Tips/Secrets — Unless Hyatt is wiling to upgrade the rooms at this property in a major overhaul, stay away.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Newbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing