We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Wine In Old Bottles”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“New Wine In Old Bottles”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

The Hyatt Regency Monterey just finished a multi-million-dollar remodeling. The hotel is a complex of several three-story rectangular blocks spread out over a wide area, encompassing the Del Monte golf course. It was showing its age before the makeover; not many hotel-resorts occupy such a wide footprint these days. The Hyatt management did its best -- but there's only so much you can do with 1960s-style architecture.

However, the wide footprint is the beauty of this property. There's so much room to move around and lots of paths to walk on.

The farthest rooms are actually a pretty walk to the front desk. It's a much more pleasant walk since covered, Muzak-filled open walkways were installed in the remodel. The opaque plastic roofs allow for light and protect from the rain / mist but get dirty fast.

The rooms: My room was a second-floor standard room in a building adjacent to the registration / restaurant building. It offered a glass slider opening onto a balcony overlooking the 17th green. It contained a comfortable king bed with a backlit headboard. The furniture was mostly modern, the television a big plasma flat-panel. But the most noticeable things about the room were: 1) there were only two storage drawers in the big credenza that held the TV and hid the refrigerator and in-room safe, and 2) the ventilation in the room consisted of one overhead over-sized ceiling fan. These would be issues if you were there for a long-term stay (the former) and / or if the outside temperature exceeded 75 degrees (the latter). The former didn't bother me. Since Monterey was experiencing very *un*-Monterey temps nearing the 80s, I had the fan running 24 hours a day. The rooms can become really warm on a sunny day.

A couple of other issues: the housekeeping staff does a decent job of cleaning the rooms at eye-level. But a simple feather duster could have eliminated the almost-gritty dust that covered the air vent in the bathroom. And there were no phone books in the room. Or the standard-issue Bible. A front desk staffer (and the desk staff was extremely helpful throughout my stay) said the hotel had entered into a contract with T-Mobile for all phone / Internet services and removed all phone books and Bibles. I assume I'm supposed to call them for directory assistance...but what is a somewhat-religious person supposed to get from calling T-Mobile?

The nicely-appointed bathroom is accessible through a wood-framed sliding glass door. Lots of counter space and a walk-in shower. Since the shower's glass panel only extends halfway across the stall, extreme splashing will make for a slippery exit.

TusCA Ristorante is the all-purpose hotel restaurant. The cuisine goes beyond Italian; it offers a full breakfast menu. I recommend the Monterey-style eggs benedict, featuring a liberal helping of a local specialty -- Central California's famed artichoke hearts. During times of the day when the restaurant is not serving, you can order brick oven-fired pizzas and other yummy fare in the cozy Fireplace Bar across from the reception desk. There's a concierge desk nearby with a binder filled with menus from other eating establishments in the Monterey-Carmel area.

The hotel offers a complete conference center, as well as a Regency Club level building. The Club lounge offers its members a full, free continental breakfast as well as munchies during the day, a decent supply of newspapers and free Internet terminals. But there was no bar service at the time I was there (the Club staffer, I was told, was underage and unable to serve alcohol) as in other Regency Club lounges.

The biggest addition to the property is a full resort spa, with couples massage services and a full beauty / spa package. The serviceable fitness center contained half a dozen treadmills, barbells and other fitness equipment, and is located in another building.

Families will benefit from Hyatt's "Camp Hyatt" weekends. The Camp Hyatt facility here is across from the Regency Club lounge and is sparsely but nicely equipped to handle pre-teens.

The golf course offers competitive rates but is not operated by the Hyatt; the Pebble Beach Company owns and operates that course.

Nightlife: the Hyatt is off the beaten path, and is in the shadows of the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School across the street. It gets its fair share of students from the armed forces from around the world. Aside from the Fireplace Bar and the usual Hyatt Knuckles Sports Bar, there's not a lot to do on the property unless you have a vehicle. It is a long walk to downtown Monterey and Cannery Row. The Hyatt does keep an Escalade available for shuttle runs to Cannery Row and Carmel.

All in all, it's a cut above the standard Monterey property. Think of it as the poor man's Pebble Beach -- a nice golf / spa resort without the Pebble Beach hoi polloi.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyberchomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    1,138
    725
    313
    191
See reviews for
912
1,045
97
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
So. Ca.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I love this hotel. It's so beautiful. The room was newly updated (enjoyed the sleek, modern touches including the flat screen tv and bathroom fixtures). The golf course view was fantastic. TusCA Ristorante was so good that I ate there 2 out of the 3 nights I was there. The service couldn't be better (from the welcoming front desk to the helpful wait staff). Look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eatlaughtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliofornia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The staff always professional . What a beautiful location , close to the best dinning in California, world famous golf coures and shopping.
What surprised me is the condition of the rooms. The carpets were filthy to the point you did not want to walk on it. The in room coffee had no sugar, cream ect. and when I asked for it someone came to the room and said I would have to go to the restaurant and get it. On our travel the weather was 75 to 80 degrees and guess what, Del Monte Hyatt has no air conditioning in the rooms, I was told by the front desk to open a slider door as I was on the first floor. Not what I expected, not again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I brought my family which consisted of a 1-1/2 year old girl and a 4-1/2 year boy to Monterey to get away for a few days. I shopped around on-line to look for the best hotel for the best price near the aquarium and after extensive searching, I found the Hyatt. I got a good rate online (gov't price $110 a night) which was almost half of there regular cost. They didn't even check for ID at check in.

I read a lot of the reviews stating there was no air-conditioning (A/C) in the room but thought to myself, "How bad can it be? We are in Monterey."

Well, I found out the hard way why so many complained about not having A/C. The room was muggy and it was humid. It was very uncomfortable sleeping through the night with the temperature changes....hot, cold, hot, cold. There is a sign posted where the A/C control would have been stating to "OPEN" your window if you are hot. WTF?!?!

The room was contained in a three story building. Rooms on the first floor had a sliding glass door leading onto the golf course. What happens if you are hot in a first floor room, well the signs tells you to open the sliding glass door so the boogy man can rape you during the night.

Anyways, getting off topic. The hotel itself was nice. Clean room, friendly service, and the restaurant "Knuckles" was on-site. Got to eat some chicken wings and watch the football game and drink beer. SWEET!!

I would probably not stay here again only because the room did not have A/C. I like to be comfortable and sleep at night when I am on vacation.

BTW, my wife said the massage she received was nice.

I would recommend this hotel to a friend with the disclaimer that there is no A/C. The location was only a 5 min. drive to the aquarium, which was nice.

Speaking of the aquarium, buy your tickets from AAA ahead of time to get the discounted rate. They will not give you the discount at the aquarium.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acegirl1
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This place is way over priced and the service is HORRIBLE. First of all they never answer the phone. And when they do, they are downright unhelpful. Almost annoyed to have to answer a question. The rooms have recently been renovated but clearly every expense WAS spared. We were on the 4th floor and every time a door closed on the 1st floor our entire wall shook. We thought the tv was going to fall. Plus they have the nerve to charge you an additional $16.50 as a resort fee. There is no resort. Why they don't just bake this into the price of room, I don't know. Rooms were hot and stuffy. For $200, simply not worth it. Plus very out of the way - in walking distance to NOTHING. Housekeeping ignored the do not disturb sign in our occupied room and tried to enter at 8 AM on a Sunday. So much for sleeping in on our vacation. Much,much better choices for the money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

oklahoma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2009

We loved this hotel, it was clean, nice, and very comfortable. I am kind of a hotel snob and this place definitely exceeded my expectations. The bathroom was great too! It's about 5 minutes away from Cannery Row and is easy to get to/from places. We loved it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dest3405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n. ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

after having my bid accepted on priceline then coming to read the reviews here about this hotel i was horrified.i dint want to be in a one star hotel...could have done that closer to town. as it turned out , we were very happy. the room looked like the potos on the website (everything was clean, no mold on the bathroom grout, tv worked, we were close to the pool and even had starbucks coffee for the morning-- in the room!! ). we did not have a "view" but did have a patio. the no AC didnt bother us as it was pretty cool that day. loved the really heated pool and the whirlpool. there were no towels as it was about 730pm, but a Hyatt employee walked by and we asked him about it...he said no problem and got someone to bring out towels right away...i was impressed as he obvioulsy was not the pool guy and it was pretty late. liked the live jazz in the lounge. the only things i didnt like about this hotel was #1. it is too far to walk to town. you must drive. and #2. the restaurant/lounge (not the sports bar) food was average (honestly it is what i would expect from a hotel restaurant, but was hoping that i would be wrong this time). when there are soooooo many fantastic places to eat in this area it was disappointing to find that the TusCA was just not part of the gastronomic parade. i would just go to the sports bar for a buger if you HAVE to eat here. other than that i was very pleased staying here. PS. i gave the location a 4 because for me i wanted to be closer to town...BUT... it is an easy drive to all the sights you would want to see in this area!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redondored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing