We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My family planned a week long adventure up the coast and this hotel ended up being a last minute decision during our trip. We were given room #2032 that had a huge wrap around balcony. We were able to store our bikes in the room and ride each day to the Monterey Bay bike trail just down the street. We also took a taxi to town both nights and it cost us $12 each way. Overall a nice hotel that was an EXCELLENT value. It is true that the hotel doesn't have A/C, but we simply slept with the doors open and fan on each night.

Room Tip: Choose room 2032 if you can!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    946
    640
    269
    179
See reviews for
763
891
85
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

What a dump!!! Might as well be a motel. NO AIR CONDITIONING and the room was 90 degrees when we checked in. Hotel staff was not apologetic at all about the issue. The "motel" is a collection of small buildings with outside corridors and the noise from the highway is extremely loud. As a Hyatt residence club member, I am highly embarrassed to have this part of Hyatt properties. Be warned! We will NEVER stay here again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rimma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was the second stop on our road trip, we spent 2 nights here. The rooms were modern and well equipped. The resort had good facilities, golf, table tennis, swimming pool etc. we had a large room with a balcony and well equipped bathroom. There is a chargeable resort fee but it was not overly expensive, we took a cab into the local night life area of Cannery row it cost about 15 dollars. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the concierge knew her stuff and was great with tips and advice. We loved this area and will go back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a conference for 3 nights. Hotel looks nice on outside, but it has been around for some time, so you can tell some wear. My room was in good shape, but as I walked in there was some funky smell. Since I was traveling alone I did not make a big deal about it. Instead of using a central A/C unit, they had a portable unit in my room that plugged into a hole in the wall. I think this may have been where the smell came from, since the next day when I turned it off, the smell went away somewhat. Not completely, but a little.

Conference center was nice, and from what I could tell handled everything nicely.

Went to the sports bar first night and had dinner. My plane did not arrive until late, so it was nice to still get food at 9:30 pm. Lots of tv's, so looks like they have a good place to watch football.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JimandAnessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear JimandAnessa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback online. I'm happy to hear that your found our property to be pleasant. I apologize for the smell and have notified the proper departments to address the situation. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Check in was quick and easy, the receptionist was pleasant and helpful. Parking is free. I'd read a few negative reviews about this hotel on TA but thankfully our experience was a good one. We were allocated Building 11 which was a bit of trek but nice and quiet. The bar staff were friendly and efficient. We stayed for two nights and the sink in the bathroom became blocked on the first morning - I mentioned this to reception and it was fixed quickly and without any dramas. The hotel breakfast was excellent, you're really spoiled for choice, there is a chef who will even cook your omelette of choice in front of you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have been coming to this hotel for quite some time (when I used to live in Yosemite NP and felt the need to escape for the weekend) but the hotel now feels "tired" (in some cases i.e. rugs...dirty) and is in real need of an upgrading. That said, there were a few standouts with staff...the hostess in the dining room during the evening (we had our grandchildren, one with crutches...and that person was simply wonderful). Also, the next day in the dining room the manager was quite helpful. But, we requested extra towels and a blanket...waited for quite some time & finally went to bed (after an hour) when they did not show up. They never showed up. The room we stayed in was quite close to 1, therefore we experienced freeway noise (first time we had been in that location).

Room Tip: Ensure you are not near highway 1 or on a lower floor....lots of noise from the upstairs occupants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear qsmamo,

I appreciate you taking the time to give provide feedback regarding your stay. I'm disheartened that your room and its service was not up to your expectations. The proper departments have been notified and the situation rectified. I'm happy to hear that you received great service in our dining room and that your family was well taking care of. I hope that in the future you give us the pleasure to serve you and your family again.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanwern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

On our trip from LA to San Francisco, we stopped here overnight to break the trip & explore Monterey. We arrived around tea time & had an easy check in. After checking in we headed to our room. What a lovely room. It was spacious, modern and very clean. It had a lovely king size bed, plus the usual items included in the room. The bathroom was big enough for us both and very modern, we were very pleased with the room here.

Parking is free and there are plenty of spaces. The hotel does have a few pools dotted around, which looked clean and friendly, although we didn't have time to enjoy the pool or gold course.

One tip to be aware of, the hotel charges $22 per night you stay for wifi and cleaning of the room- they have a card in the room which details this. We were a little taken aback by this, as usually this is nudes in the price of your room!

A nice stay, would stop here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MacyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing