We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Large Facility”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Staff was friendly and accommodating. The room was large and comfortable, but it was a small "hike" to the main building. There is a $20 resort fee tacked on to each room per night to cover wifi, parking, etc. Still can't understand why hotels charge for wifi service!
Had a late dinner at their restaurant. Meal was good. Decided to have the continental breakfast the next morning. The waiter tried to talk us into the full buffet. He was not very attentive to us after that. I had to ask three times for a cup of tea, and my wife and friends never got their coffee refills. Also, one of my friends has food allergies so the buffet choices were very limited.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nsl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    1,152
    734
    314
    193
See reviews for
926
1,061
98
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Quick and efficient check-in. Rooms of good size and clean. Beds comfortable. Breakfast buffet adequate. Biggest hotel on the Monterey Peninsula and attracts lots of families. Valet parking is supplied to all without extra charge. Public spaces were seldom overwhelmed. A floor mounted accessory air-conditioner was a surprise. Safes are fixed and up from the floor.

Room Tip: There is constant noise from the freeway at the north front of the hotel. Both day and night. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This is a place where the left hand doesn't know what the right one is doing. Check in was efficient and pleasant. We were told we were entitled to a paper as we were "gold" members. Paper only delivered one day out of three. We were told the restaurant was open and reservations were not needed (Christmas Eve). Unfortunately, the main restaurant is not open on Mondays and Tuesdays so our only choice was eating in the Sports Bar with many TV's or in the lounge.

There were five of us--my husband, daughter, son-in-law and 18 month old grandchild. We ate in the lounge and the food was miserable although the service was very good. My potatoes were unflavored, hard slices and the chicken tasted unpleasantly of a strong grilled flavor however the veggie was exceptionally good. Overall, none of the five of us liked our meal.

Our room was large which was very nice as we'd brought a small Christmas tree and presents. The layout with a desk, frig, coffee service, and safe was excellent. There was a balcony overlooking a parking lot. The bed felt tired but the pillows were great and there were loads of them. I finally laid three pillows side by side down the length of the bed and slept on them and was much more comfortable.

There were two small drawers for clothing plus a drawer in each of the night stands. The closet was a reasonable size. The bathroom had excellent storage. The main part of the bathroom door was frosted glass. The door did not close completely--it was a sliding door--which was embarrassing when my husband let the bellman in with our bags and I was using the facilities.

The bathroom was a step in shower--great for adults and older kids but not suitable for infants and toddlers who need a bathtub.

We had an adjoining room with my daughter and her family. We ordered room service for breakfast and that was the last meal we ate at the resort. If you stick with oatmeal, bagels, and coffee, you'll be okay. Anything else, you probably won't want to eat. We never ate in the main restaurant so the food might be good there. It is an unknown.

What's great about this place? Making reservations and receiving confirmation was a breeze. It is a great place for children as you are off in the hills and it is safe to run around. The pools were in use in December. There was a large outdoor fireplace blazing away at night and chairs encircling it. Plus the back of the resort was a golf course so there was a lot of open green space to enjoy.

In conclusion, It is interesting reading BertBantham's review--we paid $125 AAA rate not the $107 he listed. I would not have thought much of this except I learned it was the same amount our daughter paid and she stayed the same time that we did. Also, the $22 resort fee Mr. Bantham quoted supposedly included breakfast. If it did, we were not told about it.

Room Tip: An end room on a top floor would probably be a good idea. Although the place is pretty quiet, we co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
154 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Didn't think I would be back again but could't pass up the AAA breakfast deal and temperatures in the '70s in December!

My previous review (if interested, you can look for it on my profile page) covered most of the details so I won't go into it again except to say that it's your standard Hyatt amenities, kid and pet friendly and a nice place to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Cannery Row.

Several additional thoughts:

1) Loved the sports bar. Had ALL the games which is important for out-of-town visitors. Wanted to watch the Dallas Mavericks game on Monday night when SF 49ers were playing? Good luck at any other bar. But at Knuckles, they had access to all NBA games and had a personal TV at our booth to watch. The $4 Canvas wine for happy hour was a great deal and went well with the free pop-corn and peanuts.

2) Didn't like the new sliding bathroom doors because they don't block light. So if someone goes to the bathroom in the middle of the night, it lights up the room.

3) Instead of coupons for the free breakfast like in the past, you just charge breakfast to your room and the charges automatically are removed. No need to show any coupons or anything. And the charges didn't even show up so it was very smooth. The breakfast buffet includes made-to-order omelettes, and the oatmeal had a large choice of toppings: Different nuts, dried fruit, and delicious home-made fruit compote. A cut above your standard business hotel breakfast buffet. I did miss the free mini-smoothie they used to give out at Hyatts.

4) GP Platinum members get a break on the resort fee -- 50% off. The resort fee includes free wine tasting at the store in the lobby. But I think the $4/gass Canvas wine (from Mondavi) during Happy Hour (4-6pm) is also a great deal.

5) WSJ seems to be the standard newspaper here for guests of the hotel.

All-in-all, another pleasant stay at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the freeway. Hotel is spread out so if you want to be close the fitness cente...
See more room tips
Green Features: Liked the recycling bin in the rooms. And loved the fruit compote.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTippet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the location, staff was very nice but beware of te guy by the door offering hotel deals on other resorts. He became a Thorne in our side. The walk to our room was far and it was difficult to get there w the luggage but we got a bellboy as we were leaving. Generally, it was nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esteria13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
155 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

How do you rank/review a Hyatt Regency?

It is cheap (AAA rate @ USD 107 plus USD 22 resort fee covering parking, breakfast and WiFi), the rooms are decent but you are crammed in with the herd.

Starting with the good stuff:
a. The rooms are large and well equipped.
b. The bed, pillows and linens are good - you will get a good nights sleep
c. The location is quiet (avoid a room facing highway 1)
d. The staff are well trained and as helpful as they can be when dealing with so many guests.
e. The gym is well equipped with some good equipment.

The disappointing stuff:
a. The breakfast is basic (egg, bacon, potatoes, sausage, French toast, yoghurt, omelette, toast, cereals, 3 juices and some round soft cheese - a very narrow selection but the quality is ok). The usual price is USD 21 which seems a lot for a little!
b. The bedroom doors are paper thin and let in lots of corridor noise - although the corridors are carpeted and the rooms have a wall divider which cuts some of the noise.

All in all, if you are paying USD 107 + the USD 22 resort fee the hotel is good for the money and I would stay again - just don't expect the full luxury experience.

Room Tip: It is a big resort so try and get a room close to the reception building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertBantham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice resort on a golf course. Great lobby and restaurants. However, hotel rooms are old and it is not a family friendly hotel. I requested baby cribs in my room two weeks earlier and confirmed with them a few days before arrival. When we got into the hotel, no cribs in room. Called the front desk and the front office person said he is going to put a request in the system. Later I walked to the front desk and asked. The guy was very rude saying he already put a request in the system and he doesn't personally deliver the cribs. It was almost 11pm... Another gentleman at the front desk saw us and said he will bring one over. We wait for 10 min in room and he did bring one in but this time, without sheet and blanket... We'll, I think staff in this hotel needs more training...

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JFTWNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear JFTWNJ,

I want to thank you for providing comments concerning your recent stay. It is only through feedback like yours that we can continue to improve our operation and customer service. I want to apologize for the missteps in service you experienced and have spoken with our Front Office and Housekeeping teams to ensure this does not reoccur. I understand that one of our Front Office Managers has been in touch with you, but please feel free to contact me at 831-657-6502 should you need further assistance. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing