We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but select your rooms wisely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here over a weekend as we needed to be in Pebble Beach. The hotel is right off the highway, so easy to get to and from. It's a bit far from downtown Monterey, PB or Carmel. There are 1-26 buildings on the property.

Pros: The tennis courts are nice and the golf course is right behind the hotel and also nice. The staff were attentive and friendly, on par with Hyatt. the lobby is open and airy. The rooms are large (we had two full sized beds). The shower is large, too, but there was an old razor protector in the shower and a clear piece of soap plastic that didn't get picked up from house keeping.

Cons: the highway noise is pretty loud, especially if you are in the upper 20's buildings, as they are right next to the highway. We were in building 17/18 and out balcony faced the tennis courts. Our room was quiet for highway noise, but the walls are VERY thin. We could hear both our neighbors laughing and talking and they weren't being overly loud. Be careful if you are on the first floor.

Oddities: the bathroom was very odd. The sink and closet area aren't enclosed, so if you turn on the light, your roommates/family will be disturbed. Also, the sit down area is really nice for putting on your makeup, unfortunately the mirror doesn't come down far enough so you only see half your face. Would be helpful to have a free standing mirror for getting ready. Make and hair drying, etc.

The rooms were fully booked, so the prices were high accordingly. The air conditioner is free standing and loud, but works great. I would stay here again, but only if I couldn't find other places that might be closer to things I were interested in.

Room Tip: Low building numbers are further away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear CJM123,

Thanks for your thoughtful comments on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your kind works concerning our associates and I am pleased you were able to enjoy the tennis courts and golf course. During your next stay here on property, please feel free to contact the front desk and they can have a makeup mirror sent to your room for your convenience. I hope we see you again soon!

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,273 - 2,279 of 3,707 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed for one night on our recent trip to California and was pleasantly surprised at how nice this place was.
Rooms all appear to be dark and grim chalet blocks but internally they are very nice with huge beds.
The hotel is very large and it was a good 5 minute walk to reception up the car park hill.
Try to get a room close to reception it will save your legs.
Restaurant very good and good sports bar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am a stroke survivor who must use a shower bench to shower and like most ADA rooms it had a roll in shower and the curtain stopped about 12 inches from the floor and this results in water leaking onto the floor making it hazardous to get out of the shower. The first morning we explained this problem to the housekeeper and she arranged to use additional hooks to lower the shower so the problem was solved. We were very appreciative of this superb service.Other staff were equally helpful as i was attending a scientific conference at the hotel and it is very accessible and they helped open doors when needed..

Room Tip: Beautiful location and very nice rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear William B,

Thank you for commenting about your recent visit on TripAdvisor. I have tracked down the housekeeper who worked with you and passed along your nice compliments. We are very proud of her dedication to customer service and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Please visit us again whenever your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

overall it was a nice place to stay just 10 mins from luguna seca raceway , the only downside was either the aircon or the pool pump was abit noisey , also alittle pricey in the bar and restaurant, the room was clean but the hallways alittle dull, and the sports bar was not as big as we thought it would be by the pictures we had seen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights as part of a group tour to the Monterey Jazz Festival and found it to be a perfect site for this event. Many of the artists stayed here and the late night jamming sessions stand out as one of the best aspects of our stay. We appreciated the very fast check in for such a large group . The hotel has numerous food options and runs shuttles to Fisherman's Wharf and then a short walk to Cannery Row for many other dining choices. The distance from the Fairgrounds is walkable . Our room was huge and well equipped . The hotel is spread out over a large area so it can be quite a distance to the lobby area. If we were attending the Jazz Festival again this is certainly where we would stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niagaranomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have only been here a few hours but that was enough time to get a really bad first impression. Imagine trying to go to sleep with the smell of sewage oozing from the bathroom. Not sure how they can sell such insanitary accommodations. We called to complain and were immediately offered another room, which made me think that they were not surprised by the complaint. At first we were offered a room downgrade, then they called back to say they had found another similar room. Dan at the front desk said he was sending the new room keys and help with our luggage. A guy in a security guard outfit showed up with keys and offered no help with our luggage! Horrible customer service so far! It's midnight now, let's see how they manage to make up for this tomorrow...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear David H,

I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention and to personally apologize for the first impression you received in your room. I know you spoke with our Front Office and Housekeeping Managers the next morning and they resolved the situation to your satisfaction. I look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for a business conference. The carpeted hallways leading to the rooms are drab and worn. The door in our room had a chip out of the wood. The carpet dreary as well as the drapes. We stayed three days and after the initial shock things weren't all that bad. Crisp white sheets and comforter covered our bed. The bathroom had a large shower and sink. Service was outstanding in all aspects of the hotel especially in the bars and restaurant. Food was tasty. There is a large pool on the grounds. I had a an 80 minute facial at the spa that was good. The hotel is not centrally located and the route to town is not walkable but easy by car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Anita S,

Thank you for taking a moment to post online about your recent stay. I’m so pleased to hear that “service was outstanding in all aspects of the hotel”! Customer service is our number one priority and I look forward to sharing your kind words with our staff, especially our restaurant teams. Thank you for noting the chip in the door and other items for our immediate follow up. Please come visit again.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $174 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing