We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights as part of a group tour to the Monterey Jazz Festival and found it to be a perfect site for this event. Many of the artists stayed here and the late night jamming sessions stand out as one of the best aspects of our stay. We appreciated the very fast check in for such a large group . The hotel has numerous food options and runs shuttles to Fisherman's Wharf and then a short walk to Cannery Row for many other dining choices. The distance from the Fairgrounds is walkable . Our room was huge and well equipped . The hotel is spread out over a large area so it can be quite a distance to the lobby area. If we were attending the Jazz Festival again this is certainly where we would stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niagaranomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,245 - 2,251 of 3,670 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have only been here a few hours but that was enough time to get a really bad first impression. Imagine trying to go to sleep with the smell of sewage oozing from the bathroom. Not sure how they can sell such insanitary accommodations. We called to complain and were immediately offered another room, which made me think that they were not surprised by the complaint. At first we were offered a room downgrade, then they called back to say they had found another similar room. Dan at the front desk said he was sending the new room keys and help with our luggage. A guy in a security guard outfit showed up with keys and offered no help with our luggage! Horrible customer service so far! It's midnight now, let's see how they manage to make up for this tomorrow...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear David H,

I would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention and to personally apologize for the first impression you received in your room. I know you spoke with our Front Office and Housekeeping Managers the next morning and they resolved the situation to your satisfaction. I look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you back to the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for a business conference. The carpeted hallways leading to the rooms are drab and worn. The door in our room had a chip out of the wood. The carpet dreary as well as the drapes. We stayed three days and after the initial shock things weren't all that bad. Crisp white sheets and comforter covered our bed. The bathroom had a large shower and sink. Service was outstanding in all aspects of the hotel especially in the bars and restaurant. Food was tasty. There is a large pool on the grounds. I had a an 80 minute facial at the spa that was good. The hotel is not centrally located and the route to town is not walkable but easy by car.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Anita S,

Thank you for taking a moment to post online about your recent stay. I’m so pleased to hear that “service was outstanding in all aspects of the hotel”! Customer service is our number one priority and I look forward to sharing your kind words with our staff, especially our restaurant teams. Thank you for noting the chip in the door and other items for our immediate follow up. Please come visit again.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful landscaping made the grounds more like a walk in a beautiful park than the grounds of a hotel. The service was great, and was in line with the cost of the hotel (not cheap). This was a nice place for a symposium like the one I attended there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkieRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear OkieRazorback,

Thank you for your kind review! Our Landscaping Team works very hard to keep our 22 acres looking beautiful and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed walking through the property! I hope we see you back soon.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My first impression of this hotel was not overwhelming positive. It looked a bit dated and dingy in the lobby and the housekeeping staff left a couple of dark hairs on the floor in the bathroom from a previous guest. However, the bedding and shower were nice.

The longer I was there, the more I liked it. The spa is new and I had a great experience there. The food was better than I expected and the service outstanding. Although I am not a golfer, I enjoyed being right on the course.

It appears that several weddings are hosted there and it could be loud/busy on some nights due to people just being happy -- no crime in my book if the noise levels are respectable.

Cosmetically it could use some updating, but overall was a good stay.

Room Tip: away from the Hwy 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WilliamTheSilent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear WilliamTheSilent,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent trip. I appreciate your kind words of our spa, restaurants and mostly, the service our associates provided. We have many guests who are non-golfers, like yourself, who love the setting of our hotel right on the golf course, and I am happy you enjoyed the view as well. I hope we see you again soon.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As with no doubt other West Coast travellers we chose this hotel as it's title did give it an air of refinement. It is a great place to stay, yes it has it's corporate guests, it is on it's own golf course! It is easy to find and Monterey is straight down the road. We stayed two nights which gave us the chance to do the 17 mile drive and visit Carmel which meant we went a couple of hundred yards to the Highway slip road to be on our way when ready to move on. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable, bathroom excellent. Staff were helpful. There is a sports bar and restaurant on site which were very good, the breakfasts were also of good standard fare. No issues so yes a good choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JK_JKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear JK_JKM,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Monterey. It seems like we didn't disappoint! It’s so nice to hear how enjoyable your stay was and I hope that we are able to host you again soon for a longer duration.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, and all I can say is it was average and not worth the money. We stayed in a Hyatt Regency in Florida and that was excellent, so we thought this one would be too. I can't say that about this hotel. They really only cater for golf trips.
The hotel is massive and has a number of hotels buildings with 3 floors in each. The room was noisy, and we struggled to park. We were a long way from reception (1000+ metres) so if you struggle to walk then this hotel isn't for you!! Disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sazmcdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear sazmcdaz,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment online about your recent visit. It is disheartening to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. While many enjoy the unique quality of the hotel’s amenities being spread out over 22 acres rather than consolidated in your typical vertical high-rise, we understand it is not for everyone. I hope we still have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,341 reviews
1.7 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $158 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing