We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pasadena, California, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here for a business conference. The carpeted hallways leading to the rooms are drab and worn. The door in our room had a chip out of the wood. The carpet dreary as well as the drapes. We stayed three days and after the initial shock things weren't all that bad. Crisp white sheets and comforter covered our bed. The bathroom had a large shower and sink. Service was outstanding in all aspects of the hotel especially in the bars and restaurant. Food was tasty. There is a large pool on the grounds. I had a an 80 minute facial at the spa that was good. The hotel is not centrally located and the route to town is not walkable but easy by car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaS353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Anita S,

Thank you for taking a moment to post online about your recent stay. I’m so pleased to hear that “service was outstanding in all aspects of the hotel”! Customer service is our number one priority and I look forward to sharing your kind words with our staff, especially our restaurant teams. Thank you for noting the chip in the door and other items for our immediate follow up. Please come visit again.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    729
    947
    640
    269
    179
See reviews for
764
893
85
504
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful landscaping made the grounds more like a walk in a beautiful park than the grounds of a hotel. The service was great, and was in line with the cost of the hotel (not cheap). This was a nice place for a symposium like the one I attended there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OkieRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear OkieRazorback,

Thank you for your kind review! Our Landscaping Team works very hard to keep our 22 acres looking beautiful and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed walking through the property! I hope we see you back soon.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

My first impression of this hotel was not overwhelming positive. It looked a bit dated and dingy in the lobby and the housekeeping staff left a couple of dark hairs on the floor in the bathroom from a previous guest. However, the bedding and shower were nice.

The longer I was there, the more I liked it. The spa is new and I had a great experience there. The food was better than I expected and the service outstanding. Although I am not a golfer, I enjoyed being right on the course.

It appears that several weddings are hosted there and it could be loud/busy on some nights due to people just being happy -- no crime in my book if the noise levels are respectable.

Cosmetically it could use some updating, but overall was a good stay.

Room Tip: away from the Hwy 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WilliamTheSilent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear WilliamTheSilent,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent trip. I appreciate your kind words of our spa, restaurants and mostly, the service our associates provided. We have many guests who are non-golfers, like yourself, who love the setting of our hotel right on the golf course, and I am happy you enjoyed the view as well. I hope we see you again soon.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

As with no doubt other West Coast travellers we chose this hotel as it's title did give it an air of refinement. It is a great place to stay, yes it has it's corporate guests, it is on it's own golf course! It is easy to find and Monterey is straight down the road. We stayed two nights which gave us the chance to do the 17 mile drive and visit Carmel which meant we went a couple of hundred yards to the Highway slip road to be on our way when ready to move on. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable, bathroom excellent. Staff were helpful. There is a sports bar and restaurant on site which were very good, the breakfasts were also of good standard fare. No issues so yes a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK_JKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear JK_JKM,

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Monterey. It seems like we didn't disappoint! It’s so nice to hear how enjoyable your stay was and I hope that we are able to host you again soon for a longer duration.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights, and all I can say is it was average and not worth the money. We stayed in a Hyatt Regency in Florida and that was excellent, so we thought this one would be too. I can't say that about this hotel. They really only cater for golf trips.
The hotel is massive and has a number of hotels buildings with 3 floors in each. The room was noisy, and we struggled to park. We were a long way from reception (1000+ metres) so if you struggle to walk then this hotel isn't for you!! Disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sazmcdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear sazmcdaz,

Thank you for taking a moment to comment online about your recent visit. It is disheartening to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. While many enjoy the unique quality of the hotel’s amenities being spread out over 22 acres rather than consolidated in your typical vertical high-rise, we understand it is not for everyone. I hope we still have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We got a really good deal on Hotwire (unseen), and ended up here for 1 night on our way up from Big Sur to the winelands. It's a big, sprawling business/golf hotel located on the outskirts of the city. Our room was ok - large and well equipped, clean, and with a view of the golf course which was pretty in the morning sunlight. Parking was non-valet (which we Brits like!), and appeared free although I'm sure it was included in the (rather unwelcome) 'resort fee', which came as a bit of a surprise at check-out.
However - the rooms are reached by various outside entrances (arranged in blocks rather like a motel), and someone tried our door a few times during the night. Possibly it was someone who was lost and had got the wrong room, but for reasons of security I suggest you lock your door from the inside, as we had.
We drove to Carmel for dinner (which we would highly recommend!) and then had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar, which we thought were way-overpriced, even for a hotel bar. In the morning we just had a coffee and bagel from the Starbucks desk at the bar, and sat outside in the sunshine on the side of the golf course which was really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ni_traveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear ni_traveller74,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your golf course view guestroom; these are some of our most popular spots on property. I hope we are able to welcome you again the next time your travels bring you to the area and you are able to try our TusCA Ristorante or Knuckles Sports Bar, although I agree with you – Carmel shouldn't be missed!

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way down to San Simeon. We got what I thought was a great deal on Travelocity. Hyatt Regency's are usually very nice hotels, so we were expecting something above average. Unfortunately, this hotel is barely average, maybe even below. If there was a 2.5, that's what I would rate it.
The hotel is very dated. Looks like something built in the 1970s. We were in building 11, but had to take the elevator to the 3rd floor that is between building 9 and 10 and then walk through building 10 to building 11. No way out of building 11; no stairs, no elevator. Very strange layout.
We had a view of the parking lot, across from their convention center. Noisy bus arrived at 6:30 a.m. We went to one pool that was by our room. Very small. No water available.
The room was adequate. Nice bathroom. As someone else stated, there is no air conditioner. They have a portable unit that I guess circulates air and you are supposed to turn on your ceiling fan. Again, just strange for a Hyatt Regency.
We did ask the Concierge for a dinner recommendation. She gave us a card for a free appetizer at a restaurant on Fisherman's Wharf. We ended up going to a different one that had a better view.
I would not stay here again. If our price as supposedly half off, I would have been livid to pay full price for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks out on the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PetalumaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear PetalumaTraveler,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback from your recent visit. I am disappointed to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay with us and am sorry you did not like the design of the property. Many enjoy the open horizontal layout as a refreshing alternative to the traditional high-rise hotel. I apologize for the disturbance you experienced due to the early arrival of the bus. I have forwarded your comments to our Guest Services Manager to ensure this will not reoccur. As you noted, we have portable air conditioners placed in our guestrooms. These units are meant to increase the comfort of our guests as our hotel was built without air conditioning.

I hope we see you again whenever you travels bring you back to the beautiful Monterey Peninsula.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,857 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing