We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brentwood, California, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Needs a lot of work”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed here for a business meeting this week for 3 nights. For me the cons for this place far outweigh the pros. Until this place gets a major overhaul I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Pros:
The staff is courteous and professional. Front desk, housekeeping, catering servers, bar/restaurant wait staff were all very nice.
Nice bathroom with walk in shower.
Nice lobby and Fireplace lounge- great Mojito and mushroom pizza.
Mini-fridge, safe, coffee tea maker in the room and a ceiling fan
Wi-fi works well in the room. Note: Unless you're downloading a lot of video, you probably don't need to buy the upgrade for the higher speed.


Cons:
King bed- mine was very uncomfortable - I guess I drew the short straw since others have been happy with theirs. I didn't sleep well once.
The floors are creaky. I could hear the people upstairs moving around all the time.
All the doors seem to slam shut.
The room furniture, hallway walls, doors are pretty beat up.
My room had a balcony but its ridiculously small. They have 2 chairs and a small table on the balcony that basically take up all of the space.
With the single exception of the mushroom pizza I had at the Fireplace Lounge, the food is terrible. The waiter at Knuckles Sports Bar recommended the Cheesesteak-- I have no idea why. It was dry and bland. The 4 course dinner done by the catering staff was also terrible except for the lemon cheesecake. I'm guessing that came from a vendor.

While I was happy with the bathroom in my room, my co-worker who was in building 1 (I was in 12) was not so happy when what appeared to be (and smelled like) sewage came up from the shower drain and covered the shower floor.

I stayed at this hotel 10 years ago and its been updated since then but it REALLY needs an overhaul now. No way this is a 4 star property in its current condition.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    1,089
    698
    300
    188
See reviews for
876
1,009
91
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our Sunday night one-night stay was too short but we still left feeling happy and rejuvinated. This resort met or exceeded our expectations in all areas. Our 1st floor room overlooking the golf course was contemporary, comfortable, clean, and VERY quiet. All the staff that we encountered were attentive, professional and friendly.

Some of the things that we especially enjoyed were the HUGE flat screen TV in our room, free use of the nice tennis facility (six courts), two perfectly heated pristene pools/jacuzzis and table tennis. Our only dining experience was the delicious breakfast buffet that we dined at in the main restaurant. It wasn't huge but was high-quality and enjoyable.

My partner and I found the location to be perfect. Only about five minutes drive to downtown, the wharfs & Cannery Row, it was far enough away from the hustle/bustle to be quiet and peaceful. We'll definitely return and stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the golf course offer tranquel views and are likely to be more quiet. Parking is conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and mom couldn't decided between a $200+ yurt in Big Sur or finding a place to stay in Monterey. Last minute, we decided to get a Priceline Express deal ($107 with tax and then the $22 nightly resort fee) at the Hyatt Regency. It was very comfortable with a large flat screen TV and two hot tubs, pools, and fire pits on the property. They have a Starbucks and sports bar also. Some units look out on the Del Monte Golf Course. You have to drive to get to downtown Monterey, Cannery Row, and the ocean. This resort is a great break from all the tourist areas with souveniors, etc.

The only negatives: The food is super expensive. The air vents on the walls in the bathroom needed more ways to insulate between rooms. One night we heard people giving their kids a bath; the second we could smell the pot others were enjoying late night.

Building 15 has the fitness center and next to the pool and hot tub that is open later (10pm) The other pool near the registration area has a deep end and looks more family friendly for kids.

Room Tip: Building 15 has fitness room on bottom floor, pool, hot tub, and fire pit are just outside, and is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DancingLaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Level Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed here twice before and both times have been relatively good. I haven't experienced any problems. The bed is SUPER comfortable and the gym is pretty nice. The rooms should probably be updated soon due to wear and tear, but it is a convention center, so I can see how they would get run down sooner than the average place. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fsb1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wow, nothing was good. Took a half hour to check in, no newspapers on site. Gym is a joke with no towels or cleaning cloth, really smelly and small. Additional fee for internet that actually works.

I would prefer the motel down the street next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toby g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

stayed here for an anniversary and got upgraded to a regency club access. although we only stayed for one night, i really enjoyed the property. it was nice, quiet and had great views of the golf course. the room was nice and contemporary, shower was awesome and new. overall, we had a great time and will come back here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canadianeh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear canadianeh28,

Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted you enjoyed spending your anniversary with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I recently stayed here for three nights. The rooms have been recently renovated. The bed was very comfortable. It is nice and quite at this hotel. The hotel is located on a beautiful golf course. Parking is free. The staff from the front desk to the concierge to the servers in the restaurant are professional and friendly. The food in the restaurant was very good as well.

Room Tip: The buildings are spread out over a large area. If you are there for a conference, then buildings n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank divergirl1Phoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear divergirl1Phoenix,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very excited to share your kind comments with our team and I hope we see you again soon.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing