We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rustenburg
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I can see the value in this hotel for golfers and conference attendees, but we stayed for a weekend to see the sights of Carmel, Moneterey and Big Sur. Had we known about the hidden charges for 'resort fees' and internet, the Inter Continental at the Cannery would have been a MUCH better choice of accommodation.

The only star goes to TusCA restaurant, which served a world-class dinner with fine wine and beautiful golf course views.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    1,138
    725
    313
    191
See reviews for
912
1,045
97
673
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NorCal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had the chance to stay at this property about two years ago and have been aching to return ever since. Finally made it back this weekend and was not disappointed!

Pros:
-Beautiful property, immaculately groomed and wonderfully landscaped. It feels peaceful and relaxing.
-Large rooms, nicely designed
-Comfy beds and pillows
-Amazing bathrooms (I want to transplant the bathroom from my room to my house)
-Brilliant service. Everyone was friendly, very attentive, well-groomed and well-mannered.
-Lovely, heated pools and hot tubs
-Outdoor fire pits
-Beautiful golf course
-Ping-pong, shuffleboard and foosball tables
-Gorgeous gym
-Lovely spa
-I love everything about this place and cannot wait to return again.

Cons:
-No bathtub. But the shower was quite nice.

Tip:
Ask for a room overlooking the golf course

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the golf course. Actually, ask for any room that doesn't face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

From the moment we were checked in - to the moment we departed - it was a most excellent experience. This hotel staff shines! Last year - we were given a room directly across from our event - this year there is a major upgrade going on at the ballroom so there was a club house set up that was really wonderful, spacious, and offered excellent dance venue. The short walk was perfect. The grounds at this hotel are kept up - immaculately clean and are beautiful. Knuckles stayed open late for the dance crowd an the dining room was great for breakfast. There is an area around the fire place that is wonderful for the late afternoon meal and the food was delicious at all of them. Again this year, the staff took care of us and our room - which shows that this is a well run operation. The place is CLEAN and the furniture all looks new.

Room Tip: The weather sometimes dips into the low 30s so get a room close to the event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times. This particular trip I was tired of looking at hotels, so went to Priceline to have them choose a 4 star hotel for me. I was excited to get a 4 star hotel for the price but when I saw where I'd be staying, I was surprised. In my opinion, this hotel should be a 3 star rating.
It is a nice hotel and your room can make all the difference. The room I first had felt like a cell so I asked to move to a room with a balcony or patio. At this point I was very unhappy. The front desk earned a 4 star rating by being extremely nice and getting me moved quickly. They were very organized for a hotel with a zillion rooms and most of them booked. Our view was of the parking lot (which was very full) but I was fine with people watching. Some of the rooms have really good views of the golf course. The balcony for a standard room is not very big, but its a balcony!
The bed was comfortable, the room is a nice size and housekeeping was great. The grounds are great for walking around and the pools are nice. The customer service was very good and on par with luxury hotels. Everything else was 3 stars in my opinion, but this is not a bad thing. We had a very nice time especially because the weather was superb. One important thing to mention is that you're not walking distance from the action. (Whatever that means in Monterey!) It is, however, a quick drive away. I recommend this hotel but have 3 star expectations and get a good room. If I had not been moved to a better room this would be a very different review.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icantbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hacienda Heights, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed over Christmas vacation with my husband in a HUGE king room. The room is 4 times larger than my bedroom at home! Included a couch, reading chair, desk and a balcony. There was also a walk in closet - who has those at a hotel? It was awesome. And the bathroom counter had more space than I have ever seen. At least 10 feet to put stuff on. Unreal!

While there we used the fitness room. Good selection of equipment. Towels, water and headphones are provided. Nice touch. Busy in the morning, but that is a given.

The hot tub was a decent size. It broke while I was there but they fixed it quickly. Temp was not too hot, not too cold, just right!

The one downside (for others, not for me) was the distance from everything. it is away from the other area hotels, which I liked. Nice and quiet. And the view of the golf course was nice.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor near the edge of the property. That made it easy to find parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Likes_to_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ok, so this hotel was wonderful. If you do research and look at various photos you really can't tell how nice it is. I tried to take photos to do it justice but it looks amazing when you visit it. I'd like to say I'm a "hotel snob" so if this met my standards then let that tell you. The location is very ideal. We were only 5 minutes or less into downtown Monterey, Cannery Row, and beaches. Carmel was only about 10 or so minutes away. It is a great places to stay during a visit to Big Sur. Though, it is a bit of drive into Big Sur ... it is an absolutely beautiful drive. During our four night stay we visited Big Sur 2 or 3 times and enjoyed the drive each time. The grounds of the hotel are very clean and quite. The pool is heated and ideal for a late night swim on a cold night. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were perfect sized and included a nice stand up shower. During our visit this was the most economical hotel and best looking as well... I mean unless you stayed in Carmel. We did pass the Carmel Hyatt during our drive to Big Sur and found this hotel to be a bit cheaper and nice. Overall, I'd come back here during my visit to Monterey. P.S. Room service was GREAT! Awesome food.

Room Tip: Higher flood with balcony. The hotel does not have A/C - DON'T FREAK OUT... It is ALWAYS cold in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justadude1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc,ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt in the winter months due to a family crisis. It is not the same hotel as it is in the summer months. The customer service was sub-par, the valet service was non-existive. The starbucks inside the hotel was horrible. We were served a bagel that was hard as a rock. The teenager did not know how to make a latte. The beds were very comfortable. Its too bad the disabled parking spots or so far from the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing