We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations Make This a Solid Property Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Renovations Make This a Solid Property Choice”
Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed here on a two night visit to the Monterey area. Having stayed here on a previous visit 7 years ago, we were very pleased with the major renovations made to the property during the past year.

Its golf course location away from central Monterey makes this a quiet property to stay at and is quite serene. We like the way the hotel is designed, low key and spread out around parts of the golf course. It's a quick and easy drive to downtown Monterey, Pacific Grove and Carmel.

The front desk personnel and service staff were friendly and helpful, easily answering all our questions. Our room was freshly renovated with a new carpet smell throughout. Furnishings were comfortable and relaxing, I loved the flat screen television in the room. It was very quiet in spite of several large meetings on the property. Other than passing people with name tags on, we would never have known these events were taking place.

The only quibble would be parking availability. With the meetings going on it was difficult to find parking spaces near our room, especially at night when returning from dinner. Other than that, it was a pleasant stay and with all the renovations nearly completed, this is great choice when visiting the Central Coast. We would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Liked — Seems like a brand new hotel
  • Disliked — Lack of parking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VacationPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    944
    1,154
    735
    315
    193
See reviews for
927
1,061
98
677
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2008

I stayed at the Hyatt two years previously, and at the time found it overpriced and desperately in need of redecoration. This time, it was still overpriced but at least had been redecorated in the mean time.

I get the impression that you are paying primarily for the golf course. I guess that if you play golf, this is very important, but if you do not - or your trip means you will not have time to - then this is not value for money at all. The base price is only a start, other fees and taxes increased it from a nominal $177 to over $200 per night, without any meals.

The hotel has a large number of rooms and from the outside they all look the same in an array of blocks much like a motel. The room I stayed in was quite spacious and (now) decorated in a minimalist style. Quite pleasant and relaxing, but the storage was also minimalist ; I stayed for a week as a single and barely had enough room to put things, instead half living out of a case. (There's probably enough room to store golf clubs and for some that may be all that matters!)

The breakfast buffet in the hotel was OK, but nothing special. The a la carte menu was better, I thought. As I had remembered from the past, the sports bar served decent bar food at the weekend. Other than this, I did not get a chance to use any of the facilities.

The hotel seemed to be much used for functions and proved to be reasonably noisy for half my stay, with neighbours returning as late as 2.30am most nights.

  • Liked — Comfortable
  • Disliked — Lack of storage space; a little noisy
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OxfordEnglish_bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bruno
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We rented one of the newly refurbished rooms (King bed) and were very pleased with it. The bathroom had a nicely tiled European style walk in shower (no tub) with a large (removable) shower head that had just the right pressure. The toilet had self lowering seats (no slamming toilet seats at night!).
The room contained a very comfortable King bed, with numerous pillows and a pair of adjustable reading lights that were attached to the headboard. A very nice touch. The LG flat screen TV added to the tastefully modern-chic look of the place. A mini-frig was nestled under the TV. One complaint: not nearly enugh drawers for clothing, items, etc.
The room lighting was varied and more than adequate. A pair of terry bathrobes were in the closet, to add a touch of class. Drapes very heavy enough to block out the sun if you wanted to sleep in. The people at the front desk were friendly & very helpful.
Due to the remodeling, parking was scarce, and we had to walk quite far to get to the car.
The MHR is not worth the high price that they are charging, but it is certainly getting there, once they're done with this huge project.

  • Liked — modern rooms
  • Disliked — parking & the construction mess
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bed Bug 66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

stayed in this hotel with a friend as part of our dream drive from San Francisco to Big Sur. Was a bit worried after reading the reviews but need not have been, hotel was great, room was fantastic, loved the doorless shower, staff were great, pool was very warm even at 7.30am on a chilly morning. Only down side is that is is a car drive away from Monterey and Carmel which meant we had to get a taxi. Only complaint was a $10 resort charge which was apparently for the water in the room (I don't even think we drank it) and for the use of golf carts (two girls on a trip away, we did not need golf carts) anyway overall I would recommend this hotel we had a great stay

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank lynn.gilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Just returned from Monterey and stayed at Hyatt Regency for 5 nights. I was expecting more lavish hotel since it is a Hyatt Regency. The rooms were very nice and ultra-modern. Too bad pillows were pretty hard. Note: rooms are not air-conditioned. My room faced the golf course and was quite warm by end of day. I closed drapes while I was out during the day. It had a chic lobby bar/lounge with a kind of tacky sports bar adjacent to it. You can't beat the location. Located right off exit on H-101. You can be downtown Monterey in 5 minutes and Carmel or Pebble Beach in 10 minutes.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights. The first night we were put in a ground floor king room that faced the parking lot. The room was just remodeled and very nice. We requested an upgraded room at check in and were told there were none but to check the next day. We did and were given a golf course view room #802 (Donald at the front desk was great!) This room had a great view but smelled moldy and the bathroom door got stuck (I was afraid I was going to get stuck in there!). The only way to not get it stuck was to not close it so there was no privacy. So the next day we asked for a different room. When I told the woman at the front desk that room #802 smelled moldy, she said it is a new room implying I didn't know what I was talking about instead of saying she was sorry there was a problem. This was the only room that had that smell and I'm allergic to mold. The woman at the front desk told us there were no golf course view ground floor rooms available so she put us in a room facing the parking lot in building 9. We walked down to look at the room and there was equipment and construction going on right outside the room. There would have been lots of noise all day. We went back the the front desk and Donald was there again. He found the perfect room #1110 which was a golf view (interesting how Donald found it when the other lady couldn't only minutes later...). So if you need something - hope you get to talk to Donald who makes things happen and really cares about the guests.
This is a pet friendly resort and there are places to walk your dog.

  • Liked — Donald at the front desk and the recently remodeled rooms
  • Disliked — Service was unpredictable depending on who we talked to.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sandid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Occidental, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2008

I can only echo what other guests have said recently. Check-in was a breeze with staff very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with high end amenities. Ate at Tusca restaurant one evening and it was delicious with phenomenal wait staff. Sport bar (Knuckles) has great on tap beers and all you can ask for in sports viewing! The grounds are beautiful and impeccably groomed. My only complaint is traffic noise from freeway, which hotel has no control over. Just need earplugs! Kudos for the renovations! Great job

  • Liked — resort feel
  • Disliked — freeway noise, distance of elevator to room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bogiediehard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,299 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing