We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 days and 3 different rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“3 days and 3 different rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights. The first night we were put in a ground floor king room that faced the parking lot. The room was just remodeled and very nice. We requested an upgraded room at check in and were told there were none but to check the next day. We did and were given a golf course view room #802 (Donald at the front desk was great!) This room had a great view but smelled moldy and the bathroom door got stuck (I was afraid I was going to get stuck in there!). The only way to not get it stuck was to not close it so there was no privacy. So the next day we asked for a different room. When I told the woman at the front desk that room #802 smelled moldy, she said it is a new room implying I didn't know what I was talking about instead of saying she was sorry there was a problem. This was the only room that had that smell and I'm allergic to mold. The woman at the front desk told us there were no golf course view ground floor rooms available so she put us in a room facing the parking lot in building 9. We walked down to look at the room and there was equipment and construction going on right outside the room. There would have been lots of noise all day. We went back the the front desk and Donald was there again. He found the perfect room #1110 which was a golf view (interesting how Donald found it when the other lady couldn't only minutes later...). So if you need something - hope you get to talk to Donald who makes things happen and really cares about the guests.
This is a pet friendly resort and there are places to walk your dog.

  • Liked — Donald at the front desk and the recently remodeled rooms
  • Disliked — Service was unpredictable depending on who we talked to.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sandid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    1,089
    698
    300
    188
See reviews for
876
1,009
91
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Occidental, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

I can only echo what other guests have said recently. Check-in was a breeze with staff very helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with high end amenities. Ate at Tusca restaurant one evening and it was delicious with phenomenal wait staff. Sport bar (Knuckles) has great on tap beers and all you can ask for in sports viewing! The grounds are beautiful and impeccably groomed. My only complaint is traffic noise from freeway, which hotel has no control over. Just need earplugs! Kudos for the renovations! Great job

  • Liked — resort feel
  • Disliked — freeway noise, distance of elevator to room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogiediehard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

I just returned from a 3-night business stay at the Hyatt Regency Monterey. Other reviews of this hotel left me a bit concerned, but it was a lovely, completely updated, high-quality hotel. The room was very Zen, with an incredibly comfortable bed...cozy comforter, sheets, and pillows. I had a very roomy king bedroom with a HUGE bathroom, good lighting, luxurious bath/body products. The grounds were impecably manicured. Although I didn't use the pool area, it was a few steps away from my building, and right next to the golf course. Probably the most impressive was the staff. Every single one of them greeted me warmly, and asked how they could help me, how my room was, etc. The management has obviously done a great job training, because it seemed innate in the staff to open doors, stop vacuuming when a guest came by, offer help, etc. The first morning there, I discovered about 5:45 a.m. that I'd forgotten my comb. In approximately 3 minutes (no exaggeration), a friendly staffer was at my door with a complimentary comb. My only negative comment is that the elevators were not in service, due to renovation activity, and I had to use the stairs, which only bothered me a little, due to a bit of paranoia about being a female traveling alone. The hotel is a 5-minute drive from the 17-Mile Drive through Pebble Beach, and the rest of the fancy golf courses. I don't golf, but the drive is not to be missed...a gorgeous, serene drive along the Pacific. I rented a car from San Jose airport. It is a 90-minute drive with some heavy traffic. Give yourself plenty of time to get back to the airport--3 hours is good.

  • Liked — The staff, the wonderful bed, and the location
  • Disliked — Lack of elevator--parking lot could have used a bit more lighting
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LIMSPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2008

We stayed at the Hyatt on the Saturday of President's Day Weekend. Although the hotel was hosting a large convention, it did not interfere with our enjoyment of the facilities. Our son enjoyed the large heated pool, which had plenty of shallow space (3 feet) for small kids. The room was very nice and clean. The hotel's main restaurant (TusCA) has been renovated and re-tooled and we enjoyed our meal there (it was a vast improvement over the prior restaurant in that space last time we stayed there several years ago). The one complaint was that the elevator was out of service and we were staying on the third floor (not terribly high, but still more flights of stairs than you want when hauling up your luggage). Note that the hotel is a short drive (but not walking distance) to Cannery Row. The hotel allowed us to stay one night, which is unusual because most hotels in the area require at least 2 night stays on the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

Just stayed at the Hyatt in Monterey. I travel often, and am rarely impressed by hotel rooms, but these were very well done. If not the nicest room I've stayed in during the last year, then certainly the most modern. Marble walk-in shower, LG LCD TV, nice bed, etc.

The hallway has a "new" smell to it, so seems they were recently renovated. I was in Building #1.

I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oysterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2008

We spent a long weekend at this hotel in February 2008, just for a quiet getaway. We requested a nonsmoking recently renovated room with a king bed in a quiet location. We were given a ground floor room overlooking the golf course in building 6, which is right next to the registration/lobby/restaurant building. The room was large and pleasant, and the view over the golf course was lovely. The bed was very comfortable. It is a little bit odd not to have a bathtub in a hotel of this quality, but the walk-in shower was nice and roomy, with a great showerhead.

The wifi connection is through T-Mobile Hotspot, so you can either use your own account or have a day pass billed to your room. It worked fine. The TV was nice, with a good selection of pay-per-view movies (rather expensive), but it was set up so that the video inputs would not work, so we could not use our portable DVD player to watch the movies we had brought with us.

Room service breakfast was very pricey (to be expected in a place like this), but well prepared and delivered promptly. The in-room coffee was pretty bad, but the room service coffee was fine. There is also a coffee bar in the lobby in the mornings.

We ate dinner at the hotel restaurant (Tusca) once, and it was as one would expect - very good though not outstanding food, excellent service, and a bit overpriced (but worth it for the convenience). Generally the service in the hotel was very good - people were pleasant and knew what they were doing.

We chose this hotel because my husband has to be very picky about the beds he sleeps on due to back and neck problems. Given that limitation, we would definitely stay here again. If our choices were not so limited, I would rather be closer to downtown Monterey. I would not recommend staying here without a car if you want to see the area and sample Monterey's wonderful restaurants.

  • Liked — Comfortable, quiet room overlooking golf course
  • Disliked — A little pricey given the out-of-the-way location
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank O2BatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2008

We booked the Hyatt via Priceline for a last minute stay. We were thrilled with our room, the property and the staff. We arrived the night before (no roomas available, stayed at a motel), and went to the Hyatt at 11am on day of check-in to inquire about how early we could check-in. They immediatly got us into a room. There was no mention of priceline and they put us in a renovated room facing the golf course. Everyone was very friednly and helpful. Other reveiws mentioned issues with housekeeping, but our room was very clean!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTahoeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing