We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The check-in queue was just two people but took forever, the noise level in the lobby was high in the evenings due to the restaurant adjoining, and it was a long and lonely walk outdoors to our room through the cold (avoid building 11 if you can). The only upside to being in building 11 was that when we got back at night the only parking available was at the very end of the property, which was right by building 11. Be prepared to drive everywhere because there's nothing at all around the hotel. The room was nice, overlooking the golf course; other than that, it wasn't a great experience.

Room Tip: Avoid building 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budlapara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    906
    1,114
    713
    306
    190
See reviews for
897
1,028
94
648
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The only four negatives I have are 1- it's a short drive into town, which is more of a problem if you dont have a car, 2-since it's remote, it somewhat forces you to eat/drink at the hotel, and they charge a premium for that convenience.. expensive, 3. parking stinks (people arriving at night were parking along the curbs and pretty much everywhere), and 4. the pool and (especially) hot tub were dirty and we wouldn't think of going in (but it was also 60 degrees so maybe they only maintain it on hot days?). The positives - VERY relaxing place, HUGE workout facility, they were really accomodating of our motorcycles, the valet and cleaning staff were some of the nicest, friendliest I've ever met, the food and wine are good, the room was comfortable and nice, it was quiet, and the lobby bar is actually nice to hang out in (although COLD). I'd probably prefer to stay downtown, but it was a better value to stay a couple miles out. And really, I have to say it again, the nicest cleaning and valet staff I've ever encountered.

Room Tip: There are several outbuildings, and the elevators are few and far between. If you can't handle s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dragon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

good facilities - We used the pool and tennis courts but they also have a spa and golf if you're so inclined. Nice comfortable room for us and our seven-year-old daughter, but truth be told we hardly stayed in it.

Location was good, close to Fisherman's Wharf and Custom House Plaza and about a 10 min drive to Carmel. A couple of on-site restaurants too if you want to stay in.

My only complaint is the room noise from upstairs and next door can be heard in your room. The footsteps from above kept me up the first night, but by the second night I got used to it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ftomacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed with family - two children. Room was big, clean, well-appointed. We'd paid for the Club Lounge which definitely made the difference as breakfast included (Continental, but much more than Brits usually eat!), and hors d'oeuvres in the early evening meant only a light dinner required. It was lovely for the boys to grab a hot chocolate at bedtime too. Slightly disappointed that our room was so far from the Club and pool, all other users seemed to be staying in that block. Sports Bar was great for our football ("soccer") mad son as he could catch up with English Premiership on the at-table screen; food good value in here too; we didn't try the other restaurants which were a bit pricier. Just a shame about the grey skies and overall chilly weather, but that's hardly the hotel's fault!

Room Tip: If you are using the Club, try for block 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyboys24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked a room at this hotel as we were in the area to attend a lovely wedding at the Hyatt in Carmel. I just couldn't recommend this resort due to how much they charge and for the little you get for your buck. Check in was a breeze and the clerk was very gracious and helpful. Parking is pitiful unless you get a spot early and don't move your car until the next day. We were in building 8 but had to park at the far end (was it building 17 or 18?) when we came back from attending a lovely wedding. Elevators are only in some of the units. The doors of the rooms slam shut with a loud bang unless you are very careful about closing them. This is very disturbing at 6 in the morning when you are trying to sleep. We didn't hear much noise from the rooms on either side of us. The highway outside was fairly audible. I HATE the $20.00 resort fees. What a rip off. Why don't they just include it in the cost of the room?? and then you are dinged another $2 in tax for that! I know, my husband has explained it to me - they charge these fees because the rich will pay them and don't care. Maybe it helps to keep the riff-raff out.

The bed and the linens were luxurious and plentiful. The decor was ok. Some of the artwork looked dated. I guess this would be a great place if you want to golf on the adjacent course.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keepsake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed with my family of 5, including three kids.
On our California holiday we stayed in 9 hotels and this was the worst. Decor, bathrooms and general standard were excellent. But when we asked for a rollaway bed answer was its not company policy. Its OK to book 5 people but not for one of the to have a bed. So my son had to sleep on the floor with bedding provided by the hotel which clearly is company policy: how ridiculous!
I will not be staying in another Hyatt simply because I cant unless I book two rooms. Very poor service

Room Tip: dont book for 5 impossible unless one of you likes the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdStrongbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel really depends on what you are looking for and the rate you can find. My corporate rate was $160/night, which is decent, but I was really just using it as a hotel room. I did not use any of the other amenities, pool, spa, golf, etc. as my time was spent outside of the hotel grounds exploring Monterey, Carmel, Big Sur. The main reason I stayed here was as a Platinum member I had a certificate allowing me access to the club lounge. If you've ever stayed at a resorts club lounge you are probably aware of the value. This was an opportunity for free breakfast, which I find to be a huge perk at properties. The breakfast at the club lounge, however, was worse than any other breakfast I've ever experienced at any hotel. Nothing hot - no eggs, bacon, waffle maker, etc. Simply toast, muffins, and bagels. There was cereal as well. I was dissapointed that I redeem my certificate at this property as it could have been used elsewhere. I was not around during the day, however, to check out the food options during the day, however, based on the breakfast options, I did not have high hopes and did not want to arrange my day to go back to the hotel to check it out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenss1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear jenss 1224,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. Currently, we do not have a hot item but will be adding two hot items each morning to the existing fruits, pastries, cereals, etc… when the Regency Club Lounge renovation is completed next month.

I hope you have the opportunity to return and experience our new Regency Club Lounge and offerings as well as all the other activities and amenities we have that you didn’t get a chance to enjoy during this visit.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing