We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good place for pets and families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good place for pets and families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Got a good deal for this place on Hotwire for President's weekend. The hotel is set up more like a lodge than a typical Hyatt with plenty of parking. Nice fireplaces and views of the golf course. Heated pool and good jacuzzi, but not very relaxing because of the kids playing. Rooms were very clean and modern, and bed was quite comfy. The roads around the hotel are a bit confusing, but it is a short drive to the aquarium, Carmel, wharf, etc. It's a good mid-range hotel in between the cheap motels and super-expensive spa resorts in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ttttttttttttt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    1,069
    695
    296
    186
See reviews for
871
1,002
91
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
286 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

The rooms were very clean and nice. The walk-in shower looked new, and it had a waterfall head. Unfortunately, the building I was in did not have A/C which surprised me due to the cost of the room. The room did have a large ceiling fan that worked very well, but I could not leave the screen door open since my room was on the first floor and right next to the pool. The housekeeping staff were very nice and do an excellent job. I always say this, but housekeepers should be tipped, too. The lobby staff was very nice and helpful, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C if you have to stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seiderjps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have to admit that I read all the reviews on this hotel and still booked it. There was one factor that pushed me which was we brought our dog. It was also a holiday weekend. It was my daughter, my husband and myself on this trip. Gosh, I don't know where to begin it was not a great hotel stay for the price. Upon arrival and at check in I asked for a room facing a golf course and on the top floor. Both of those items were denied as the front desk clerk said that those are upgrades and if they weren't offered when you reserved then they weren't available. I checked in and we went to our room on the 3rd floor. Yes, not convenient with a pet but oh well. We also booked a package and she said nothing about the tickets for the aquarium or the breakfast that was included. So we had to go back to the front desk again and ask about these things. Very inconvenient. Our room was in bldg 12 which wasn't on the main highway but you could still very much hear the traffic - all night long. The rooms have no a/c. You have to keep the window open or it is very very hot in the rooms. There are double beds and that it quite inconvenient. As well... the bathroom has this japanese type screen slider door. That is correct folks - not a real door that closes. Everyone in the room with you will hear your personal business while in the bathroom. As well, there is no door on the shower. There is a small glass divider that is half way across the shower stall. It is ridiculous. The rooms were old, not really kept up. Honestly, I relayed to the front desk clerk that I had read a lot of reviews online and she said you cannot really beleive all that sometimes. IN this case, it is all true. Since the rooms are small, dingy and loud with no a/c - that is the bad. Now the good - the rooms have coffee provided and there was a small refrigerator in the room also the staff are all nice. The lobby and the bartenders and outside amenities are beautiful. The breakfast buffet in the hotel is really good. The staff in the dining room are wonderful. It was worth it. The other thing is that in the lobby is a winery called McIntyre that offers hotel guests a free wine tasting of one wine and then there is a flight you can purchase. It was great and nice right at the hotel so you could have the experience and not have to leave the hotel. The one thing that I would tell anyone who plans to go into town that this hotel is NOT within walking distance to the wharf or cannery row. They have a planned shuttle that goes around 10, 1, 4 and 7 drops off at the wharf and then you can take a free trolley or walk to cannery row. Otherwise, plan on spending 11 or 12 bucks for a cab everytime you want to go into town. There is a great sushi place called Crystal Sushi and it is only 2 blocks north of cannery row. Overall a good weekend except for our hotel. The reviews on trip advisor are usually right on - I should have known better.

Room Tip: Select golf course room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKVogel0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear DKVogel0810,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent visit. I am pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of McIntyre Vineyards Tasting Room in our main lobby. It is a great feature and very convenient. The breakfast buffet is also very popular and I am so glad you had an outstanding dining experience. I am disheartened to hear that your overall stay was less than satisfactory due to noise and lack of air conditioning. Please accept my apologies and trust that these issues are currently being addressed and corrected. Thank you for your kind comments about our hardworking team and beautiful outdoor amenities. I hope that you will consider Hyatt Regency Monterey again whenever your travels bring you back to the area.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Not pleased. Room was very loud, located next to highway 1. Hotel was fully booked so as platinum member, we were basically given motel room located on the highway. There was no a/c and we couldn't open windows at night because of highway noise and our balcony was right next to pool - easy access. Value was expensive, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLK_CPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I spent a weekend here and found peaceful walks, restful massages and great food. I just wanted to get away from everything in LA and escape from the world. It was clam and peaceful. i highly recommend enjoying this experience.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank memassageyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel and entire property is beautiful and tranquil. The hotel is divided into different buildings of I think only 3 levels each. The room was very nice and relaxing. Beds and pillows were comfortable; room was a little spacious for a normal-sized room; and the bathroom was really nice - beautiful shower and sink. The pool area was cool and spacious, there was even an almost human-sized chess board to play on the pool deck.

The only weird thing was that it was kind of difficult to find the room. The buildings are paired in twos by a bridge and if you're in the second building you have to enter thru the first building and go up the elevator and down the hall of the first building, exit, cross a bridge, then enter the next building to find your room. The concierge did NOT explain this very well and there are no big signs explaining this so we were wandering the halls and different floors for a good 5 minutes or so trying to find our room. I blame poor planning and design, as well as the front desk personnel who need to explain this better and not mumble, but speak more clearly and not rush through things.

Otherwise, very nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debmwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
164 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent five nights here and wished we hadn't. The only positive thing I can say is that the staff are all friendly people and try to be helpful, with what they have to work with - which frankly isn't much.
This hotel is nothing like the pro photos indicate. Time was when the Hyatt Regency brand meant a luxurious 4-star you could rely on. Not here. This place has a reception building that is fairly OK, but all the accommodation is in wooden bunkhouses, basically shacks which remind me of some sort of youth camp or worse. The one we were in had no elevator but was linked to another building by a walkway, so every time we entered we had to walk to the other one to go up or down. These places are very old and very worn. The elevator had a carpet which stank of old beer and who knows what else. There is no modern aircon, or anything else.
The restaurant is very limited, and I am being kind here. The place was full of people sent there on seminars, mixed with a few families with kids who were allowed to scream and shout at the pool until midnight.
The location is convenient for the freeway, or a round of golf, nothing else. Its miles from downtown Monterey or Cannery Row or Carmel. And it wasn't at a giveaway price either.
All in all I cannot find anything to recommend going to this place. I have stayed in many Hyatts; this is by far the worst. I shall now view future Hyatts with deep suspicion.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing