We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Your Points
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Memphis TN
Level Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

While we did't have a chance to sample the spa, this hotel is beautiful! The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped, and the staff is second to none. Don't miss the breakfast buffet - incredible and delicious!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuziandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    910
    625
    266
    176
See reviews for
728
865
82
493
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We have stayed here several time only the past 3 years and initially our experience was above average. We liked the private feeling of the hotel and it is quite beautiful. However, during our last experience a couple months ago, the bed was EXTREMELY uncomfortable and in fact, it was probably "broken" and we had to change rooms. Initially, they told us they would switch out the bed, but they ended up moving us.

Also, on one of our previous stays, it was obvious that someone either had smoked in the non-smoking room or someone was smoking next door. They were also partying pretty hard and we ended up having to move rooms as well.

If you are planning to stay here, also let them know if you plan a spa treatment because the spa / gym building is on the far end of the property. Also if you dont like to be around kids playing and screaming in the pool, you should also request golf course facing rooms.

Service is extremely courteous and considerate of guests needs. However, the property maintenance and the preparation according to guest expectations may need a little work.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augusttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nicely renovated. Good for bringing your dog. Close to a very nice golf course. Walking distance to Monterey fisherman's warf.

Room Tip: Ask for golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ajf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

After a stressful few days in the Bay Area, I needed a couple of days of quiet and sun. The Hyatt was perfect. It was actually important to me to NOT be on the coast because it was April and I wanted to lay in the sun and near the beach was too chilly.

I arrived early (12:30) and went to check in. Jamie at the front desk could not have been nicer to accommodate me. The lobby is a touch retro but in a very cool way. It almost has this Frank Lloyd Wright feel to it.

I had a room in the 2 building, facing the parking lot - but it was quiet and provided super quick access to my car, which was great because I was in/out a lot to go eat and shop, etc.

The room was very nice. Super clean (and not a hint of industrial air freshener), and the bathroom was very modern and cool. Fridge was a nice amenity for me. Bed was comfortable. The only thing I didn't like was that it was on the ground floor and while I felt totally safe, if I wanted sunlight in the room meant I had to have the curtains open, which also meant that people walking to their cars would have a view right into my room. My room was VERY quiet although the heavy-footed person above me made me know when they were in the room - not sure it would have been as noticable had they not been a stomper.

Spent both days at the pool. Immaculate, seriously - so clean. And for two days I could attest to the number of landscapers and maintenance people around. The flowers everywhere were so beautiful and everything looked well maintained.

It's mid-April, so pool not crowded, but it is spacious with comfortable new-ish lounge chairs and private cabanas in the shade you could curtain off. Hot tub too. No lifeguard, but didn't matter to me. What I would have liked was a waitress or some other way to get food/drinks at pool side - that would have made my day.

Had room service for breakfast - pricey (isn't it always) but well done.

I would go back there in a heartbeat. It's not the Ritz, but it's very comfortable, clean and the grounds are beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatsLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We arrived at the hotel late evening and stayed for one night as a stop over on the drive to San Fransisco. The hotel did as expected, and lived up to the standards set by a Hyatt Regency. The accommodation was clean and of decent size, and it was a comfortables night stay. The hotel facilities seemed decent enough but we didn't get much of a chance to use them, as for the restaurant, the menu was a little too structured and didn't provide enough flexibility especially when travelling with a toddler. However we decided to drive to the town and found a beautiful Indian restaurant, which will rate as some of the best Indian food I have ever tasted.
The breakfast was decent and staff were supportive and provided good care and service. This hotel met our requirements especially when using it for a stop off, the peace and quiet of the hotel was a benefit, and the hotel golf courses were excellent, if only I was on a trip with my golfing buddies ;-). Good hotel and would recommend, especially if using for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirMrMits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Recently visited the Hyatt Regency for a Conference and had spent some reviewing other reviews on Tripadvisor before I arrived. I was pleasantly surprised and overwelmed by the service. Other reviews made mention of incredibly negative experiences they had with management. I had zero problems with my room and with the staff. They went out of their way to make my stay 'perfect'.

This isn't a new resort and this isn't a Ritz Carlton. The Hyatt has done an amazing job at upgrading their resort and keeping it contemporary.

Excellent gym. Beautiful golf course.

I would definitely return and highly recommend the Hyatt Regencey Monterery to anyone and everyone visiting the area.

Thank you Hyatt for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IwaRuggerBuggerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear IwaRuggerBuggerIowa,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I am glad you had an enjoyable visit and look forward to sharing your kind words with our team.

We hope to see you again and deliver another "perfect" stay.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Verdes Estates, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Spend most of spring break with my wife and kids here. Were given a warm welcome by the front desk staff during check-in. Kids even got a marshmallow kit.

The location is a on a hill and it has a large conference area and 2 pools. Kids enjoyed the pools and hot tubs. It's a quiet location and only a short drive to old downtown Monterey, Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf.

The room we had was clean and comfortable although it didn't have airconditioning (it has heating). We really didn't need it except for a couple of nights. The front desk told us to open the sliding door (we were on the 1st floor) and lock it in the 2nd position for safety reasons. This worked out fine.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Albert S,

I am so glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves while visiting us during spring break. There is a lot to do and it sounds like you took advantage of the pools, hot tubs and fire pits for relaxing and roasting marshmallows.

Come see us again and continue exploring the beautiful Monterey pennisula.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing