We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #21 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wont stay here again”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

we stayed here for 2 nights when passing through. first impressions were ok. the room was nice and big, the shower was a walk in and the bed was quite comfortable. BUT then it started to go downhill. no air con so we had to open doors as it was too hot. the ceiling fan worked but on high was too draughty and on anything lower had no effect. we ate in the Tusca restaurant, overpriced, we ate breakfast in the Tusca, again overpriced, then when it came to checkout we had a 'resort fee' of $15 per night. why when we had rented the room through a travel operator do we get hit with a resort fee? the location was a little off the track but not too inconvenient. all in all we felt that you pay more for the name and the 'golfing and conference ' than you would a similar hotel in the same region. we both felt we had been ripped off

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guitar_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Dear guitar_mark,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review of our property. With the combination of the cool Monterey climate, windows that open and 4-speed ceiling fan, the room temperature is typically controllable. I am sorry this was not the case in your room. The resort fee includes complimentary bottled water, use of our spa, airport transportation and parking, which are extra charges totally much more at other hotels. I apologize if that was not communicated clearly by the travel operator and our front desk team. We will address this issue.

I am glad you enjoyed the size of the room, walk-in shower and the comfort of our Grand bed. I hope you allow us the opportunity to regain your confidence when your travels bring you back to Monterey. Please contact me directly at steve.mcnally@hyatt.com if I may be of assistance in the future.

Sincerely,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    1,175
    757
    320
    197
See reviews for
969
1,088
101
685
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

this was an awesome hotel, beautiful yet sporty. Prime location to the airport as well as travelling up the rugged coastline. Grounds kept very neat and clean!

Room Tip: facing the golf course was exciting yet peaceful !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charger06Boston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

This is a nice hotel, with good roons, but very far from the atractions of the city!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kibons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This place is. well, you guessed it, awful. From the poorly redesigned rooms that are already worn, to the large portable air conditioner that stood in the corner of my room with a giant hose expelling hot air through the plywood opening in the wall, to the terrible room service food, to the dirty rooms (hair everywhere---and I moved twice, each room was the same).

You may surmise I did not enjoy my stay. Some positives, the Front Desk Staff was nice, the waiter in the coffee shop was dynamite. Other than that, this is a place I will avoid like a cuddle session with the 'Outbreak' monkey.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diegodad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Diegodad2,

I appreciate you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am disappointed to hear your room was not maintained appropriately. I would like to follow up on this to ensure this situation is corrected. Please contact me directly at steve.mcnally@hyatt.com so I may get the specific details from you to address this.

I am glad to hear the associates you encountered were excellent. I will pass along your comments to our entire team. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The room was recently renovated in a stylish manner with a completely redone bathroom and was very nice But for some strange reason no one ever puts a comfortable chair in the room. Since I just stayed for the night I feel put out by the "resort fee", other than the 2 bottles of water I kept the rest of the fee was useless to me. Additional both the Hotel and priceline make it almost impossible to discover there is a fee. On my next trip to Monterey, I'll work harder to find a hotel without a resort fee or parking expense.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougP39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear DougP39,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed the look and feel of our guest rooms. I am sorry the resort fee was not clear for you. It includes not only the bottled water but also complimentary self and valet parking, access to our spa facilities, etc... Each of which are additional charges at the other Monterey hotels.

I hope we have the opportunity to see you again when you need a getaway from San Jose.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The room smelt. Really nasty. They wouldn't move me because they were apparently fully booked, which is believable because there was nowhere to park. This is basically just a nasty motel that at some point in the last couple of years has been fitted with some nice carpets and tiles, however this is like putting lipstick on a pig- thin walls, noisy plumbing, terrible linear layout, really nasty staircases that you half expect to get mugged in, expensive food, no coffee, and did I mention that the room smelt? I mean, really smelt. Like a nappy. Not only will I never stay here again, I'm also going to avoid staying in a Hyatt ever again. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsimonsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear travellingsimonsays,

I am sorry for the smell you experienced in your room. I can assure you this issue has been addressed with our housekeeping staff so this cannot occur in the future. I know you were able to speak with a manager while you were here but I would also be happy to discuss this matter with you. Please contact me at steve.mcnally@hyatt.com if I may be of further assistance.

Best regards,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel. I like it a lot. The rooms are very comfortable. Staff is exceptional.
The gentleman at the concierge desk was very helpful. He saved us from missing the wedding. I called him being lost in Carmel and looking for a particular beach where a wedding ceremony was about to take place. He guided us over the phone to the right area at the shore. It was hidden a bit and was a challenge to locate. THANK YOU!!!
The lobby is very happening on the weekend. Live jazz was great (and free). There is a warm, family atmosphere.
I will come and stay there every time I need to go to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sacramentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRVancouverGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear sacramentan,

Thank you for your review of our hotel and staying with us again. I appreciate your recognition of our exceptional staff and in particular Fred at the concierge desk. They will be thrilled to see your kind words posted on the Internet. I am glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the jazz in our lobby. It is a great feature that many of our guests take advantage of.

We look forward to seeing you again when you need a weekend escape.

All the best,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Monterey
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing