We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary stay”
Review of Cannery Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cannery Row Inn
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Disappointment is the only word I can use to describe this hotel. "Free WIFI" has got to be the biggest disappointment. It never worked. Staff had a lot of excuses. Breakfast, sweet rolls and muffins were cut up to extend amounts. Juice and milk was frustrating considering it would only trickle out of the machine. Lighting in bathroom was focused on the glass sink. Not conducive to shaving or doing makeup. Bed was comfortable and the TV was nice on the wall. Fireplace was great and a view of the ocean was terrific. Walking to Cannery Row was a great plus.

Room Tip: Don't expect the "Free WIFI" to work at all. Others have stated the same thing and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancyjohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 116 of 311 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We didn't have a reservation but the front desk offered to price match the rate on booking.com. At first look we weren't expecting much but it looks like there had been recent updates on the rooms. Ours was clean, very comfortable beds, great location just 2 blocks from Cannery Row. The morning breakfast was a nice bonus. You can tell the management tries to make it nice. Would go there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceyBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful time here, the room was wonderful, roomy, clean and we had our own patio, the staff is very nice. We will be coming back soon and bringing our family for a family vacation. The only thing that could make it beret is a little better selection with the breakfast, other then that it is perfect.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cgalvani17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

You would not be impressed to stay looking at the outside of the builing, patio furniture and hallways as all very worn and dirty, although all open to the outside. However, the room was a pleasant surprise and very nice! The room was very clean and had everything you would need. The decorating was also very nice. The room had a fireplace, refrigerator, microwave, vessel sink in the bathroom. Pillows were rather small and there was no air conditioning. Our sliding door faced a walking path through town and was a little unnerving to keep open all night. Lady at the reception desk was very pleasant. Hotel was in a great location - a doable walk (20 min or so) to the Monterey Aquariam which is absolutely fabulous. You can also do a walk to the waterfont and a little longer walk to the wharf for dinner. For location and room atmosphere and value, we would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelgarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and I spent a night in this hotel on a trip do San Francisco. The location is very good, because it is really near Cannery Row, where you'll find several restaurants, bars, etc. There's also a beach almost across the street, and therefore you can have a nice view in the morning. Breakfast is very, very simple, but Ok. The room is somewhat comfortable, but we found some stains on our sheets, which was not nice. Walls seem to be very thin, which allow you to hear noises from neighbour rooms. Free wifi is ok. We had dinner at "Loose Noodle Pasta House", some blocks from the hotel. It was a great surprise. We also tried "Henrys BBQ", but it was dirty and we left.

Room Tip: I guess rooms facing the bay have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I liked this Hotel. We drove from Yosemite and did a walk in, good value, clean, breakfast was a little disappointing but with a short walk from the town centre It didn't matter. Staff were helpful and polite, all round a good find.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LoulabelleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This hotel had a great location and the room was nice (aside from an insanely loud and annoying fridge), but the advertised wifi did not work at all in our room, and to pay $150 with tax and not get wifi is ridiculous. I spent two hours in a cold lobby taking care of necessary business, so who cares if the room was nice! I asked for some discount or compensation, and the staff was unhelpful, bordering on rude, as they refused. They made up some ridiculous, bogus argument. By the end of the visit, I didn't even want to go into the lobby, even though it was the only place I could make necessary next plans. I would have highly recommended this place, but after their treatment, I say avoid!

Room Tip: Make them promise to give you a room with working wifi or a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samcan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.8 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wave Street Inn
Wave Street Inn
#33 of 56 in Monterey
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#29 of 56 in Monterey
569 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Row Inn

Address: 200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940-1406 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $74 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannery Row Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cannery Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Row Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing