We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Cannery Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cannery Row Inn
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great location an easy walk from Cannery Row and Old Fisherman's Wharf. Rooms are fine if in need of a little touch-up. Good beds. Microwave and refrigerator in each room, plus a gas fireplace. Can be a little noisy with either trail noise or street noise depending on which side of the hotel you're on. A good home base if you plan to spend most of your day out exploring Monterey.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the courtyard, as you have no privacy if you open your sliding glass door to cool off...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFan700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Cannery Row Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 302 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

Very noisy -- can hear cars roaring past at night; room faced Foam St. Will not stay here in the future. Room was nice and spacious; bed -- very comfortable. TV remote did not turn on the TV or control the volume -- only good for changing channels. Bathroom needs work -- a coat of paint; many spots patched and not painted, cabinet doors -- finish completely off! Also, water had an odor -- pipes are old. Bathroom only had 1 yellow light bulb -- could not see to put on makeup! Next morning, they replaced 2 of the 3 burned out light bulbs.
Cleaning and gardening staff -- very friendly and helpful. Breakfast adequate: yogurt or eggs -- coffee, tea, juice, milk, toast, cereal, muffins, fruit, and waffles (frozen and heated in the back?). Better and more nutritious if protein was provided -- yogurt or eggs. Nice courtyard -- sitting and eating in the fog was quite chilly in the a.m. Heaters in place -- not turned on!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeaDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is your classic built in the early '80's in need of renovation of motel.

Pros: The property is well located and withing walking distance to many of the sights and locations you want to visit in Monterey. The rooms are unexceptional but functional. The beds themself were very comfortable and I slept well each night.

Cons: The property is in desperate need of some TLC. The carpet in the hallways and the check in desk are worn out and need to be upgraded. The staff was able to attend to my needs, but were not particularly gracious or pleasant. The towels they provided were not as nice as I would have liked (older and low quality).

As I stayed over a holiday weekend it is hard for me to tell how reasonable the price was but it seemed cheaper than many of the other options I looked at (and this is one of the cases where you get what you pay for).

Would I stay here again? Yes, but it wouldn't be my first choice. Probably more as a back up option in the event I couldn't find something more welcoming.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_LA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Was a little worried seeing 1 persons review from a year ago regarding bed bugs but when I entered the room I pulled apart the bed and sheets and found no signs. Front desk staff was pleasnt, excellent location. The fireplace in the room was nice. It is a budget motel and it shows in little things like old carpet, but is clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZEGHTESADI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Service with a smile isn't offered here! Other reviewers complained of poor service from the front desk....we got it also. A smile from anyone at the front desk would improve the rating of this hotel. There is a lack of friendliness, desire to make their guest feel appreciated, and lack of local knowledge of the general area. Next time we will stay at another place that at least will TRY to make us feel welcome. Will not recommend this place until other travelers post improvement in front desk services.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acoachcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Read the mixed reviews before booking this but needed somewhere between the whale watching and the aquarium – this place fitted the bill and wasn’t too expensive.
As the corridors are open to the elements and there is a regular fog coming off the sea, the carpets and, to some extent, the rooms smell a bit musty. The room was spotlessly clean though and the bed very comfy. Complimentary continental breakfast was excellent – a lot better than just a coffee and muffin. If you want somewhere close to the sea without paying over the odds, I’d recommend here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I was worried when I saw dirty carpeting in the hall ways, and not too attractive exterior. But the rooms were great. The bed was one of the best I ever had in a hotel. The linens were great too and the room was very comfortable. A good night's sleep on a good bed is very important to me.

Rm 112 had a partial view of the bay and backed up to the bike/walking trail which was fun.
The other room we had (I've forgotten the #), had a slider that opened up onto the front patio. We enjoyed it, but if you like your curtains open or want to sleep late it's probably not for you.

Really the only complaint is those ridiculously tiny toilets that so many lower & mid range hotels use.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,989 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wave Street Inn
Wave Street Inn
#37 of 56 in Monterey
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Row Inn

Address: 200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940-1406 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: $109 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannery Row Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Cannery Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Row Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing