We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST lovely place in Monterey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jabberwock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Jabberwock Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“The BEST lovely place in Monterey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Jabberwock for 4 nights and loved everything about it! It's creative, charming, and very clean! We were in an attic room and at first were worried about room height but my husband did not have a problem and he is 6ft 2inches tall. You could tell that every detail of the rooms had been thought out. Our bed felt like we were in a cloud of down with adjustable firmness! I love staying at places where I leave saying "That's the most comfortable bed I've slept in!" We loved sharing breakfasts and evenings (sherry hour especially) with other guests and Patti who is a wonderful hostess!! The Jabberwock made dinner reservations for us and made sure we had the best table in the house for our anniversary. We were completely spoiled and we will definately come back, even from Tennessee!!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    53
    13
    9
    0
See reviews for
52
427
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2006

Jabberwock B&B was a cute, quaint place a little off the beaten path in Monterey. Many secret panels and passageways added to the Alice in Wonderland theme, but the short ceilings was a bit much for a tall person. It was close enough to walk to all the major attractions (cannery row, etc). Food was excellent, place was clean. Service left a little to be desired. We waited 15 minutes upon arrival before seeing any staff members or concierge. We made reservations for the honeymoon suite 5 months prior, but those reservations were "lost." They offered a refund and housed us for free in one of the upstairs bedrooms, which was a nice gesture, but the rooms were small and you had to share a bathroom with several other guests--not something that you want when you're trying to have a romantic getaway. It was an all right place to stay, but would have been better if we had gotten the room we reserved.

  • Stayed March 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2005

A B & B with a creative theme, comfort, and hospitality - what more could you ask for? This gorgeous little inn is within walking distance of Cannery Row. Its rooms are named after elements in Carroll's poem. The beds are heavenly and the rooms are beautifully decorated. The breakfasts are delicious and the cookies are divine. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2002
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
196 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

This a lovely bed and breakfast within walking distance from Cannery Row and the Aquarium. The staff is lovely, breakfast is fantastic. The house has a very nice sitting area to play in the afternoon while sipping some local wine. The only problems are relatively small rooms (although the bed is just terrific) and the inability to lock the room door from outside (which I believe to be quite unsafe).

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Familytraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2005

Pros: Quiet. Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast. Wine and snacks served in afternoon. Cookies and soft drinks always available. One could purchase aquarium tickets at the inn to avoid lines. Area is close (walking distance) to all of the Monterey attractions: aquarium, restaurants, shops, the sea etc. Nice little garden and lawn area. Off street parking. Lots of magazines and games.

Cons: No ability to lock room except from the inside. Anyone from within the house could walk into the room while you were out. Size of room (Wabe) was smaller than expected. Not a good room for just hanging out. Small bathroom.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank Twentysomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2005

We stayed for two nights in two rooms, the borogove and toves and both were delightful. The inn has a perfect location and cannary row as well as old Monterey were accessible via walking. I would recommend to anyone looking for the classic, albeit whimsical, B&B experience. Joan, the innkeeper, was a delight and pointed us in the directions of sites and food that was outstanding! We will definitely stay there next time we are in Monterey!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waynesville, nc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2005

Wonderful whimsical and comfortable B&B with all the right stuff! Third floor rooms are SMALL with no room to place anything yet still have lovely furniture and comfortable beds--and they did have a wonderful bay view. Other rooms are large and very well appointed. Breakfast is just yummy each day. Nice afternoon wine and treats and the cookies at bedtime are terrific. Walking distance (4 blocks) to Cannery Row and lots of restaurants--menus provided for restaurants in Monterey and Carmel. Read Alice in Wonderland before you go to Jabberwock! It seemed unusual that the owners did not live there, as we wanted to meet them. We would stay there again, but not on third floor.

Helpful?
7 Thank odog828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jabberwock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jabberwock Inn

Property: The Jabberwock Inn
Address: 598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jabberwock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This craftsman-style home awaits you, gardens entice you, rooms overlook the bay, some with fireplaces and Jacuzzis, down comforters snuggle you in, and faint sounds of sea lions bark you to sleep. Imagine awaking to hints of breakfast wafting up the stairwell, 5 o'clock wine and nibblers, cookies and milk at bedtime. Imagine...Walking to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman Wharf or biking along 17-Mile Drive, browsing Carmel shops. Imagine...Falling into the rabbit hole and finding The Jabberwock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Jabberwock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jabberwock Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing