We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hospitality”
Review of The Jabberwock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jabberwock Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“wonderful hospitality”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

John and Dawn were great hosts, and we felt like we were visiting friends. The house was very comfy, and we spent evening time just reading in the living room. They kindly upgraded our room to the Mimsy, which had a beautiful view. Note that the shower has no visual separation from the bedroom, and the toilet area has just a sliding door. The inn is walking distance to the aquarium.

The happy hour included wine and hot appetizers: wings, mini corndogs, asparagus, ham with cream cheese. Lots of complimentary goodies available 24 hours: cookies, cashews, Dawn's excellent homemade Meyer limoncello, brandy, sherry. John chatted with us during the evening. To top off a great stay, Dawn gave us some cookies to go!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    56
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
57
456
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2009

The owners of the Jabberwock treated us to the best service we have ever had: lavish breakfasts served at a beautiful Victorian style table with the other guests...it was like dining with family, plus all the laughs and warmth, minus the squabbles and drama. The gorgeous sunlit sitting room overlooking the bay and the lovely garden with its box hedge rooms are perfect places to sit and dream, the sleep number beds next to cozy fireplaces were so comfortable we never wanted to leave them, and the little decorative touches all around make the place seem like home, except better. The location is wonderful - we walked to Cannery Row and the Aquarium...but the best part was meeting the hosts, who were so warm and gracious, when it was time to go, we didn't feel like we were leaving a place of business, but like we were leaving friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2009

The Jabberwock Inn reminded me of all that is good about B&Bs - the personal touch, the feeling that you are getting to know people rather than being an anonymous guest, quirky books and ornaments, great breakfast and interesting company. I particularly like the board with all of the guests names on. We stayed in the Wabe room - the room was very small and it was a little odd having a glass shower cubicle in the room itself, and I can imagine this being a little tricky if you like your privacy while having a shower! But I'd definitely recommend this place.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank grg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephrata, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

The Jabberwock, and the staff were wonderful! So pleasant, and approachable and very helpful with information about Monterey and places to see and eat.

The room was very comfortable, and the character of the room, with all the little things that made it special, from light fixtures, to interesting sink, window seat to enjoy the view, the numbers bed, and the decanter of sherry....all so special.

The breakfast was absolutely amazing! We had a breakfast souffle, with I recall 5 different cheeses, and an incredible juice smoothy, and I can't forget the delicious croissant pastry stuffed with fruit filling. I can't forget to mention the delicious coffee.

The delicious and very fresh cookies, always available, with cold milk was a very nice treat.

I so hope that we will be able to return to the Jabberwock. It was such a nice memory of our trip to California.

Thanks to all of the staff..so warm and fun to talk with.

In case this review wasn't evidence enough of my feelings for this B&B I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjaz43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We stayed at the Jabberwock Inn for our son's wedding and couldn't have been more pleased! The entire weekend was wonderful! The location is convenient for visiting both Monterey and Pacific Grove but away from the hustle and bustle of tourist traffic. You can enjoy the quiet charm of the inn or make your way a few blocks down the hill to any number of Monterey attractions. The terraced yard was quiet and charming, the perfect spot for a wedding. We had a rehearsal dinner in Pacific Grove and the reception in old Monterey, so we felt fortunate to be staying in an inn that was accessible to everything!

The welcoming atmosphere for our family and guests was better than home! Little touches, like sherry in the rooms or jars of candy around the house, gave a sense of comfort to those who wanted to indulge. Being able to end our days with hors d'oeuvres and wine gave us a chance to begin our evenings with a touch of friendly banter. The appetizers both nights couldn't have been better. The breakfasts were sumptuous, as well. The individual cheese souffles the first morning were a winner, as were the bread puddings our second morning. Having a true breakfast, that our hosts had taken the time to create, was definitely a treat! Why else stay at a Bed and Breakfast?

The inn has a variety of rooms that met our needs. The wrap around porch (which is bright and sunny), a cozy parlor corner to enjoy a game of chess, or comfy couches & chairs, take your pick, you have options for whatever you prefer! There was a lavender sachet on the bed to welcome us to our room. Special soap and ready to use shampoo and wash were available with thick towels in our room with a private patio. The staff was great about making our beds and seeing that our rooms were fresh and clean right after breakfast.

Not only were the hosts, John and Dawn, more than helpful during the wedding weekend, they provided us with support for several months before the wedding. They were willing to work with our son and his fiancee to truly give their wedding the personal touch they wanted. The help and suggestions from John, in watching for details when setting up the wedding site, were VERY appreciated! He was there when we needed him but gave us room to explore the details that could only be accomplished when preparing for the wedding. His suggestions and help (before & after the wedding) will always be appreciated. Dawn covered the house and room details with equal grace and was always willing to help with any situation.

The views from the Jabberwock Inn are fabulous, particularly from the sun porch and various guest rooms, so the natural location is wonderful. As Innkeepers, John and Dawn are truly making the Jabberwock their own. They have shared their visions of what makes the Inn a special place, yet kept the historical character of the home. Their choice of new paint and wallpaper to match the age and style of the house on the main level were inspired. You can imagine the author, Lewis Carroll, being right at home writing his Jabberwocky poem. Yet, some new touches are fun and show the care that John & Dawn are taking to make improvements. This is a B & B to be enjoyed and appreciated!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstRate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winters
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I also love TripAdvisor. And I was not disappointed by taking the advise of the majority in this case. I like to read a cross section of reviews before I book a place (I do the same thing on Amazon, by they way - look at the bad reviews and try to balance them with the good, and my own likes and dislikes.) Though Jabberwock had a couple of not so great reviews, there were SOOO many favorable that we decided to check them out - a lot because of the location (just up the hill from The Monteray Bay Aquarium and Canery Row - how do you beat that?), and partly because we really love the B&B experience where you get to meet interesting people and stay in a more home-like setting.

We were not disappointed on any account staying at The Jabberwock Inn. The Innkeepers, John & Dawn were accommodating in their service and charming in their reception and conversation. They really made us feel like we'd come home. The common areas were not common at all, there were surprises around each corner, lovely treats and snacks, beautiful antiques & though the decor is themed, neither myself or my husband found them overdone.

Our room, The Toves, was just off the Kitchen but we were never bothered by noise or any other kind of disruption. Actually, we loved it because there is a little garden sitting area attached to the room where we sat and drank tea (and had a cookie), in the afternoon.

Our room was exceptionally clean, linens fresh and crisp. The Jabberwock rooms remind me very much of rooms you might find in Europe. A little quirky in some ways, but charming all the same.

Later Dawn & John served wine and appetizers which were delicious. They made an excellent recommendation for dinner at a restaurant that we would never have found on our own.

We loved the breakfasts served there, definitely decadent, but, hey, we're on vacation! We both loved the Jabber Juice and John was very willing to share the recipe which, as it turns out is very much like a fruit smoothie.

As for a the low reviews, I'm glad I read them, but they didn't hold true for us. I cracked-up at one of them where the reviewer said they went on to the Intercontenental which they found much more to their liking. Goodness!! Could the two places be any more different? THAT is a case of comparing Apples to Oranges. Perhaps those guests just don't care for the whole B&B thing, I don't know. Suffice to say, I am with the Majority in this case. We are planning to spend time at The Jabberwock again over the holidays and are bringing friends with us. Look for us in December John & Dawn, it's great to have something to look forward to.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilbcnu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

We did our homework to select the perfect B&B in Monterey and we were rewarded with a great experience. John & Dawn were terrific innkeepers and truly made us feel like family in their home. The Craftsman style home had a great deal of charm and we loved staying in the Borogove room for 3 nights. Although the other rooms looked nice and had their own charm, we enjoyed staying in our spacious room with a great view of the bay. The fireplace, jaccuzzi, complimentary brandy, etc. added to the experience.

John and Dawn, without pressure, helped to bring the different guests together each evening for wonderful appetizers, great wine, and good conversation. John also taught Bocci ball to interested guests and fostered good natured competition between teams on the court at their property.

The hosts were also wonderful for arranging reservations/tickets for dinner, the aquarium, and for itenerary help if desired. The location of the Jabberwock is perfect for a quick walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium and a short drive to the wharf or 17 Mile Drive.

The endless home baked cookies were a hit with everyone. Breakfast, though a little high on carbs, was very tasty and got our days off to a good start.

The only thing we were disappointed in was that we had to leave!!!
We will recommend this whimisical Alice in Wonderland getaway to any of our friends who may be headed to that part of California for a great travel adventure.

Dan & Diane
Austin, Texas

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pineridge123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
1.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jabberwock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jabberwock Inn

Property: The Jabberwock Inn
Address: 598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jabberwock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This craftsman-style home awaits you, gardens entice you, rooms overlook the bay, some with fireplaces and Jacuzzis, down comforters snuggle you in, and faint sounds of sea lions bark you to sleep. Imagine awaking to hints of breakfast wafting up the stairwell, 5 o'clock wine and nibblers, cookies and milk at bedtime. Imagine...Walking to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman Wharf or biking along 17-Mile Drive, browsing Carmel shops. Imagine...Falling into the rabbit hole and finding The Jabberwock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Jabberwock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jabberwock Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing