We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing B&B”
Review of The Jabberwock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jabberwock Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oakley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing B&B”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

If you are looking for a B&B that is not only in a great location overlooking the ocean, but looking for wonderful innkeepers, look no further! This lovely place is like staying with old friends, John & Dawn made us feel right at home the moment we walked through the door. We stayed in the "Mome Rath" room, which is a corner room on the 2nd floor. It was so comfortable & spacious, loved the fireplace & view of the ocean from the vanity area. The bedding feels new and fresh, and the bed was so comfortable. The food was amazing, from the breakfast to the cookies in the evening. Dawn is more than willing to share her recipes, which I look forward to cooking for my family. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    56
    14
    9
    0
See reviews for
57
447
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This spacious B&B was a delightful place to stay in Monterey. The house has lots of common space and the room we chose, which was the smallest and least expensive had a great view of the bay. It is located just a few blocks up from the Cannery Row downtown area, so once you park there's no need for a car.
The innkeepers are super friendly and helpful and we enjoyed chatting with them and another couple over complimentary wine.
The room was quiet, small and had a SleepNumber bed, which was fun to fool around with. Our private bathroom was just down the hall and it had a great shower.
The breakfast was very good and filling and we sat on the porch at the four top, which was nice. No one joined us there, which made this B&B experience a little less social, so for people who don't want to chat, head to the porch.
The Inn has menus from all the local restaurants, which is nice for browsing.

Room Tip: If you're not going to spend a lot of time in your room and don't mind a bathroom down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertafromMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very quaint b&b in a wonderful location - just a couple of blocks downhill to Cannery Row. Owners were full of useful local information eg cheapest fuel, decent restaurants etc. homemade cookies, pre-dinner wine a lovely touch. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie19570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I spent a lot of timing reviewing different B&B's in the Monterey area for our babymoon. The Jabberwock Inn did not disappoint! We had only 1 night and I wish we had more. The house was wonderful, cocktail hour was a great time to meet the other guests and get recommendations for dinner, the evening cookies and milk were great, and the morning Jabber Juice is to die for!!! So good it should be bottled and sold. We were so surprised when we arrived and actually got a choice between 2 rooms, upgrades, yeah!! The B&B was not full that night so we got an unexpected upgrade, couldn't have been more perfect for our babymoon. We chose the Mome Rath room, corner room on the second floor with a small ocean view. We got a choice between that and the Toves. Both very nice rooms. The Toves is on the lower level next to the kitchen, but has a small outside private garden. Great location, about 5 blocks from the ocean and Cannery Row. May be a while before we return with the little one on the way, but if we get the chance we'd most certainly return!! We had a wondeful time, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have stayed here about 7-8 times through the years, and have never been disappointed. The staff, the accomidations, the food, the evening cheese and sherry, the evening milk & cookies .... all first-rate. The location is a short walk from the heart of Cannery Row & the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms involve climbing stairs (there is only one room that is bottom floor level, so eld...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaclavR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Having flicked through the rest of the reviews there is not much to add except that the vast majority of them are accurate - a truly lovely place. I'm prompted to add a review because I turned up with a food allergy (gluten) and they could not have been more accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble, it was a really nice experience. I'm send my parents there in March next year (2013). Just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

With our "hospitality" industry's scientific, standardized planning of hotel rooms down to the soap bar size, it can be a wonderful respite to enjoy a highly rated, homey B&B in a beautiful place like Monterey. The Jabberwock has been in business for many years (five under the ownership of the current innkeepers) in an early 1900's, large arts & craft mansion. Cannery Row and the world-famous Aquarium are only four easy-walking blocks away. The breakfasts are top-of-the game, and it's nice to have sherry in your room and home-baked cookies always available. But what makes the Jabberwock very special are the people: the innkeepers and the guests. You will not find a more friendly, caring and efficient pair of innkeepers--John and Dawn--who instantly remember your name (it's also on a white board along with your residence city for all to see). Although we were only there two nights, the guests we met both at breakfast and the evening social hour were a delightfully interesting mix of people from all sorts of places and backgrounds; conversation flowed about both serious (politics even given the recent national election) and fun topics of the day. That's probably our biggest reason why we deviate from hotels from time to time, because we like talking with interesting people. Like all B&B's in big, historic houses, there is a wide variety of rooms (and prices) to pick from. Reading the inn's website and talking with the innkeepers will lead you to a room that you will like. We happily stayed in a mid-sized room with a gas fireplace and a great view of the bay. A bonus to all of this is that unlimited, on-street parking is almost always available in front of the inn.

Room Tip: Read website and discuss your particular likes with innkeepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KurtNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,966 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,302 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jabberwock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jabberwock Inn

Property: The Jabberwock Inn
Address: 598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jabberwock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This craftsman-style home awaits you, gardens entice you, rooms overlook the bay, some with fireplaces and Jacuzzis, down comforters snuggle you in, and faint sounds of sea lions bark you to sleep. Imagine awaking to hints of breakfast wafting up the stairwell, 5 o'clock wine and nibblers, cookies and milk at bedtime. Imagine...Walking to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman Wharf or biking along 17-Mile Drive, browsing Carmel shops. Imagine...Falling into the rabbit hole and finding The Jabberwock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Jabberwock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jabberwock Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing