We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely thoughtful people in a wonderful house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jabberwock Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Jabberwock Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely thoughtful people in a wonderful house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Having flicked through the rest of the reviews there is not much to add except that the vast majority of them are accurate - a truly lovely place. I'm prompted to add a review because I turned up with a food allergy (gluten) and they could not have been more accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble, it was a really nice experience. I'm send my parents there in March next year (2013). Just lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    47
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
38
365
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

With our "hospitality" industry's scientific, standardized planning of hotel rooms down to the soap bar size, it can be a wonderful respite to enjoy a highly rated, homey B&B in a beautiful place like Monterey. The Jabberwock has been in business for many years (five under the ownership of the current innkeepers) in an early 1900's, large arts & craft mansion. Cannery Row and the world-famous Aquarium are only four easy-walking blocks away. The breakfasts are top-of-the game, and it's nice to have sherry in your room and home-baked cookies always available. But what makes the Jabberwock very special are the people: the innkeepers and the guests. You will not find a more friendly, caring and efficient pair of innkeepers--John and Dawn--who instantly remember your name (it's also on a white board along with your residence city for all to see). Although we were only there two nights, the guests we met both at breakfast and the evening social hour were a delightfully interesting mix of people from all sorts of places and backgrounds; conversation flowed about both serious (politics even given the recent national election) and fun topics of the day. That's probably our biggest reason why we deviate from hotels from time to time, because we like talking with interesting people. Like all B&B's in big, historic houses, there is a wide variety of rooms (and prices) to pick from. Reading the inn's website and talking with the innkeepers will lead you to a room that you will like. We happily stayed in a mid-sized room with a gas fireplace and a great view of the bay. A bonus to all of this is that unlimited, on-street parking is almost always available in front of the inn.

Room Tip: Read website and discuss your particular likes with innkeepers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KurtNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for our honeymoon and it was amazing! Everything you would want to see is a short walk away; John and Dawn made us feel right at home. With the delicious breakfasts, hor d'oeuvres, and cookies before bed we felt absolutely spoiled. We will never forget our perfect honeymoon and will definitely be staying at the Inn again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

What good fortune that we found this beautiful place to stay for our elopement. Dawn and John add a new dimension to hosting, and it's clear that they genuinely enjoy their "work". This delightful inn is superbly appointed with antiques and whimsy; the spacious bridal suite features a lovely view of the bay and the most awesome bathtub on the planet. We particularly enjoyed the imaginative and tasty treats from the kitchen: breakfasts were extraordinary, as were the hors d'oeuvres at 5, the homemade limoncello and cookies after dinner. Even as newlyweds we enjoyed the company of our fellow Jabberwockers during meals and while sipping wine in the parlor. Everything about this place exceeded all our expectations!! Dawn even offered to be the witness and photographer for our wedding ceremony at Lovers' Point! Thank you for creating such a magical experience for us- one that we look forward to repeating each year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Jabberwock while on a road trip from San Diego to San Francisco celebrating our 40th anniversary with another couple. We were only able to stay one night but from checkin to checkout, our experience was superb. The owners went out of their way to make our short stay memorable. The afternoon wine and appetizers were a nice touch. We were on the third floor in two rooms with a shared sitting room. Although these two rooms were small, they were very comfortable. The inn is within walking distance to the aquarium and the waterfront. We are looking forward to returning to Monterey and the Jabberwock. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjoyal6267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Jabberwock is the way a Bed & Breakfast should be! The home was beautiful, the food was outstanding and our hosts - Dawn and John - were absolutely lovely! We stayed there for 3 days as our best friends were married there in the courtyard. Our room was so comfortable, great views of the bay, and everytime we opened the door we could smell something good cooking or baking! The best of being home - but away from home! The Jabberwock is very relaxing and informal, and close to downtown Monterey, Cannery Row, and walking along the coast. I am so looking forward to going back - soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique and are named so it's easy to select a type of room. We had the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
267 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at The Jabberwock for three days whilst attending a wedding. After only ever staying at a bed and breakfast twice previously we did not really know what to expect.

We will go back again. Dawn, John and the entire staff are more attentive than at any hotel I have ever traveled to previously. The location is great with complimenatary parking and walking distance to some really net restaurants of most any type you want. It takes about 5 -10 minutes to walk to the famous Cannery Row and also the Aquarium too. If you enjoy exercise or fresh air you could enjoy a walk along the fantastic trail that follows the coastline and is accessible to most any age group too. Viewing the seals is interesting as are the photo opportunities as you progress along the shoreline.

This has truly been a fantastic weekend at the Jabberwock and we cannot wait to return and continue to explore the area knowing that we have a true home away from home awaiting us.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ppaintguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterey
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
0.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
2.7 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jabberwock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jabberwock Inn

Property: The Jabberwock Inn
Address: 598 Laine St, Monterey, CA 93940-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jabberwock Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This craftsman-style home awaits you, gardens entice you, rooms overlook the bay, some with fireplaces and Jacuzzis, down comforters snuggle you in, and faint sounds of sea lions bark you to sleep. Imagine awaking to hints of breakfast wafting up the stairwell, 5 o'clock wine and nibblers, cookies and milk at bedtime. Imagine...Walking to the Aquarium, Cannery Row, Fisherman Wharf or biking along 17-Mile Drive, browsing Carmel shops. Imagine...Falling into the rabbit hole and finding The Jabberwock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Jabberwock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Jabberwock Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing