We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sushi in Town!”
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
Ranked #26 of 304 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Belleville, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Sushi in Town!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Every time my wife and I are in town we make it a point to stop in for some Sushi. They have the best Sushi we've ever had. If you are used to Benihana Sushi- Crystal Fish is one hundred times better and more delicious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelingKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    106
    14
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Indeed a good restaurant!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Before heading for Southern California for a vacation, my family had eaten there, and we like the food, the service, and the ambiance. The waitress was friendly and served food fast. Very convenient location and parking as well. But just a little old building with old carpet and probably old paint, too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent sushi, very good service, wish it was in my town.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stay in Carmel Valley once or twice a year lately and a visit to Crystal Fish in nearby Monterrey has become mandatory. It's quite popular with locals so a reservation is a must as the wait can be substantial. The Kira Kira roll is one of the best rolls I've had anywhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick service pretty good food”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I went at the lunch hour. Average to good cali roll and some extras for the inexpensive price. Good service and very friendly staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Beach
Level 6 Contributor
518 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Disappointing to me, but apparently average to great for others.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

As someone who loves good Japanese food, this was average or less. The only restaurant I liked in this town before has closed, so I gave Crystal Fish a try. I noticed the sushi chefs look Mexican and certainly not Japanese. I guess that explains the shell in the oysters, which a Japanese chef would never do. All 6 had shell. Also, the hot sauce (sriracha I guess) overpowered the oysters, so I couldn't taste them. I am used to Japanese chefs putting wasabi on if they think it should be there, but here I didn't see any. The ikura were fine, but sparse and the nori was soggy, even though "freshly" made. The menu was ⅔ rolls - mostly specialty rolls (i.e. not typical Japanese rolls). They did have nigiri and sashimi but not too many other typical Japanese appetizers or main plates, which I missed. We asked for clear soup (none) and then miso soup. It was on the bill but they never brought it. Service was friendly but only fair to spotty. They didn't have most of the sakes on the list. The shoyu was an odd watery consistency as if watered down. All that being said, the atmosphere was fine. Still, there is no reason for me to go back except that if there is nothing else in town, I would probably do it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonCapeMayBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing