We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb sushi”
Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
Ranked #25 of 305 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb sushi”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had an early evening dinner and were very pleased that the food lived up to its reputation.
The restaurant need a bit of updating with tired wall colours and fading carpet but don't let this put you off as the food makes up for this in spades!we had the 7 piece sushi dinner and a salad and extra eel , miso soup and another salad - all very good but we had to carry-out the remainder as it was too much to eat for us in one go. Good value for money , pleasant service and highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    106
    14
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great sashimi”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

While visiting Monterey bay aquarium we had a craving for sushi. Found crystal fish to be rated high. Surprisingly awesome. Nice oysters election of 3. Kumamoto oysters were great. Sashimi was great, chu toro, and blue fin tuna were delicious, firecracker roll was good, average place with above average sushi. Would def come back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BimmerNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good sushi!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had a very tasty dinner at Crystal Fish. They did their best to accommodate our allergies and we were able to eat without anyone breaking out in hives or getting a migraine. Our waitress was fabulous, attentive and brought a list of our allergies to the chefs. They are kid friendly too. Of course, if your child is not used to restaurant dining and can't sit still, it would not work well as this is not a very large restaurant. The sushi was fresh and delicious. They have some beautiful, creative and tasty rolls.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeedaBeach916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Get the Bento Box!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Bento Box is a great value! It allows you to get the miso soup, rice and salad, which are all delicious, and then two or three choices from a list of sushi, sashimi, and other entrees. The presentation of the Bento Box is beautiful. We got the sweet potato roll, spicy tuna roll, fire cracker roll and sashimi. The sweet potato roll was outstanding; we would definitely get it again! We spent the day at the Monterey Bay Aquarium and this was a nice walk from the aquarium. We were seated quickly and our waiter was very attentive. We highly recommend this restaurant!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Sushi”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My friend and I were looking for a fabulous Sushi place and the concierge highly recommended this little hole in the wall. The decor is nothing to look at but the staff is friendly. The food was great, and the portions large. Even at lunch on a Saturday the place was packed.
If you are spending time in Monterey make time to stop here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aMcConn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing