We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Crystal Fish

Crystal Fish
Ranked #24 of 298 Restaurants in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly, fresh and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

In Monterey for business we decided to pop in to Crystal Fish for some Sushi. The restaurant was packed but there were openings at the bar. We found the chefs to be funny and informative as they quickly made our food. The albacore was fresh caught and very good. The salmon was also very fresh and portions were large. The Big Ryan Roll was also excellent. The menu has a few originals and most of the standards. I'll definitely be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SocalScott61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    105
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This has become my favorite sushi bar!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011


Best in town, so far. A number of years ago, I used to drive to Santa Clara just to have sushi at my then favorite sushi restaurant. That was before I discovered Crystal Fish. Fish is always fresh, rolls are well prepared, and the speciality rolls are excellent with a large variety of combinations of flavors. Also available is cold premium sakes, and draft beer, which is always a plus. As a starter, try the seared albacore tuna. It's NOT your Mom's canned tuna. Good, friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tkbuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great sushi. Nice vibe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

Nice surprise away from the really touristy vibe. Really good fresh sushi

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustUs03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to the expectations!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

If you love sushi this is a must. We went with our two children and ate at the sushi bar. They were very accommodating by splitting all our orders for our kids. They even split the dishes for my wife and I because we were sitting at opposite ends of the bar. We had two of the maki sushi rolls which were excellent! Some of the best we have had and we eat sushi at least once a month. Our kids split a combo meal which included some veggie rolls, teriyaki steak, rice, soup and salad. All excellent. Its a short walk to Cannery Row from there if you wish. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAY24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Sushi in a Laid Back Locals-Type Restaurant Away from Cannery Row Scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

We love Monterey, and we always stay on Cannery Row, but often--even in the so-called off-season, the scene at the Cannery Row restaurants is a bit much (e.g., crowds, elevated prices, unruly children). Unfortunately, our annual trip to Monterey seems to always coincide with Bistro Moulin's post-Labor Day vacation, so we have yet to eat at this restaurant that so many have raved about. This most recent trip was no different, and, finding Bistro Moulin closed, we decided to look for a laid back option and Crystal Fish seemed like it might fit the bill. When we arrived it was busy with non-touristas, and we had to wait a few minutes for a table to clear. Once we were seated, the service was spot on, and we were impressed with the menu, especially the daily specials. Miyagi oysters followed by sashimi (sustainably-sourced yellowtail) and then on to local squid and sweet shrimp. A couple of imaginative rolls such as the Mahalo Roll (yellowtail with asparagus and cucumber topped with mango sauce and Macademia nuts) and the Big Ryan Roll (shrimp tempura, spicy tuna, avocado topped with albacore hamachi) rounded out our first Crystal Fish experience...it won't be our last!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnAssignment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Fish also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Crystal Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing