We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Movies and the Monterey Movie Tour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monterey Movie Tours

Monterey Movie Tours
Book In Advance
Book a Tour
Ranked #7 of 41 Tours in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
101 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Love the Movies and the Monterey Movie Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Like the reviewer before me, we took this tour as a port excursion while on the Celebrity Century Wine Cruise. My husband and I enjoy movies, golf, and nature so this was a perfect answer to "how do we see everything in Monterey in the shortest period of time?". We were lucky enough to have the owner as our tour guide and he timed our trip and the movie clips that were continuously on screen (multiple TV's all over this comfortable tour bus) with the locations that we were seeing outside our bus. From the parking lot in the harbor and back, he had interesting commentary about all sorts of things about Monterey, from info on Clint Eastwood (yes, this was after the 'empty chair at the convention') to the Spanish settlers and the missions built across California and the mystery owners of the grand homes on the 17-mile drive thru Pebble Beach. And boy, was it worth it to just see Pebble Beach Golf Course and the CLUB!! This was my favorite tour of the whole cruise-based tours!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    13
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
607 reviews
466 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 810 helpful votes
“Monterey Movie Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I choose the tour as part of a Celebrity Century shore excursion. It was a great choice. The tour combines a 17 mile drive along the coast with stops at Bird Rock (Monterey coastline), Lone Cypress and the Pebble Beach Golf Club. Standing at the 18th hole was awesome.You are transported in a luxury coach which is equiped with tv monitors for each passenger. Head phones are provided so that hearing Doug Lumsden's commentary about the individual movie sets is easy to follow. As you approach each movie location the tv monitor comes on and you can see the clip on the screen as you look out your window at the location today. Sometimes the bus stops at the location and allows for photos to be taken. If possible try to get a seat on the passenger side of the vehicle for that is the best side to get views of the beautiful Monterey coastline. Dave's a radio DJ and when you first hear his voice you understand why. He has an extensive knowledge of movies, local history, fun facts and stories about the celebrities that live or lived in the area. His father was a roommate of Jimmy Stewart during WWII. Some of the film making of National Velvet, Cannery Row, Play Misty for Me, Turnner and Hootch were done in the area. I am old enough to know of all the movies mentioned on the tour and appreciative of the personal anecdotes and memories Dave shared with us. It is the tour to take.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank duck8to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you love the movies.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Unique way to look at the area. Clips of movies overhead as you look at the actual site. A bit expensive at $55 per person, but you can use the code "MRYCOM" and get $10 off per ticket. The bus was comfy and seemed new both inside and out. There are three stops so not much opportunity for pictures unless you snap through the window as you roll past. Our tour guide, Doug, was very knowledge and witty. I don't think young children would enjoy this. You get to get off the bus at the Pebble Beach Golf course and go through the clubhouse and onto the rise over the first tee. Also, make sure you have plenty of camera batteries...in the pro shop I had to pay $25 for 4...yikes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank awayfromhome1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Really fun tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I loved seeing scenes from movies filed in and around Monterey on the TV screens in the bus and then seeing the actual spots themselves. Not a good tour for kids or teenagers because most of the movies are very old with actors/actresses they wouldn't have heard of. I liked the 17 mile drive scenery and Pebble Beach too. This was highly enjoyable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CMC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for Team Buliding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

We wanted to do something different for our office, so our whole staff joined the tour as a team building activity. The movie trivia, movie clips, and spectacular views of the Monterey Peninsula.were enjoyed by all. We especially appreciated the break at The Tap Room at The Lodge at Pebble Beach where we had the most heavenly coconut cake. The coach was comfortable and afforded fantastic views of the coastline along the 17-Mile Drive. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Movie Tours also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Movie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing