We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Totally Entertaining & Beautiful”

Monterey Bay Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.95*
and up
Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission
Ranked #1 of 101 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the oceans.
Toronto
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Totally Entertaining & Beautiful”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We were thinking it might be too geared toward kids, but we were enthralled! It brought out 'the kid' in us! The jelly fish displays were the most gorgeous -- and the 'touch tanks' were we got to hold little creatures was super cool.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,551
    2,186
    697
    176
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
174 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“I've seen better - both in US and Europe”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I was a bit disappointed with the dimension of the tanks. They all seemed so small! The otters', the giant octopus', the jellyfish... All the tanks look very tiny, when the structure is so huge. I wonder if the animals are happy. Maybe there is more space that you cannot see, I hope it is so.

The otter tanks were pretty dirty, so with an army of kids it was impossible to see something from a bit further away. I love fish and sea animals, but this was not too thrilling, when the price is so high. And there were NO seahorses when I visited!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank nini_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still good”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

A great half-day experience, especially if you go to the otter and open sea feedings. Cindy's cafe has pretty good food. Lots of helpful staff/volunteers. I thought there were too many jellyfish. The tickets are not cheap. The set of bathrooms near the cafe were closed, and the others were far away. We walked from our inn, otherwise the parking is an additional expense.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank UCgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Half a day”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

It's exciting for the kids but as an adult while the cause is important the actual sights are very limited. If you are very interested in ocean fauna yes it's nice but the aquarium isn't very big, the penguins and the puffin enclosure are smaller than some others I've had the chance to visit. The entire breadth of it if planned properly can be covered in less than a day.

Long story short it's a good decision to visit, yes. But plan it well. Pick up a guide spot one auditorium show (when we were there luna the other was still playing) and one or two feeding timings. Whst we found useful was setting up a text message reminder, which helps the aquarium send you information about unscheduled feedings and in our case grey whale spottings! So do remember to do that. The instructions are available on the aquarium map.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anwesha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Monterey visit”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

The aquarium is a must see in monterey. Well worth the price of admission and a great cause to support. A great place to visit right after your whale watching trip.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pupasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Aquarium also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Bay Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing