We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best aquarium I've been to”

Monterey Bay Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.95*
and up
Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the oceans.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best aquarium I've been to”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I don't know why some of the reviews are negative, this aquarium is the best I have been to (and I've been to a lot). We spent about 3 hours here and the best part was the feeding in the giant tank. Also some of the presentations in the auditorium were very interesting. It is pricey for an aquarium but I do think it is worth it and a must see if you are in the area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank arapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,743
    2,234
    717
    178
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“TwoDay in Monterey”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I was advised in advance to make this a two day visit. Good advice. This plan allowed us to see other places and do other things, and appreciate our second day of the visit. We spent PART of each day at the aquarium. Day one, we listened to speakers and viewed the feedings. Day two, we perused the exhibits and hands on areas. It was an excellent combination and made for a relaxing visit. If you stay in an area hotel, most will offer you a two day pass for the cost of a single day. On both days, we entered as ticketed guests and bypassed lines.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
225 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend the day”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great place for anyone who appreciates the sea and sea life. Their research efforts are also highly appreciated. The shows are fascinating and educational. The entire place is serene in spite of the number of people. The level of excitement goes up when there is a whale sighting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Under the sea...”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Absolutely loved this place! Huge aquarium with everything you can think of living there! My nephew, who is going to college to be a marine biologist was mesmerized the entire time; we all were. Definitely a must see spot when you visit Monterey.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelTwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level Contributor
249 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“The Best Aquarium Experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is an extraordinary aquarium experience. The city of Monterey, California has created a "destination" experience around their world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium. This is a very popular place, and we arrived on a Saturday morning at opening time; but we avoided long lines through use of e-tickets on our mobile phone. We wisked right in, and immediately went to view the famous Sea Otters feeding in the ocean waters directly in front of the aquarium. We were helped by the sea otter spotters; volunteers who helped us, provided binoculars, pointed out the sea otters in the water, and gave details about their habits. Wonderful.

Yes, this is a busy place, and it is popular, but relax and enjoy the experience. Go to the "petting ponds" where you can handle the sea urchins, sea cucumbers, hermit crabs, etc. See the live shows of the feedings early in the morning with the penguins and fish species. Yes, there are baby trollers, and kids running around very excited, but that is all part of the experience. Just be prepared to enjoy yourself, and share this wonderful experience with a few of your friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monterey Bay Aquarium also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Bay Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing