We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“lovely new hotel in a renovated area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Scotts Valley CA
Level Contributor
270 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“lovely new hotel in a renovated area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

One of the newest hotels in Monterey, the Clement is the anchor to the recently renovated and redeveloped Cannery Row. It is located literally on the water, and the view from its restaurants and decking are stunning. You get the feeling of the constant sea – sometimes placid, sometimes angry – and you also feel a part of the overall weather, whether sunny or raining, overcast, or at night.

Having already sruvived the high season of summer, it still feels like the staff is still struggling a bit. Customer service is not as attentive as I’m used to at other international Intercontinental destinations, and actually a little less wam than at several other Monterey area hotels and restaurants. (We later spent a night at the Marriott, and have stayed several times at a few of the Best Western motels in Monterey.)

Since it is on the waterfront, I’m sure there were many building restrictions put in place for size and height. So, the hotel suffers a bit because t he parking is located a couple of blocks away from the lobby, although valet parking is also available (valet parking is common at the other major hotels in Monterey as well). And, the hotel is split into two buidlings. One has rooms with ocean view, so if you can get one , it is a spectaclar view. It was nice to sit with he drapes open, next to the gas fireplace while indulging in a bottle of wine ……. Watching the waves, seeing the sky change color.

One tip if you don’t want to hassle with the valet parking and don’t need help with your bags. Checkin, then self-park. Once you have your room key, you can access the hotel across the bike path from the parking garage. Once inside, you can take the walkway over to the oceanfront part of the hotel, if that is where your room is. However, the trip does not work as well in reverse, since you cannot enter the parking garage from the bike path and instead have to go around the building to enter at the same place as cars do.

For December, a slow month in Monterey for tourism, the hotel comped us breakfast both weekends we were there, which we took in the C restaurant. The food was outstanding – I had the huevos rancheros with crab and shrimp and the Clement Eggs Benedict (with crab cakes instead of English muffins) twice each ! Very delicious. My husband tried to opt for a lighter meal, but ended up with a huge portion of tasty french toast with fresh berries one day and waffles on another !

The rooms are furnished in a spare but elegant décor. There is a long table/dresser that runs nearly the length of the room which provides adequate storage for all unpacking as well as storage for toiletries, papers, etc. The bed was comfortable. Overall the room had an airy feeling .

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    651
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
854
1,218
84
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

One of the best hotels in the area. Only one critique. The self parking is frustrating. Guests are not allowed to use the employee entrance which is very close to the hotel. Instead, we have to walk all the around the block and then up the stairs to get to your car. This is very contrary to the hotels theme of customer service. Even the guest doors were locked a couple time so I had to duck under car gate to enter the lot. The parking card also didn't work. It would make it easier if they just added a key card pad at the employee door. Or just leave it unlocked since the lot technically isn't secure because anyone can just walk thru the car entrance. Moral of the story, I think they want us to use the valet.

Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jliuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

Stayed 2 nights in a room with 2 queens overlooking the courtyard and Bay. The decor in the rooms leaves something to be desired. Rooms are very STARK. Decor could only be described as so post-modern that it is on the verge of industrial or even post-nuclear/ Orwellian with an ever-so slight oriental influence. Austere decor, not warm or romantic. More of what I would expect to find in big city like Tokyo. Place is very clean and service, overall, good. The rooms are a little cramped. They cant fit roll-away in a room with 2 queens, if that is needed. Breakfast menu/ food was good and reasonably priced. Great location, easy walk to Aquarium. Had a errant $12 charge to my bill for the day AFTER I left. Manager couldnt find it in his records and wanted me to send billls etc.....not sure what happened there. There really is no "pool" as such, but more of a small lap pool. And this needed to be kept a little warmer. Again, nice place, but not exactly the "warm" experience you might have in mind when staying at cannery row. If "quaint" is what you are loooking for, best bet is another hotel, unless you like decor a described above. But, very clean indeed. Valet parking a plus.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifthetruthfits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

What a wonderful experience. The staff was warm and welcoming. They were very helpful in me take care of a few additional things I needed help with. In addition, the decor is wonderful. It has a very aquatic feel to it, which blends into the town of Monterey. Lovely hotel. Looking forward to going back.

  • Liked — Service and the accomodations.
  • Disliked — Nothing. All was good.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Annie_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

Stayed 10 days at this new hotel even though we had relatives in town with room available. Did not regret it for one second. Smiling valet service on day one was just the opener. Hotel is right on the water with fantastic views. In the heart of Cannery Row and a 2 mintue walk to the Monterrey Aquarium.
Room service is very reasonable and the food is good. Daily maid service ensures amenities are restocked. Fireplace in the room adds to the atmosphere and was just the right touch as temperatures went into the 50's outside. Gym facilities in the hotel provided workout towels and earbuds, making it easier to keep on track. A lap pool next to the fitness center was heated and never crowded. Personnel in the hotel always had time for questions and made sure our stay was a delight. A definite must stay if you're heading to Monterrey.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TomRSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2009

From the moment I arrived at the Intercontinental I felt at home. All of the staff, from the front desk and valet parking to the bar and spa were friendly and helpful. Additionally, the location can't be beat for access to restaurants, the beach, and an easy walk to Pacific Grove (that gives you great views of the seals by the way). The room was also fabulous. As I was there in a low season and staying for almost a week, they put me in a room with a balcony, fireplace, and a bathtub that rivaled the beach for relaxation. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The fireplace in the room was fabulous!
  • Disliked — Fees for wireless internet in the room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank flaggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2009

My wife and I needed a weekend get-a-way, without kids, and the Clement Monterey was just what the doctor ordered!

From the moment we arrived the terrific staff made us feel right at home. Check in was fast and easy, and the hotel associate, Ric, even took time to walk us through the lobby to point out each amenity.

Our room was fantastic! The stylish, yet simple decor seemed to have a relaxing affect... On second thought, maybe it was the gentle crashing of waves just outside our balcony. In my younger days I would have had thoughts of diving off the balcony into the sea, but these days just sitting there with my wife, gazing at the ocean, and sipping wine was all I could ever want.

The bedding was about as comfortable as we've ever experienced - down comforter and all. In fact, it's so warm I suggest leaving the sliding door open all night (only about an inch, hey, it was February) so you can listen to the ocean.

Our dinner in the C Restaurant was terrific. Ocean view, of course, and great food to match! The clam chowder was the best we had ever tasted! Our Hostess and Server were very pleasant and made our dinning experience a pleasurable one.

Location, Location, Location. The Clement has, by far, the best location in Monterey! It’s next door to the Monterey Bay Aquarium, and right in the middle of the prime shopping district – restaurants, art galleries, boutique clothing shops, wine tasting – something for everyone right out the front door (and the beautiful ocean right out the back door!).

  • Liked — Location, view from room.
  • Disliked — Pool & Jacuzzi is across the street
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KLcreekside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing