We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Had expected a bit more from an Intercon hotel. Service is best described as extremely friendly and enthusiastic but the hotel needs to realise that friendliness cannot be a substitute for competence. Upon arrival, we left the car with the valet and went to check out the sights and had dinner, returning to the hotel almost 3 hours later to find our luggage still had not been delivered to the room. My husband had an early golf game at 7am the next day and we'd asked (the night before) for the car to be brought out at 630am. This also did not happen and we had to repeat the same request to 2 other staff before the car was brought out. So, in a nutshell, service standards lacking. Would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Uberfrau27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear uberfrau27, Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and I do regret that you had some challenges with our Valet/Bell. I am sorry you encountered delays in receiving routine service; I will discuss this with our management team and identify the reasons for our miscommunication. I do hope you will visit Monterey again in the future, and thank you once more for your comments.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    689
    138
    56
    33
See reviews for
908
1,273
94
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed one night and booked a king bed traditional room (at AAA rate). We were fortunate to get a room in the main building on the 2nd floor which had a partial ocean view if you opened the sliding door and looked outside to the right. Also overlooked the Bubba Gump restaurant and drive up area to the hotel. However, it was not noisy. Large room with high ceiling, huge bathroom also. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was very friendly and professional.
Only minus was noise that didn't last too long (20-30 minutes), but woke me up. At first it sounded like an airplane flying above, but then realized it might be a Jacuzzi in the room above. Or perhaps a generator or heating unit. The room next door was not a regular hotel room (no number on door). We requested a quiet room and it was great except for the strange noise at night. We ate at the C restaurant and had some appetizers for dinner as we were not very hungry. Delicious food and excellent service. We would recommend this hotel and would stay in the future if we go back to Monterey. The location and convenience of cafes, bakeries and restaurants is great.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not near generator or heating unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veniceLafayette_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear veniceLafayette, Thank you for your kind remarks, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your favorable mention of our associates and our C Restaurant + Bar as well. I hope you won’t wait too long to return!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed here for a conference in late January. The staff were incredibly nice, the room was as expected for a place of this quality. I have no complaints. The valet parking service was great- I would shop on cannery row and they would take the bags to my car as I stopped by (and I tipped them accordingly). I well-serviced hotel.
The food at the conference was also very good- something that is rare these days!

Room Tip: ask for a bay view room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 685ChristineH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Christine H, I am happy to hear your conference was enjoyable, and you enjoyed your time in our area. I hope you will find the opportunity to return soon!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I am cheating a little on this review because I put July 2013 in the drop down and it was really July 2012 that I stayed at this hotel...I can't go back that far, but I can't leave this review out (I just made an account tonight - last day of Jan 2014).

This hotel feels so luxurious. I spent a fair amount extra to have a view of the water and a private balcony which probably wasn't necessary as the area was just so great to begin with..having said that, it was a special treat to stay in a room like that and I only do it once or twice a year so it was worth it!

The walks around the hotel are so...inspiring and relaxing. Just standing outside the hotel from across the street and looking at it was a pleasure.

There was a wedding at the hotel one of the nights we stayed (a total of three) and it looked very very ritzy. Of all the hotels I've stayed at, this was probably the nicest overall. I haven't felt so relaxed since I visited Hawaii.

I have only been making travel a serious effort for the past six years, but this area is a place I'm going to visit again, and when I do, I will be staying at this hotel. There are a few other choices in the area that appear excellent as well, but I have affection for this hotel, because it was just such a great experience.

Even the dodge grand caravan I rented for our trip down hwy 1 looked good in front of this place. Just remembering it now as I write this, I want to get back there. I stayed here with a dear friend and she was blown away like I was...honestly if you believe that travel is the best way to spend your disposable income, and you're heading to Monterrey...research this hotel, read the reviews, and give it strong consideration. I just don't think you will be disappointed.

What a place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E_701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear E_701, I am very pleased that you are thinking of us so many months following your visit! Even though you stayed for three days, you will find there is much more to see and do during your next visit. Please don’t wait too long to return!
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

this Intercontinental is wonderful from the check in with the valets and drivers to the wonderful front office staff. You feel the genuine warmth from all the associates there. The hotel is so beautiful and the rooms so comfortable, clean and inviting. Dive into the bed and you don't want to leave it.
Sitting in the outside courtyard in the afternoon is just so fun watching the Bay and the sounds of the water. They have lovely firepits and seating arrangements.
The staff is very helpful in suggestions in where you are going and how they can help make your stay more special. Great team! Great Hotel! Great Service! Great Food! Want to go Back...again and again and again!

Room Tip: Of course, if you could get a balcony room facing the water ~ it's an amazing experience leaving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joannie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Joannie T, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and our associates. You are more than welcome to return, again and again!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had the best breakfast! Wonderful view and excellent service. The Hotel is located right in the heart of Cannery Road which makes it a perfect spot. Not to mention the lovely sea lions hanging out right in front of the property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Guapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear 3Guapas, I am pleased you mentioned your “best breakfast” in our C Restaurant + Bar. As you know, there are delightful views from every seat in the dining room, and it’s all just steps from the Bay and Cannery Row. We hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I always stay at the Holiday Inn chain (IHG) and this is their very high-end of the chain. This place is wonderful in every way and the staff is just super. I was having terrible back problems but the massage therapist at the on-site spa took great care of me and I came away pain free. The spa is pricy but quality costs so no big deal. This hotel is right on Cannery Row and a one-minute walk to the aquarium. This is a great place and I'll be back.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Herod L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Herod L, We’re sorry to hear about your back problems, but pleased to hear our InterContinental Spa was able to provide some relief! Thank you for mentioning our associates, and we hope we will see you again very soon.
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing