We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on the Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on the Bay”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel twice with my family and were happy both times. The hotel is very new and the rooms are nice and fairly large. They have some gas fire pits on the patio where you can sit at night and view the bay. The service is very good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConstantTraveller74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,965
    705
    141
    56
    35
See reviews for
926
1,293
97
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We recently stayed here on our way back home from Northern California. Staff was very friendly and we got an upgraded room at check in with a partial ocean view. The room was lovely and comfortable and the view was excellant. Service at this hotel is top notch from the valet service to the restaurant staff. We had forgotten some items in the car and they actually brought it out of the parking garage for us to get our items. Heaters are provided at the outdoor ocean front seating and restaurant patio seating. Happy Hour prices are reasonable but not available on holidays. We even decided to eat at their restaurant for dinner so we didn't have to walk to a restaurant. We had no problem getting reservations even though it was New Years day and the food was excellent. I would recommend staying here anytime you plan a trip to Monterey. Another plus is if you buy Aquarium tickets from the hotel you get to bypass the line. :0)

Room Tip: Ask if they have any rooms to upgrade to at check in. We were given the choice of 2 different upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed two nights at the InterContinental and was amazed by the city, the nice rooms and fireplaces in the rooms and astonished by the views! Breakfast was great, and RA benefits super.

Nice Gym!

Will defiantly stay again when being in Monterey!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel in this amazing city in 2013 while doing a road trip from San Francisco to Las Vegas. I stayed there for 1 night, but I promised my self another trip and should try to visit it every year or At least when ever I'm in CA.
The hotel is facing the peninsula and ever morning you see a whole new sunshine. Ever one was different and quite amazing.
I advise and recommend any one visiting the area to spent at least 3 days there. You will have the best relaxing time in your life. Make sure you visit Carmel and the beach as well.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hisham_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
965 reviews
320 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 757 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We chose to stay at the Clement because we were curious to see what the Ambassador Gold membership provided as benefits for couples. We were happy to find that our standard room had been upgraded to a partial ocean view room. A message was left for us to call housekeeping so that someone could bring us a note from the manager, a plate of fresh fruit, a chocolate bar, and a bottle of water. There was no free breakfast, no two free pieces of laundry per day, no free movie on demand--unlike the Intercontinental hotels we had visited in Singapore and Hong Kong. But there was free wi-fi and a late check out to 4 pm.

The Clement is an ideal families hotel, and in fact, there were many families in the breakfast room over the Christmas-New Year holidays. For a romantic couples getaway, for the same price or less, there are other hotels nearby with ocean views and breakfast included in the room rate.

But we are glad we chose the Clement. Our room 450 was perfect for us: quiet, a gas fireplace, and what they call a "walk-out-porch,” that is, it's wide enough to stand on but not sit on. The room was complete, clean, and very comfortable. The location can't be better. We appreciated the upgrade to partial ocean view because we know the number of those rooms is limited. The proximity of the very good C Restaurant was a big plus. Staff are well-trained, gracious and professional. Moving in and out with a large number of suitcases in that crowded area was smooth and easy. We feel the hotel is comparatively expensive for a couples experience, but luxurious and very well managed. We had a very good stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

First, the hotel. Perfect location to walk or ride bikes around monterey/pacific grove. We parked car and never got in it for 2+ days! The hotel was very clean, staff was awesome, friendly, and always helpful.

Second, our room. Now we splurged for a 1-bedroom suite, which go over $400 a night, with that in mind, it was an amazing room, if you do this its so worth it! The room is right above water, we watched whales, dolphins, otters, swimming/playing within 500ft of dock below us, and best of all, you never hear your neighbors! This was first hotel we didnt have to turn in fan to 'drown out' miscellaneous hotel noise. We have stayed in expensive rooms before, and this was best by far for us.

Third, the hotel restaurant, the
C. Food was very good, not great, but still very good in its price range. The view is great, and wait staff exceptional. Its very open, so lacks a little 'romance' factor (like the beach house is far more a romantic place to dine) so its more conducive to families and groups.

Four, the location. Uh, you cant do much better for walking distance to the aquarium, or biking to lovers point and searching tide pools with kids.

Overall, we found the hotel a great place for a family staycation, and the intercontinental definitely contributed to a great time and wonderful memories we will always cheris.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My fiancé and I decided to spend the weekend in Monterey to celebrate our recent engagement and it turned out we chose the perfect location with the intercontinental. Our room was gorgeous - especially the fireplace was a nice extra. the staff has been as friendly as I never experienced it before in a hotel - especially sebastian. the breakfast in the restaurant with ocean view and a delicious omlette was just the icing on the cake.
we will for sure come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing