We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The placement of this hotel is reminescent of an old world "birds" film as one wakes to the sounds of the water and the sea gulls. The restaurant options are immense, though we later learned that the gem of the city seemed to be the 'Old Fisherman's Wharf' where the whale watching embarks/disembarks. The marine life was astute to the mastery of the fish cleaning habits which provided for enchanting entertainment by the sea otters barking and the birds eating. The food was fresh by only a few hours of being caught and the gifts/purchases of salt water taffy, caramel corn/apples, novelties were bargain priced in this space compared to the newer wharf area surrounding the hotel. The bonus of this location is the fantastic Monterey Acquarium is neighbors to the Intercontinental - WELL WORTH THE ADMISSION. There was 1 small problem we experienced with the valet that was not informed as to where/when/how the car would be parked, however, a conversation with the front desk personnel cleared the matter up. Our room fee was in the $200's and no breakfast/drinks were available - considering there were no special events that evening, I'm confident they could have extended a little welcome, though there was none.

Room Tip: rooms across the street are sold as "view of the water", though the grease trucks come at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank accuracy_counts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Steve B, I am delighted you spent your anniversary with us, and we look forward to seeing you both every year at this same time!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    689
    138
    56
    33
See reviews for
908
1,273
94
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel is located one block away from the famed Monterey Bay Aquarium, and as a platinum member with IHG, we got upgraded to a room with ocean view and fireplace. Service is excellent. This is a place I don't mind paying a premium to return to. I'd recommend this to any of my friends and fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Get the aquarium package - tickets are good for two consecutive days!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CekayFarnsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary here - great room with view of the Bay, excellent room service and wonderful restaurant. Location was terrific for walking to all local sights.

The evenings around th fire pits outside was also terrific.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrmerlot14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the staff were excellent. It is in a great location. The concierge at the hotel was also very helpful. It is on walking distance of many good restaurants but the hotel restaurant is great.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear luvatl, We are all pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us, and had the time to see some of the surrounding attractions. Don’t wait too long to return!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location! Right next door to the Monterey Aquarium (a must see), in the heart of Cannery Row, and within walking distance of Fisherman's Warf. The location couldn't have been any better. FYI: Some rooms are across the street, so you have to walk across the catwalk over the street (kinda cool) to get to your room, the pool is a glorified mini lap-pool, and the water pressure is very weak (toilet, shower, & sink)--which is why I took off one star.

Comfortable room, excellent customer service, perfect location. I will definitely stay here next time I'm in Monterey.

Room Tip: Request a view, it's worth it. You may even get to watch sea otters frolick outside your window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGalinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great location on Cannery Row. Short walk to Monterrey aquarium, restaurants and shops. The hotel is clean and rooms are modern. We booked a double beds room and has a corner room with balcony facing the street. There is an Apple lightning charger, along with other types of phone chargers in the room which is great because I forgot my phone charger during the trip. A little detail that matter to most customers. The hotel has a nice fireplace at night where you can gather with friends and family overlooking the ocean. It is a nice feature for a cold night at monterrey. Hotel valet is $22 per night which is a great deal considering the nearby garage cost $20 per day. Overall a good hotel choice at Monterrey, a bit pricey but convenient.

Room Tip: Get rooms at the main building not across the street from main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atan48842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear atan48842, Thank you for sharing your review with us, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As you mentioned, our Courtyard and C Restaurant patio both have open fireplaces for some welcome warmth when the evening breezes pick up. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent three nights here, and were quite impressed. The staff is very attentive and friendly, the rooms are spacious and have nice views; the food at C restaurant is excellent and the views breathtaking. The only glitch was that our rooms came with $45 per-night credits for breakfast, and the hotel forgot to tell us that until the day before checkout. Still, we had a great stay, and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing