We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live in this hotel for a long time-NICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved staying in the Clement Monterey. It was perfect and just a very short distance to the aquarium, which we didn't think too much of for we have seen better ones. The location of the hotel is directly on the water at the back of the hotel with some nice views. The back big deck has a gas fueled fire pit and is large for viewing of the water. The hotel has outdoor eating with heaters and an indoor restaurant, but like the hotel, it is expensive. We were able to get a room with a balcony on a weekday night to rest and be close to everything and everything is just right there for $220.00, the best I can remember which is considerable less than regular prices. it is a very pretty hotel and very clean and we had a small balcony which we could see the part of the street. The room is very large and the bathroom was hugh with a live orchid. The tub and the shower are separate which really added to the beauty up of the bathroom. Our room also had a living bonsai tree which was really pretty too. There was a big comfy chair and a big footstool, plus another chair similar to a nice desk chair. We put a towel over the footstool and used it as a table to eat some fresh fruits and cheeses we got at one of the local grocery stores. The bed was comfortable and yes, we would stay again IF we could get this lower rate, Otherwise, we wouldn't for there are cheaper room in Monterey, but this hotel is handy and we really needed to stay in a bigger room for a night other than the small hotel rooms we had been staying from San Francisco and up Highway 1. We did not do valet parking for the parking for valet and general hotel parking is just across the street and the self parking is cheaper and very easy to get to and in the same parking garage and the walkway to get one's car is over. Save money and park yourself. Overall, this hotel room was exactly what we needed to get a really good rest in a large room, plus it is right there on the main street all the tourist shops and eating places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Cedartwins, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and shared so much information with the TripAdvisor community. I hope we will see you again soon here in Monterey.
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,957)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental The Clement Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,957 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is an outstanding property in every respect: location, design, decor, cleanliness, service, and personnel. There are no corners cut here. We arrived at 11 pm, and there were four front-desk personnel working, so we had no wait. They were bright, friendly, and knew exactly what they were doing. The room was large, spotless, and well-appointed, and the shower and bath in the bathroom were separate. The fact that the nominal opening time of the breakfast cafe was 6:30 am probably reflects the fact that most of the customers are leisure travelers. Our valet-parked car was retrieved in much less than the advertised 15 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sokolker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We loved this hotel (we visited 6 during our stay in USA). This has the brightest rooms with great amenities.Hotel reception and concierge are all excellent and we got aquarium tickets for 2 days which meant we could split it up (tickets cost the same as 1 day pass). They booked our whale watching trip which was also great too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Lovely rooms - Dear JCMJ, Thank you for your kind words about your recent visit from London. I am pleased you enjoyed your travels, and hope you will be able to visit again!
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night in Sept 2012, fabulous location and fabulous hotel in Monterey. This hotel was recommended to us and we were not disappointed. The rooms were very spacious and immaculate, bathroom was huge. The valet services were also excellent.
The location of the hotel was also excellent, close by to the Aquarium, shops, restaurants. I would recommend speaking to the concierge to book a restaurant, as the town is small, it's worth making a booking if you have somewhere specific you would like to go.
We too a walk down towards the marina as this is where the sea lions, otters and other wildlife hang out.
Lovely atmosphere and a very relaxing town, wish we had stayed another night!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephield82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

It’s nice of you to recommend our hotel, and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please don’t wait too long to return!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and in a great location of Monterey. We hire a car in town and drove down the 17-Mile drive - which was gorgeous.
Our room was a great size - as was the bathroom - very comfortable.
Unfortunetly I broke my toe while there but the hotel was great they lent us a wheelchair for the whole of our stay - which we could take out of the hotel as well. In general the staff were always friendly and helpful.
The hotel is right next to the aquarium too.
We went here as part of our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My husband started staying here for work when he had a project in nearby Salinas. I accompanied him several times and we started coming down from SF for weekend getaways because we both loved the hotel! He stayed here enough nights to become an IC Royal Ambassador (which has great perks including complimentary mini bar).

The hotel is one of the newest properties in Monterey/Carmel area. The interior is modern and has a clean/fresh look. We've stayed in different room categories. The suites have gas fireplaces, small balconies with magnificant views of the bay, and huge marble bathrooms. They place a stuffed sea otter on the beds as a decoration. If one of the sea otters mysteriously ends up in your suitcase, they will charge you for the adoption fee!

The views from the rooms are breathtaking.

Downstairs is the C restaurant which has a delicious dinner menu, wine selection, and a beautiful view of the bay. The croissant french toast on the breakfast menu is amazing. There are firepits and chairs outside to just sit and enjoy the view or look for sea otters swimming in the ocean.

The hotel is located on Cannery Row which can become crowded during peak time. You can hear the foot traffic if you get a room facing the street. The aquarium is within walking distance and during busy season, there is a free trolley that can take you to the wharf.

The staff is super friendly and they remember their returning guests.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIFItheWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear FiFi, I am glad you mentioned that we are one of the newer hotels in the area. We are also one of the few with refrigerated air conditioning for the occasional warm day on the bay. Thank you for being a member of our IHG Rewards Club, and I hope you will be earning many more points with us!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

By all means Monterey isn't a big town but it has a lovely vibe and the hotel is excellent. The are a few things to do like the aquarium and whale watching. Only stayed one night on our way up to San Francisco but it was a lovely stay. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had 2 junior suite which were gorgeous with sea views, although we had a look inside a standard room when the doors were open for cleaning and they looked lovely too. I would definitely recommend a room with a sea vie as that's what the town is all about really, the location.

Room Tip: Go for Sea view, some only have partial so make sure to be specific when booking.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,993 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,628 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,456 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 56 in Monterey
1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: $233 - $1,004 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing