We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great setting. good staff on the whole. fantastic junior suite with 2 bathrooms. perfect for us with the 2 kids. Loved the soft comfy bed. Question the decor in the restaurant. Small lap pool. Good outdoor seating at fire pits that were not well utilized by the hotel-Weird. Why would you not utilize this prime space? They didn't want to bother with serving out there and the bar is stuck on the other side of the restaurant at the back of the restaurant with no view. The outside space they utilize is overlooking the driveway and entrance. Just weird. Thankfully the lively waitress was eventually happy to oblige us and served us well out in this beautiful patio. Good clean hotel - what you'd expect from any hotel of this price. Not overwhelming, but the best available option in Monterey for families. Minutes walk from the aquarium with big rooms. I was surprised and rather irritated on booking that there are so many various packages and prices. Shop around but do try to stay here- and ask them to serve you cocktails in the lovely outdoor area overlooking the whole of Monterey bay. You'll have the patio to yourselves with the best view in Monterey!

Room Tip: Book in advance and ask for all the different packages to find the one that best suits you. Packages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sara B,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the TripAdvisor community. I am pleased you enjoyed your room and the Pacific Courtyard. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,949
    697
    139
    56
    34
See reviews for
914
1,282
95
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (687)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

If i would not be living in Sweden i would stay here every weekend. This place is fantastic. Super clean, super serviceminded staff, great food and the rooms are big and comfy. We loved it here and when we go back to Monterey we will book this again! Pure love!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Sara L,

We are pleased to have earned your “fantastic” rating all the way from Sweden! Please visit again soon.

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here in July and found it to be a really nice place. Our room was across the street overlooking the street and it was fun to be that close to the action. Despite it being a really busy scene on a Friday night, the noise wasn't an issue and was easily ignored. Being half a block from the aquarium and a ton of touristy diversions was very convenient.

The staff was very friendly and helpful.

The rooms had plenty of space and my wife welcomed the fireplace. My kids used the pool and hot tub and were more than satisfied. It is not a large pool but if unoccupied would be good for laps. I appreciated some of the small touches like free earphones in the gym to use with the equipment. We kicked around using the spa but decided not to. The kids club seemed like a pretty good setup as well.

I was a little put off by the lack of free wifi. Seems like a pretty basic amenity in today's age.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
195 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this hotel! The hotel has it all, from fabulous service, great views to stellar accommodation.

It was a tough decision to book the hotel since the cost was at the upper end of my budget. Finally I decided to book a room using one of the package plans which included parking. The hotel drive is difficult to find on busy, Cannery Row and it took two tries to get into the drive up. That was the last challenge we had -- it was one continuous pleasure after that. Having booked a lesser priced room, imagine my surprise at being upgraded to an oceanfront suite! (we are Ambassador members). Wow! The suite is wonderful -- full of light, balcony overlooking the ocean, lots of windows, fabulous bedding, bath, etc. The rooms are just like the pictures on the website.

As beautiful and well constructed as the hotel is, the staff is even better! Everyone, from concierge, to housekeeping, valet staff, front desk, room service, was amazing!

The location is great! We walked to the aquarium which is just a few doors away, walked around the area which is touristy, but still historically interesting, drove to the wharf for dinner one night and to Pacific Grove another -- both just minutes away, and spent more time than usual in our beautiful rooms enjoying the views.

This hotel sets the standard for accommodation and customer care! I can only hope that I am able to stay here again in future!

Room Tip: Even partial ocean view rooms seem to be bright and have a good view of the wharf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Gundi,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I am delighted that you enjoyed our service, location and accommodations. I hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you again very soon.

Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Channel Islands National Park, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Did an overnight trip to Monterrey and read great views about this property, so gave it a try.
Check-in was a breeze and was offered a bigger corner room with a balcony.Awesome surprise.

The room itself was clean and modern. Bathroom products weren't bad and noise from the street below, which happened to be Cannery Row was nonexistent even with the slider to the balcony opened. Balcony was big enough to fit another room, was huge. Sure it was spotted with bird poop and is probably a nightmare to clean, however, there may not be guests like us who are understanding of this. Could see it as an issue for others.

The only negative was the pool area. Sure, the pool is tiny, and it is what it is, but there were no towels anywhere to be found around the pool, well, except for the used ones strewn about the pool deck. Along with cups, wrappers, etc… We were resourceful, though, and entered the gym area and retrieved various smaller towels to dry ourselves off. Hopefully this was an exception and not the rule…

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bballtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear bballtravel,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. We will endeavor to keep a closer eye on the swimming area, so the towel shortage is not repeated. I hope we will see you again soon here in Monterey!

Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this hotel for 1 night in December 2012. Our king room was huge! Arrival and valet parking was handled efficiently and friendly. Great location just 3 minutes walking from Aquarium. I recommend this hotel for families and couples.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supermartyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
289 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have visited Monterey before but never stayed there before. We wanted a hotel that was on the bay and close to the Monterey Aquarium. The Intercontinental Clement met these criteria.

It is located in the heart of Cannery Row, which is a crowded area with lots of tourists (think of a smaller Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco), so traffic and parking can be a challenge. But many very good restaurants and the Aquarium are easily walkable.

First off, the level of service is 5 star. Every employee was friendly, helpful and made our visit so enjoyable. Every inquiry was answered expertly, every request was responded to immediately.

We opted for a bay side room, which was not inexpensive but worth it. The hotel has 2 sections one on each side of Cannery row, connected by a walkway on level 2. The section we stayed in was very modern, and very well maintained. Muted colors with a fantastic 4 screen video display in the entry showing videos of area scenes, such as Point Lobos.

The view from the room was exactly what we wanted. (see photo) We could see the changes in tides, at times sea otters, kayakers, and the changing light. The room had a small balcony with chairs. There was also a gas fireplace, which mornings in April on the water can be chilly, so we used it. The bathroom was almost as large as some rooms we have stayed in. A very nice touch was the live orchid in the room.

Only two blocks from the Aquarium was an advantage as we bought tickets good for admission for 2 consecutive days. So we could go, leave, go back for 2 days. There is enough there to see to occupy you for that long. Just go early or late. It is crowded every day. The concierge at The Clement can help you with tickets, and you can breeze right in bypassing the ticket line.

And if you want to get out of Monterey, it is a short drive to Carmel (shopping, restaurants and beach) and just a bit longer to Point Lobos State Park.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzoLorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Lorenzo,

Thank you for mentioning our associates in such a complimentary manner! We all enjoy living & working in the same area where our guests enjoy sight-seeing and relaxing. It is truly a remarkable locale, and I hope we will see you here again soon!

Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
1,965 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing